August 27, 2014 | 1852 users online

Sunscreen - Neutrogena - Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunblock SPF 30



image 0

rated 3.8(609 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 9/8/2010 1:05:00 AM More reviews by renyun

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I have been using this product for a more than a year now. When I first got it, I was so excited to try it since I heard rave reviews that this is the perfect sunscreen for those with extremely oily skin and most importantly, break-out free.

Well, I definitely had experienced some breakouts around my oily t-zone area. Despite the matte finish it gives, my skin still becomes oily after a few hours. However, I have found that applying a sheer layer of powder over this suncreen keeps the oilies well under control. Not bad, but I probably would still try something with more of a physical sunscreen.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/5/2010 7:08:00 PM More reviews by LittleViolet

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I LOVE this stuff! This is what I put on immediately after showering in the morning--no lotion, just sunblock, every single day. It absorbs perfectly and really is "dry to touch" without being TOO drying. It just feels like you have a light powder on. I have used this every day for the past four years and I wish I had started when I was 10 years old. Foundation smooths on easily and doesn't streak--I even think the dry-touch technology helps control my oil production, too. Sometimes I dab milk of magnesia over this sunblock before foundation and that works well too. This plays very well with others! I love this sunblock. Too expensive to use on my body, but a tube lasts about 3 months on my face only.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/1/2010 9:47:00 PM More reviews by jelxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

This stings my eyes even when I avoid the area. It also burns my face. It pills up when applying makeup over it, and it flakes throughout the day. What is the point of a sunscreen that flakes off? This should be called Ultra Dry Flaky Touch! I was also still oily in my T-zone by the end of the day. I returned it, and got my precious money back.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/26/2010 12:46:00 AM More reviews by cookiequack

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I have very thin, sensitive, and acne-prone skin with unbalanced hormones especially near those oh-so-horrible monthly days. I heard pretty good reviews and I've always wanted to try it - so here it is, in my hand!

I was really scared putting it on because I was concerned about the high rating on the EWG website, AND since I breakout easily, but I just gave it a go one day and decided it wasn't too bad.

So far, I LIKED how it was a very light creamy texture that absorbed very fast, didn't breakout my skin( so far ), and didn't feel as heavy as other sunscreens.
I DIDN'T LIKE how the fragrance was too much for me to handle; from the bottle, it smelled light and I thought it wouldn't cause problems.. but when it was on my face, it gave me a slight headache for a while, until the smell faded away. arrgh. Also, for some reason it made my face a little bit more pinkish red, so that was a definite no-no for me.

Overall I wouldn't buy this again - I really wanted to like it! :'( I just wish there was no fragrance, didn't make my face pinkish, and wasn't so harsh on the chemicals.. I guess I'm still on the lookout for a safer zinc/titanium dioxide based sunscreen/sunblock :
However, my relatives have tried it and they said it was fine(they don't have as sensitive skin) - unfortunately for those extremely sensitive-skin people out there, let's find a better sunscreen together! :'D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/18/2010 8:53:00 AM More reviews by enzyme1

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I always like looking at USA sunscreen formulas, in AUS this would be labeled spf 15, our spf 30 has even more sunscreen actives but even its protective factor will not save it today.
I enjoyed this sunblock until i found a better one by paulas choice, then realized it was not worth putting up with. I must ad that this might work for you and it is cheap and that is a plus which means you wont be afraid to use enough of it for protection. However I found it too sticky and gross for daily use and dreaded putting it on, i dislike the fragrance neutrogena have added I assume to cover up the traditional sunblock smell but i like fragrance free so much more than any smell that has been added to a product.
I suppose it is a hard fact to get around but high SPFs feel tacky, they leave a residue that is unpleasant, lower spfs which are nicer are problematic but I dont sit in the sun so only rely on sunscreen for incidental sunlight exposure. So disappointingly this product is not for me. just bear in mind that there are better formulations but sadly there definitely worse sunblocks than this

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/12/2010 9:30:00 PM More reviews by katykute

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

HG sunscreen :D <3 The only sunscreen that can tame my annoying, oily, shiny skin!!! Doesn't have any sunscreen/fragrance scent at all. Does exactly everything it claims: fast absorbing, leaves skin soft & smooth :) <3 Love love love :) <3 Would I purchase this again? Heck yeshhhhhhhh :D <3

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/31/2010 2:44:00 PM More reviews by BritRose

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Great stuff! Very little scent, no stickiness, and no white residue. I have this in SPF 30 for body and SPF 50 for the face. Not for daily use, but whenever I'm outside for a long period of time, I protect with this. It's expensive, but worth it to protect without the sticky gross feeling of other sun blocks. Love, love, love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/30/2010 7:25:00 AM More reviews by insert_name_here86

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Black

I love this sunscreen! Itís probably the best sunscreen Iíve ever tried! It applies smoothly, it spreads easily and doesnít leave a white cast on my dark skin. Itís probably the best sunscreen Iíve tried in that regard. Not only that, but it also doesnít leave my skin oily and shiny, but nice and smooth. When I touch my face, it feels so nice and smooth, which means a great base for makeup! But I have tried makeup with this on, and I honestly didnít see any difference in application. I also love the scent, which is nice and musky.


The packaging is great as well. I actually love the matte feel of it. I ACTUALLY like touching it lol, and running my hands all over it. I actually donít feel it dirties easily as some reviews have said. You can actually throw this into your handbag and not feel it will squirt all over the contents of your bag, because the screw-on lid is that secure.


Another pro is that the EWG website says this sunscreen is proficient in protecting you against the ďaging raysĒ not just the burning rays, as evident by the SPF, which is a good thing ladies, as Iíve read there are many sunscreens on the market that are just proficient in protecting you against the UVB rays, not the UVA rays as well, which is just as important. Such as *cough cough* Jan Mariniís Antioxidant Daily Face Protectant SPF 30. Which costs like, $70 I must add! Grrr, and numerous others as well.


Just a couple of cons though. Itís a bit expensive for a drugstore sunscreen. It gives you a lot less for the price theyíre selling it to you, compared to other brands, such as Olay. The second thing, on the EWG website this is rated a 7. Which is not good. It means it has a high toxicity level kudos to some of the ingredients, such as oxybenzone, etc. Here is the link if you want to check it out. A 7-10 rating on that website means to avoid it at all costs. Iím not trying to shove this down peopleís throats, but if youíre cautious of these kind of things, such as harmful ingredients you might want to take a look at it. Take it for what you will.


http://www.ewg.org/2010sunscreen/finding-the-best-sunscreens/51964/Neutrogena-Ultra-Sheer-DryTouch-Sunblock-SPF/


On that alone I donít know if Iíd want to buy this again. I mean on a long term basis, this could give me cancer or some crap. I donít want that. But that would be hypocritical of me as I do use other cosmetics that have a high toxicity level as listed on EWG website. *sigh* Beauty IS pain! So back to Solar Keys RX for me. Which is the best sunscreen with moisturiser Iíve tried with all natural ingredients. But alas, gives me a white cast! What is a girl to do?


Although I wouldnít bag out this sunscreen. Itís still pretty good, Iíd recommend it and Iíd still buy it again, something that I rarely do. Iíd just use it off and on over the years. *shrugs*

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/23/2010 8:30:00 PM More reviews by livinglaughingloving

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

LOVE. THIS. STUFF.
I does everything it says it will, does not irritate my eyes, sooooo sheer and dry, and most important, does not break moi out. RECCOMMEND .. duh.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/21/2010 1:36:00 AM More reviews by marilyn224

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I absolutely LOVE this sunscreen! I have really oily skin, so this sunscreen is perfect for me. My face does not appear shiny even after hours of wearing it. I definitely recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No