November 22, 2014 | 1400 users online

Cleansers - Desert Essence - Thoroughly Clean Face Wash with Organic Tea Tree Oil and Awapuhi



image 0image 1

rated 3.6(291 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 1/17/2010 1:35:00 PM More reviews by cuddlebunny

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

I LOOVE this product with all my heart. I Have been using it for the past 2 or 3 years. I used to try all sorts of brands before this one, and kept switching until I found this product. It had helped my skin get away from the "acne-porne" phase. I used to have the worst cysts and acne's before this product. It really helped me clear them out after few months of using them. Removed my makeup COMPLETELY! But after using it for 2 years now, I realize it's time to go for something a bit more gentler. I've notice the dryness of my skin after being on this product, I feel like it's have longterm effects of dragging down the skin. It's good for acne-prone/oily skin. But now that I'm out of that phase, I'm looking to find my next HG. But I will ALWAYS keep this in the back of my cabnet incase things don't work out =)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/17/2010 11:29:00 AM More reviews by MsLove

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Other, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

My FAVORITE wash. I am about to finish my 3rd bottle and about to stop counting. look for a wash that first takes of ALL my makeup, regulates skin, helps it to "perk up", prevents breakouts and might stop one that is forming, all without being too drying. A miracle wash, basically. In my search, I have tried them all and had great results with Peter Thomas Roth, Kinerase, Dermalogica, Boscia, Cosmedicine, Clinique, Drugstore Brands (Neutrogena, Cetaphil, Purpose, etc.). I have found over time that sometimes, simplest is just BEST for your skin, esp. when it wants to go haywire. This wash (and the other brands of it - the Sea Kelp and Sunflower formula) are my favorites. The Thoroughly Clean is more for acneic/combo skin, but the Sea Kelp green wash smells yummy and doesnt have the Tea Tree oil that turns up some customers noses.


How I use it - when I get home from work, I wet my face, pump once, lather, rinse. When I use it with my Clairsonic Mia, I we my face, pump one pump into the Mia, turn it on, and cleanse. Lots of bubble action. After rinsing, skin feels squeakly clean, but not tight, and looks bright, not dull. I may swipe with the DE Tea Tree Oil Cleansing Pads before one final rinse and it will remove any additional embedded traces of dirt or makeup.



The value for any of the DE washes is great, and they perform well for a myriad of skin types. You can't ask for better ingredients, and over time it does all the things I ask for. My complexion is brighter, clearer and I don't feel like I'm wasting $50 cleanser to remove my makeup at the end of the day.



This wash, Cetaphil, and Purpose consistently perform competitively with the high-end brands where I can no longer justify the overpriced product cost for the results. And cheap enough that you can keep one at the sink, one in the shower, and one in your gym bag! :)

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/3/2010 9:36:00 PM More reviews by polupuakenikeni

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

while i was looking for a cheaper alternative to my dermalogica's special cleansing gel, this one caught my eye every time i shopped at trader joes. i have used this product for almost two weeks, and so far it's pretty good. out of all facial cleansers i've used, this one seems to really dissolve makeup and leaves the face "squeaky clean." it's rather drying though, so i use a moisturizer right after washing my face. the ingredients are seemingly simple: castile soap along with essential oils and plant extracts. i really like this product for the price and it's performance and it does almost the same job as dermalogica's special cleansing gel (or probably even better when it comes to makeup removal and the price), but it's so drying! a few notes: 1. be very careful when using this around the eye area -- this stuff stings like crazy! 2. the pump is great, but it leaks a bit (castile soap is thin). or maybe it's just the packaging i got.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/24/2009 8:55:00 PM More reviews by sizoku

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I picked this up at Trader Joe's--the price was great, and it seemed like an all-natural face wash. But when I tried it, it felt harsh and tight on my face. I guess I should have read the ingredients, because it contains castille soap. True soaps are really drying on my skin, so I won't be using the rest of this product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/3/2009 1:54:00 AM More reviews by crankedmunkie

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I bought this to deal with some annoying bouts of adult acne. During the first week of use, it worked really well in terms of keeping my skin clear and removing makeup, but the formula is very drying to my sensitive skin. I didn't want to waste it, so I started using this cleanser at night while using a gentle foaming cleanser during the day whenever my face felt greasy/grimy. The combination of this product with Orjene Organics foaming face wash has kept my complexion blemish free for the last couple of months. Out of curiosity, I tried using the foaming wash without the tea tree oil cleanser and the acne came back almost immediately. It's kind of a hassle having to buy two separate cleansers for day and night, but I'm sticking with this routine until I can find a gentle antiseptic cleanser that helps prevent acne... if there is such a thing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/10/2009 2:20:00 AM More reviews by BlueNite

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

This cleanser is very good at removing makeup and controlling blemishes on my average combination skin. I love the awakening scent this cleanser has. However that 'squeaky clean' feeling drives me nuts. I've since switched to another product. If you don't mind the squeakiness and the strong tea tree oil smell, go for it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/21/2009 7:53:00 PM More reviews by xizilia7

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is the best bang for your buck. The gigantic bottle (refill size) is ~$10 or less for 32 fl oz. I expect this to last us about over 6 months. Can be found online or in health stores.


Packaging: Since the consistent is too watery for pump bottles, it works better in a foam bottle and you increase the quantity, another plus. I had an empty murad foam cleanser bottle, so voila! green + efficient in one pump.


Effectiveness: If you have been looking for a body acne cleanser/wash. THIS IS IT! My back and chest is finally clear. I need about 5 foam pumps for my entire body, yes even private parts. I have oily skin so this is not drying for my body. It may be for others, however, it gets rid of the dirt/build up/oil.

As for face, it is SQUEAKY clean and can be drying. Therefore I only use it for deep cleansing; it get rid of all traces of makeup and olive oil (for my eye mu remover). As for acne fighting power, it didn't work for me nor did it break me out. Nothing really has worked for me product-wise so I didn't have high expectation. My DH uses it as well and it didn't break him out so it works for him. To each his own...

Brush cleanser: works like a charm on your regular e/s & powder brushes. Liquid foundation/waterproofed use brushes took a bit longer to clean.

Bottom line I will continue to buy this for the quantity/quality; it is amazing for body wash, brush cleanser and face wash for $10/6 months. There's nothing else out there that can beat it, if there is, please PM me. There's no fancy smell or luxurious feeling. It is cut to the chase squeaky clean, gets the job done.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/7/2009 1:02:00 PM More reviews by tiffysue

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I am actually using the Thoroughly Clean Face Wash with Green Tea & Sunflower Extract (which I think is perfered for dryer skin). Loooove this cleanser. I have extremely sensitive skin, dry, with the occassional breakout. If I used the cleanser everyday I almost never get a breakout. And if I feel one coming on, I wash with this and by the morning its gone. Makes my skin feel silky soft and calm. Also use the moisturizer. Great line!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/28/2009 9:53:00 PM More reviews by lolabell19

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I love this cleanser. I have somewhat oily acne-prone skin, especially in the summer. My skin feels clean after I use this with no residue. It can be a bit drying so I only use it at night. Removes makeup nicely. Keep it away from your eyes!
The packaging does suck as others have said the cleanser does shoot right out, but I've learned to work around that. I will repurchase. I love that this cleanser is natural and does not test on animals.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/31/2009 7:45:00 AM More reviews by LINESUNSAID

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

For now, this is my skin's savior.
Let's hear about my skin first though. My skin is oily because of dehydration. It over produces oil because my skin is as dry as the sahara desert. My skin is incredibly acne-prone, with flakes all over my nose. Basically, my skin is screwed up!
This cleanser helped calm my acne though without drying up my nose even further. No matter what cleanser I use, I couldn't seem to find one that deep cleaned without drying. This let me face feeling squeaky clean minus the tightness and none of the peeling. I don't like the packaging because I'd prefer it with a pump. Mine came in a little squeeze bottle. Still worth it though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No