MAC Matte - Kinda Sexy

4.2

187 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/31/2011 12:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am NC 45 and the color is beautiful on me! Its appears very nude on me but has a slight pinkish look. I see that the color appearance varies from skin tone to skin tone. This was the first lipstick color i ever bought from MAC and i still use it til this day!! ;)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/27/2011 8:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm in love with the color, but the lipstick is just too drying (I know its a matte) and as much as I want to use this lipstick I don't because it just makes my lips look very dry. I have tried to use a lip balm underneath and its a bit better, but not that much. The color if perfect, but if you have even slightly dry lips I think it would only make it more obvious. I like the luster finish better.

Update: I've been using Bobbi Brown Ballet Pink 13 in the formula Sheer Lip Color. It's not sheer at all, but it is creamy and very comfortable to wear. I think Ballet Pink is actually a good dupe or replacement for Kinda Sexy. I know it's more expensive, but if you like the shade this Bobbi Brown lipstick is a good option.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

kinda sexy is beautiful on my golden olive skin tone ....absolutely beautiful...it wears for hours....highly recommended! I like it with boldly bare lipliner

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/14/2011 6:52:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For those who can buy Kiko: lipstick 502 is a ( even better) dupe for -+. € 5,00. Kiko has a lot of dupes :) and in the Netherlands (+ online).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/6/2011 12:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

love this lipstick. when i first started buying MAC lipsticks i chose all the extra bright ones (snob, saint germain, lady danger) etc, but now i've realised that it's the more neutral shades that i actually wear. i recently got this lipstick in a swap and it's so flattering and lovely, a perfect 'my lips but better' shade as i have pigmented lips. haven't stopped wearing it since i got it! i'm probably NC20-30 at the moment thanks to a bit of fake tan but i still think it would look good even if i was my natural NC15! highly recommended.


on 5/14/2011 3:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

Definately not what i expected. it appeared to be a sort of nude pink colour but it pulls off as quite coral/orange (im NC25). However it is still a nude which is what i was aiming for but it is nothing special, it has no wow factor. Also because its a matte lipstick, some sort of lip conditioner needs to be applied first otherwise its hard to apply and looks awful. Another thing is that if you have dry lips it will look even worse with this lipstick. It is a pretty colour and ive tried to love it however when i wear it theres something off about it, it does something weird for my complexion. For those who were looking for a nude pink colour as i was, you should try modesty. they look almost identical in the tube but when applied modesty has more of a pink tone

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/30/2011 4:40:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

is not a pinky nude color.. is orange.. make your teeth look yellow.. not what i expected.


on 4/21/2011 2:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I decided to try this lipstick after seeing the reviews/swatches on MUA. I am NC40 and this colour looks gorgeous. It really brightens up my face. Its not a nude colour but its subtle enough to work with smokey eye and is office appropriate. It actually makes my lips look plump and kinda sexy! The matte formula is drying and I usually stay away from it but I found this to be creamier than other matte formulas. I still need to put some lip balm before to keep it from making my lips look dry. I like this colour so much that I think I might wear it on my wedding day!
UPDATE: I did wear this on my wedding day and it was the perfect colour! It really flattered my face and made my lips look gorgeous!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 3/21/2011 11:20:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Completely matte!
Pinkish Nudish.
Looks great on my NC30, yellow toned skin.
Have to exfoliate lips before using this, so lips look nice and smooth (but then again lips should be exfoliated before usage of all matte lipsticks).
Definitely my one of my favorite everyday lipsticks!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/15/2011 10:45:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

If there ever was such a thing as a brightening nude lip colour, this would be it.


On me (NC37/40 neutral-yellow skin, pigmented lips) Kinda Sexy is a coral/peachy pink nude (I'd think an MLBB shade if my lips were less pigmented).


I love the shade, and the finish (matte) but being matte it tends to be drying. I still won't knock off a lipstick for that though because this problem is easily overcome by priming the lips beforehand with a lipbalm (rub lipbalm, continue with makeup, blot lipbalm with tissue and apply Kinda Sexy). Layering a lip primer underneath it should also help, as I have found MAC's Prep + Prime Lip to be helpful with preventing dryness and helping the colour stay on longer.


I get compliments a lot wearing Kinda Sexy so i will keep buying it for sure!

ETA: I'm on my 6th tube of Kinda Sexy. I just LOVE it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
Velvet Teddy
215 Reviews
Liquid Lipstick
Liquid Lipstick
25 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top