November 28, 2014 | 1837 users online

Mascara - Estee Lauder - Sumptuous

rated 4.0(284 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 71% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 11/28/2011 10:24:00 PM More reviews by mocolait

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

First let me say that I have short, Asian lashes that will not hold a curl no matter what application method I use or waterproof mascara I apply. I also used to believe there was no difference between drugstore brands vs. department brands. Anyways, I've tried Rimmel Sexy Curves (waterproof), Rimmel Lash Maxxx (pink), Maybelline Great Lash (waterproof), Covergirl Lash Blast (orange tube), and Clinique High Impact something or other and none of these would give me beautiful clump-and-flake free curled lashes. But this, WOW. Love it, enough said.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/22/2011 1:09:00 PM More reviews by cindy007

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

There are only two mascaras which cause people to comment on my lashes, and this is one of them. I received a gift with purchase which had this mascara and the primer. When used together, they make the best lashes. Long and full without the clumping normally found with volumizing mascaras. Please note that the magical results only occur when you use the Estee Lauder primer (no other brand) and the Sumptuous mascara together.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/22/2011 9:43:00 AM More reviews by Sianyy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I first tried this in the sample version from their website, i currently only use mid-price mascara's like Bourjouis, Revlon etc. So i thought It would be nice to try a higher end one. What can i say? WOW. Words can't describe the effects this has on my lashes!! Just one coat transforms them instantly, it looks as if i'm wearing false lashes! My lashes are quite long naturally, but this mascara makes them look fantastic. No other mascara has given me length volume and hold all in one. I'll NEVER go back to anything else now, infact i've thrown all my other mascaras out. The only downfall is that it's pricey, i managed to knock a few pounds off by shopping around but it's still expensive, however because it works i'm willing to pay the extra price. :D

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/11/2011 6:33:00 PM More reviews by bobbypinbomb

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I got this as a sample...but I'm glad I didn't pay money for it. It's really basic stuff...it isn't awful, but I've seen way better for way less.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/24/2011 10:00:00 AM More reviews by KeyWestBum

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I have the mini version of this mascara and the full name is (Sumptuous Bold Volume Lifting Mascara). I LOVE the brush on this. I have very tiny lashes at the inner corner of the eyes and most if not all brushes are too big for these lashes and I get mascara on my lid. I'm a layer freak and I don't even bother with mascara if I don't layer at least four coats. Sumpuous does not clump or make lashes look like spider legs even after five coats. I find that I get better length with this mascara instead of volume. If you want a lot of volume, you really have to layer this up. I find that this didn't weigh down my lashes and held my natural curl nicely. Also, I didn't experience any flakes by the end of the day.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/23/2011 8:12:00 PM More reviews by supersonicsteph

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

The tube has Lash Primer Plus on one end and Sumptous on the other end. I am really surprised with this masacara. I like it a lot. I've used it with the primer and also on it's own. Somehow, it manages to give my lashes nice lift and also give them the appearance that I curled them when I didn't. My lashes look nice and separated and are not clumpy. The mascara also really opens my eyes up. The wand is very different than the type of mascara wands I tend to gravitate towards. I'm very pleased and I think I would purchase then when I run out. I haven't had any issues with smudging or flaking.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/12/2011 7:03:00 PM More reviews by SexyLittleMe

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

Got this as a GWP, along with Lash Primer Plus. This mascara (Sumptuous Bold Volume Lifting) will not smudge, even if I pull at my lashes (I use it with the primer). My lashes are indeed lifted and look like I've used a lash curler. Non-clumping brush, even without wiping it off on a tissue.

EDIT: I've slept in this & it didn't smudge.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/12/2011 3:59:00 AM More reviews by ilyanjumo08

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This mascara does the trick for all types of lashes: short, long, thick, thin, full sets, light sets. It works by curling and giving an intense bold black look, I never have to use eyelash curlers again thanks to this mascara.

Some tips to consider for best results:
-start at the base of your lashes and lightly twist the brush while pulling up for a noticeable lift.
- hold the brush for an extra three seconds at the tip of your lashes for a beautiful curl.
- to avoid "spider lashes" or clumping wiggle the brush through your lashes for an envy-worthy voluminous look.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/19/2011 4:10:00 AM More reviews by Nadinelala

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

oh my god, HG HG HG. this mascara is amazing! i always get compliments on my eyes when i wear this! it doesn't clump and it definetely doesnt give me spider lashes. i find this really easy to take off aswell. and best of all, IT DOESNT FLAKE ! my eyelashes look amazing with this. If you want to buy this ask for the old formula not the new one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/9/2011 1:36:00 PM More reviews by papillon212

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Blue

I didn't like this mascara. It gave me "spider lashes" and I didn't like the brush, tapered is clearly for getting the tiny lashes but because I have shorter lashes the long brush really is awkward for me. It also seemed hard to take off. It did seem like a nice consistency however, not too clumpy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No