September 21, 2014 | 1627 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Russian Red

rated 4.6(596 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.6
  • 86% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 6/17/2013 1:32:00 AM More reviews by luvtolaugh1234

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Blue

Just bought this today. I already had the Limited Edition MAC Viva Glam Cyndi, but I found it too sheer and it never lasted long at all. I wanted a classic red lip that would stay perfect looking. I bought this at a MAC store today, then applied it while I was in a Sephora...within seconds of walking off after, I was complimented on it by one of the Sales ladies. I have eaten dinner and taken a shower while wearing this and it hasn't budged or faded at all! In fact I'm sitting here in my pajamas with it still on! Perfect red lipstick!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/15/2013 9:14:00 PM More reviews by funnygirlup

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

red has always been the lipstick i couldn't conquer...they were always too pink, too orange, they just weren't 'right'. i always found them to be glossy so i spent all my time worrying the colour was bleeding all over my face and making a mess, which made me self conscious all day. then, i found Russian Red. the first time i put it on i thought, seriously? ive found it? the perfect, pure, deep red? oh yes i have. pair it with a cat eye and you've got some serious retro stuff happening. i actually just lost my tube and have been devastated (can't buy mac where i live)-next time i'm out of town, mac will be my first stop for another tube. a must buy if you're serious about finding a great red lipstick.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/14/2013 4:03:00 AM More reviews by evagafra

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Black

Like almost everyone said, this is the best red lipstick and I wore it at my wedding day. The bold matte red result makes my face looks fresh even though I didn't wear eyeliner.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/13/2013 9:17:00 PM More reviews by MissLilyRhiannon

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I repurchased this recently and fell back in love. I prefer it to Ruby Woo, and it's a gorgeous deep red, makes teeth look super white and matches my porcelin skin perfectly. Very matte, very long lasting. I recommend exfoliating and moisutrizing lips before application, as well as using a lipliner.
xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/29/2013 10:09:00 PM More reviews by missmanic

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Curly, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Delicious. One of my favorite, matte, classic reds. Long lasting, too.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/29/2013 9:59:00 PM More reviews by LongBeachGirl

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Crazy me for thinking this red would never work. I got this with a B2M and even the SA said...great choice. Slapped this baby on in my car and drove home in style. Great classic red that will no doubt get ALOT of use.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/27/2013 2:25:00 AM More reviews by thepinkviper

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have a few reds. This and a YSL are my faves, but this is definitely my all-time favorite MATTE red lipstick. And be warned, it is very matte. I highly recommend exfoliating your lips before you put it on and the night before (Sara Happ Lip Scrub does it for me) and using MAC Prep and Prime for lips. The combination of this should hydrate your lips all day, keep it on and not make it crack which is so unflattering for dramatic dark matte lips. This is your classic sexy, matte retro pinup model red lipstick (like a Marilyn Monroe red) and is VERY VERY similar to MAC's Ruby Woo. I honestly don't see any need to buy both because they look almost identical on. I would say get this for sure though over Ruby Woo if you have ANY problem with drying lips though, because Ruby Woo is definitely a bit more drying.
This should last you all day with proper prepping and I HIGHLY recommend a lip liner. If you want something more bright and fun MAC's Cherry lip liner is a good choice. My favorite though is using MAC's Brick lip liner, which makes it look more sexy and glam imo. Oh, and a big tip - skip buying MAC's Brick and get NYX's dupe liner in Deep Red (I think I got it for $4 free shipping on Amazon). I have them both and they are exact dupes. I think NYX's formula actually might be nicer and a bit less drying.
Anyway, this is really a must-have in a well-stocked lipstick collection and a must-have red. Oh, and for reference I'm an NW15 and it's definitely not too dark. I constantly receive compliments on the sexiness of it when wearing.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/25/2013 2:23:00 PM More reviews by magnifiquee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

This was one of my first MAC lipsticks ever, it took me so long to find it because it was ALWAYS sold out where I was. This is the most perfect cool toned red lipstick ever. It is flattering on every skin tone and it is so sexy. I instantly get a burst of confidence when I put this on, it is lovely. The formulation is perfect it isn't too drying and you only need to apply it once to get beautiful coverage. I pair this with MAC's brick lipliner and they match each other perfectly. This lipstick does not settle into the lines of your lips and isn't very hard to apply. I recommend this to anyone who wants the PERFECT red lipstick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/20/2013 7:35:00 PM More reviews by ObsessedBeauty93

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Russian Red was my very first MAC lipstick. It's an amazing colour and it stays on the lips for hours (for me 3-4 hours). It smells amazing! Pigmentation is hands down brilliant! The only time I feel I need to touch up is either if I've been eating or drinking which is obvious without saying.
The only downside side is that it can be a bit drying but it's to be expected for a matte lipstick. Just wack a bit of vasoline before hand and you're good to go.
Would recommend to anyone that's looking for a decent, long lasting red!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/15/2013 5:18:00 PM More reviews by blairpeony

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Green

I just adore this lipstick. It is amazing. It is a cool-toned red which matches perfectly my very pale NC15 skin tone.It is very very impressive and very very sexy. I even wear it during the day.I pair it with Redd lip liner which is a true red colour.I might buy Brick later too. It is totally matte ( a bit drying) but that's okay. Stays on for hours.Won't smudge even without lip liner.Don't miss it! It's worth it!!! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No