Estee Lauder White Linen

3.4

130 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/19/2006 3:03:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Loving all things rose, I love White Linen. It's my fallback spring/summer fragrance. It has a powdery, grandma quality I find tender and comforting. In fact, I love the talc, it's a lovely thing to dust on before bed. Gentle and feminine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/9/2006 1:50:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have worn White Linen (parfum) for several years now, usually at Thanksgiving. The last time I wore it was for my Dad's funeral. It was just perfect for that day in the foggy northwest to remember him. Now when I wear it, I remember him again, and that sentimental day of course. It's a scent for those who like nostalgic fragrances, starched tablecloths, and feminine touches, but you must love rose fragrances to love this. Some say it goes sour on them. For me this is all about perky green roses; a bit tart, but not sour, softend with iris and a dry woody base.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/7/2006 9:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Smells chemically on my skin. Wouldn't buy it again...


on 11/18/2005 3:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

NEUTRAL. I think alot of ladies should be fair to those that love this fragrance because it is indeed a lovely fragrance depending on who is wearing it. It does not match my chemistry and it makes me gag everytime I apply it. However, at least five times I have asked someone what wonderful fragrance she is wearing (sidenote: I love perfume but now I love makeup more), she replied "white linen".

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/2/2005 11:41:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Never liked this fragrance. In a word Awful. So shallow, empty. When I smell it on others which thankfully isn't too often these days...I just KNOW that they know zilch about perfume. You couldn't pay me to wear it.


on 9/24/2005 3:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

plain and boring packaging, but its a pretty nice scent, i used it 7 yrs ago when i was in high school =D


on 8/28/2005 5:57:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My Grandmother always purchased White Linen gift sets for me when she was alive. I did not have the heart to tell her that I disliked the fragrance (yes, I'm a coward, but she was a sensitive person and would have been very disappointed). The aldehydes, amber, and everything in between worked together to give me a headache. Interestingly, from a distance, White Linen can smell good on other people, so I gave it two lippies.


on 8/17/2005 7:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

IMHO, Estee Lauder's all time masterpiece. I usually find her fragrances common and predictable, and, since her retirement around 1990, the new fragrances have been pointless, contrived and pure mass-market dribble- but this little gem stands out.
Estee Lauder was suffering critism around 1980 (actually, all her life) for cheapening the very elitist, priveledged world of parfum. All of the grandest houses- Patou, Chanel and Guerlain- left her out of the "club" for being a marketing enterprise with no real artistic vision (sorry to tell it like it is). She was considered to be an American company, not a house- in essence, a tacky wanna-be.
White Linen was designed to be her rebuttal- that she could hold her own against the European greats and produce a fragrance of pure integrity and intellect. Did she succeed?
This was a reaction to the heady, floriental fragrances of the day- and although White Linen did not break the trend (coonsider Beautiful and Knowing-she caved in to the trend), but White Linen proved successful and distinct, and put a proverbial notch in he belt.
As you might have guesses, I do not think she (or the company) has come even close since. What a shame, as this treasure really changed my mind about EL altogether.
When I smell White Linen, I think of (RIP) Diorissimo and the endangered dry florals that are being pushed out for the get-rich-quick fragrances that permeate the modern market. Guerlain was sold to LVMH- and the Guerlains are diminishing their role in the company; Patou is now owned by (gasp) Proctor and Gamble, and true to form, they changed JOY-which is, in the world of fragrances, like changing the Mona Lisa. Annick Goutal died. Creed has nothing to do with the original Creed family. Even Chanel has dismissed their in-house perfumers and contract out to make their products more "marketable".
Sad but true, the artists have little place left in the world of fragrances.
And, oh, yeah- I forgot- I like White Linen!!!!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 7/12/2005 3:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

It smells like baby powder and it is very strong.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I tried this on at a friend's house back in 1982 and immediately fell in love with it. That same day I went out and bought a bottle of White Linen. I've had a bottle of this in my perfume wardrobe ever since. To me, White Linen evokes everything its name implies: it's a crisp, clean, and classic summer floral scent. Best of all, it's very reasonably priced even in department stores.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1359 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Si
35 Reviews
Gucci Guilty
127 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews
Back to Top