November 29, 2014 | 1010 users online

Foundations - Maybelline - Dream Matte Mousse

rated 3.1(3232 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.1
  • 48% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 5/18/2014 7:31:00 AM More reviews by nickilloyd

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine Eyes: Green

I found this mousse foundation to be nice when i first put it on... goes on smoothly.... but after a few hours it totally caked on my skin...
Little bobbles of mousse appeared raised up from my skin... and it didn't last.... slowly slid off my face until it looked like i had nothing on... after just a few hours. Save your money, dont buy this!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/17/2014 6:45:00 PM More reviews by Celine93

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Hate this product with a passion. Always had clear skin until a year ago I developed nodule type acne on my cheeks and papules around my chin. For a year I have been trying to figure out what was causing it. I quit eating gluten, caffeine, sugars, and tried every type of facial wash and acne treatment nothing worked. I was so frustrated and sick of not being able to look at myself in the mirror without make up on. Meanwhile I was using maybelines dream mousse loving how much coverage it have me and my horrible skin.. Finally I researched it and found it was causing break outs. I threw it out about 2 weeks ago and have no pimples but am on a long road to recovering my skin from scarring and damage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/17/2014 8:04:00 AM More reviews by pizzaandmakeup

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

ive been looking for a good foundation for a long time now and decided to try this one. i got light porcelain ivory and its still a little too dark and orangey for my skin tone. it gives pretty good coverage but i would not recommend this for dry skin because it would make my forehead look very flakey and dry even when i used moisturizer before. also its kind of hard to blend and around my temples it makes me look like in wearing orangey bronzer

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/13/2014 12:20:00 AM More reviews by gracemadeleine

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really dislike this foundation as it does nothing for me and the lightest shade is way too dark

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/10/2014 3:51:00 PM More reviews by maisiexxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This was the first foundation I ever used. Great coverage I love it for spots and any redness or under eye circles however the colours aren't that great and are not light enough for me so I usually use this more as a concealer on small areas under my foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/7/2014 1:45:00 PM More reviews by AnnKB

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

i tried this recently having previously liked the No7 mousse foundation that has now been changed so that the colours no longer suit.
I like the fact that it goes on evenly and coverage is good. Although I am 'middle aged' I have quite oily skin and it is great for that although I don't want a finish that is too dry and cakey.
Thankfully you only need very little of this and I mix with BB cream (also Maybelline) which gives a less 'solid' finish.
I don't really like the jar packaging as the product can dry out quickly and is not very hygienic.
Also the shades are quite dark. Although I have warm undertones I still found the shades too yellow or orange for me plus it darkened even more as it dried (on me).

I still think I would persevere and try other shades as it feels so much better than a liquid foundation and is not as cakey as a powder. Good for teenagers to try, if not too pale and is relatively cheap.
I use a moisturiser underneath for high SPF so don't rely on a foundation to provide this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/4/2014 10:52:00 AM More reviews by Becca5haw

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Probably one of the first foundations I used when I was getting into makeup. I thought that this foundation was medium coverage, it's quite thick but easily bendable and the texture is smooth. They have quite a wide range of colors however I am quite pale and even the lightest shade still wasn't quite light enough for me. I hate the packaging as you're just dipping your makeup brushes back into the pot transferring bacteria so make sure your brush is clean and if you use your fingers to apply foundation just don't. It is a matte foundation so on dry skin this would just make you look flaky, probably ok on an oily skin though to reduce shine. It is an ok product overall for the price but I would not buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/1/2014 3:36:00 PM More reviews by GiulianaCarmela

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

My first ever foundation - I wasn't as clued up about make up back then. Ironically, this product actually works better as a concealer cos it's fairly easy to blend and quite thick to cover up spots etc.

However, it clogs the HELL out of your pores as a foundation and is really thick. If you want people to make it clear to the guy across the street that you are wearing foundation, then go for this product. What's worse is that over the course of the day it goes a bit patchy and can scrunch up between the brows. Put too little and nothing happens, put too much and it starts to flake.
I also don't like the fact that it's in a tub - it just makes the product more awkward and unhygienic to use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/27/2014 11:24:00 AM More reviews by yuwannano

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Dark, Cool Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I think the ladies complaining about this foundation being "cakey" are probably applying this with a very heavy hand. This is a cream so less is definitely more. it's very light and sheer and it feels like I hardly have anything on my face. I love it! The only problem is the color. The Carmel is just slightly too light so using this in the summer when I'm darker won't work. On the other hand, the Cocoa is too dark. Pending on how dark I get this summer I might be able to use that (we shall see). Anyway, for the price this is amazing foundation. Just make sure you wash your hands before use and please use a light hand!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/26/2014 9:57:00 AM More reviews by georgiasarahh

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I brought this product as I liked the idea of it being a mousse and it's product description stated that it would give you soft feeling skin however although it did make my skin feel soft due to its mousse texture it also sat in lines. The product it self did actually last for an ideal amount of time when set with a powder but even with a powder it still transferred occasionally. Also after about 6 hours it began to go oily around my nose and I don't have oily skin so this was a bit of a nuisance. It did soak into my skin well and was not cakey at all but I did find to achieve this I had to buff it into my face with a brush but little lumps of foundation fell of the brush and onto my clothes sometimes which was very annoying. Overall it was ok but there are better foundations.

Is this review helpful? Yes No