August 20, 2014 | 1865 users online

Liquid - Clinique - Acne Solutions Liquid Makeup



image 0

rated 3.8(320 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 69% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 10/27/2012 12:24:00 PM More reviews by bbleu7856

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I bought this at the Clinique counter recently. The lady who matched it to my skin tone was way off! Under the harsh lighting at the department store, I could not tell that it was the wrong color for me until I was out in more natural light. But the one she picked out for me was way too dark. Didn't feel like going through the hassle of returning it, but I might pick up another bottle in their lightest shade at some point. I do like the coverage, and it doesn't irritate my skin at all. But since this is on the expensive side, I might try Neutrogena Skin Clearing makeup instead. I've heard good things about that line and have heard they have a better shade selection than Clinique does.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/23/2012 4:30:00 PM More reviews by stephaniekevans

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

The first time I bought this I was color matched. After trying the product I found that after it set it would get darker which was not a good look on me. I went back and got the lightest shade they had in this and it is a way better match. You can't even tell I'm wearing foundation! Since I do have oily skin I always powder my face. However through out the afternoon I do have to touch up. This foundation gives you a light coverage and can make your face a little dry. I would think this is because of the acne medicine they have in it. The finish to this foundation seems to be a matt to velvet finish. Packaging is pretty good, it's better than having to tip the bottle over to get the product out. Can get a little messy but I'm pretty neat with mine. Has no smell as far as I know. I would say give this a try if you do not have a budget. Other than that I know you can get similar products from the neutragena line or from almay.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/22/2012 4:02:00 PM More reviews by dontcallmecass

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

I used to use Clinique clarifying makeup but it was discontinued and I was told that their acne solutions line was comparable. Unfortunately, the acne solutions foundation is nothing like the clarifying makeup. The coverage is quite good and covers my imperfections well, but it does not last or control shine as long as their previous formula did. My acne is not even terrible (but I do have oily skin with the occasional breakout here and there) and I think this makeup actually causes breakouts (which is ironic since it is supposed to keep breakouts from happening). I really would not recommend this product to people with oily skin like myself.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/21/2012 9:03:00 PM More reviews by jennarock11

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Kind of not really sure about this foundation...I like it, I do. It has medium ish coverage and a very natural finish. It's not much of an acne solution, but that doesn't bother me. The person at the clinique counter gave me the foundation in #2 because she said it was the lightest, but apparently there is a #1, which would make sense. It matches me acceptably, but it's a little dark. It does have the right undertone, though (cool). Also, blending is a nightmare. I have to apply with my fingers because it seems that when I apply with a brush it always streaks. On the bright side, it is a good creamy formula, fine for sensitive skin, substantial for everyday needs. it really is a good foundation, but it's not the best. It won't keep me from wondering off to other and hopefully better products. Don't get me wrong, it's a good product, but it's nothing more than good.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/17/2012 1:18:00 AM More reviews by ynnej

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've been using this foundation for a year and a half. I've tried to convince myself that it's a good foundation, but the reality is that it really is not. After discovering a better foundation, I have tossed away what's left of my bottle.

In terms of coverage I would classify it as medium. I think the reason why I continued using it for so long was because it feels relatively weightless on my skin, and isn't thick/heavy, but gave me the coverage I needed.

However, in spite of its coverage - this foundation does not give you an even skin tone. It is very noticeable when wearing it; you can see the foundation sitting on my skin, no matter how well I blend it and how well I moisturize/prime my skin before use. I found that it emphasized any blemishes or any slightly dry patches of skin I would have. It sat on top of any black heads I had, drawing attention to them as well.

I have combination skin - usually oily in the summer and can get dry in some parts as the weather gets colder. This makeup did nothing for my skin type. Rather, the foundation oxidizes terribly throughout the day, and it's staying power is horrendous. After applying this makeup in the morning, by lunch time my face looked like an oil slick (my skin is not even that greasy!). By the afternoon it had oxidized, and changed to a darker/orangey shade. By evening my skin just looked awful.

Finally, it does not come in a good selection of colours. The ladies at the counter have tried to match me with almost every one of their shades in my range of colours, and nothing suits my skin, which emphasized the fact that I'm wearing foundation.

I'm also not sure why it is advertised as an "acne solutions" foundation. It did absolutely nothing to prevent or help clear up the occasional breakouts that I get. I have discovered a fantastic foundation by Nars which gives my skin a lovely glow, looks completely natural and lasts all day. Ciao Clinique..your foundation is going in the trash!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/1/2012 9:27:00 AM More reviews by zoolosophy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is a love-hate foundation for me. If i apply this allover my face it might look dry on some spots and make them pop as I have combo skin. But in case of a breakout this works miracles as it dries zits very very fast, I supose its because it has alcohol in it. I find the coverage decent and its buildable, the colour isn't an exact match but it adjusts to my skin and its ok.For someone who suffers from acne or has very oily skin I think it would be grate.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/24/2012 9:08:00 PM More reviews by JamaicanWhitie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I bought this foundation hoping that it would even out my skin tone and not aggravate my skin because I do have acne prone skin, however I do not have any active acne; that is until I used this. I used this for two days in a row and I am left with 4 pimples. And they aren't small little ones, they are red and inflamed and very painful. Which is really unfortunate. However there are other things I did not like about it.
1) coverage was not all that great, it was sheer coverage.
2) didn't hold up on my oily skin for more than 1 hour.
3) oxidized throughout the day to a much darker color.
4) emphasized any flakes that were not noticeable before.
5) my skin felt parched during the day, yet an oil slick, so it dehydrated my skin making my skin overcompensate with more even more oil. not a good combo.
So I am going to pass on this one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/16/2012 8:57:00 PM More reviews by vanglana

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am very impressed with this product :) I started off with a sample and eventually grew in love with this foundation! I do have acne here and there and this foundation covers so WELL! It's not like the any drugstore foundation where it feels super heavy, sticky or creamy on the face! It's actually has a soft finish to it and is semi matte and I swear, it covers acne extremely well for my skin! I barely have to use concealer because this foundation does such a great job at concealing! As far as the acne part, I haven't notice any change with improving or controlling my acne, but since I am very satisfied with this foundation on its coverage, I WILL BE REPURCHASING IT :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/10/2012 9:02:00 PM More reviews by alg2106

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I started breaking out recently and this is helping to speed up heaing for the tiny pimples I've been getting (I used to get cystic acne in my teens) a lot! I am on antibiotics right now to help clear up my acne for a few months, and so using this just straight on my skin dries it out a lot, but putting it over sunblock works wel. Produces an even skin tone and blends easier with hands than a brush. I would buy again if I needed to cover up my acne in a way that will look natural and treat it in lieu of a concealer since the variety of shades allows for a more natural look.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/27/2012 1:02:00 AM More reviews by uncontrolled

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I was surprised to find that this foundation had a moisturizing, almost oily finish since it's targeted for people with acne. My skin is already oily so this foundation didn't work for me. The color was too orange for me. Will not be repurchasing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No