September 2, 2014 | 910 users online

Gels/Soaps - LUSH - Porridge Soap



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.6(256 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 61% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 7/4/2010 9:37:00 PM More reviews by supershopper22

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Other

Maybe i got a bad batch, but these seeds cover the entire bar, and they hurt trying to wash with it. This is the first bar of soap from them I have run into this issue with, Soap just smells like oatmeal to me, not special. I just might have to throw this soap away as I cannot get any lather from it, and it is painful to try to use it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/29/2010 9:09:00 PM More reviews by andthebeautyis

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

this soap would be better if lush didn't put so many dang oats in! like others have mentioned, the soap part does melt rather quickly so you end up with not enough lather and too many scratchy bits. after about 2-3 used, this soap becomes much too abrasive for my tastes. i do love the smell and i think i'll use it in conjunction with another soap so i can get some exfoliation going on. not sure if i'll end up repurchasing, but i'm leaning towards no since there are other ways to exfoliate without the abrasion.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 6/26/2010 12:08:00 AM More reviews by rikasmith

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Yeah, it smells delicious. But it melts away VERY quickly, and I was left with a handful of oatmeal after only a few washes. Didn't seem different than any other bar of soap.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/28/2010 8:43:00 PM More reviews by abbyyyy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my new HG body washing product. I love it. Recently went on a Lush binge and got a bit carried away, I ended up getting a lot more than I needed. I brought three soaps along with some other items and out of Honey I Washed The Kids, Spice Curls and Porridge, this is by far my favourite. It is very moisturising, so much so that I can skip moisturising afterwards if I am in a rush and my skin is still nice and not dry (usually, I would need to moisturise every day after my morning shower and before I went to bed at night). The smell is divine, I love it. It doesn't last on the skin at all, but I am obsessed with perfumes and I don't like it if I have a strong scented body wash or moisturiser, because it really changes the scent of my perfumes. So for me, it is a plus that it smells great in the shower and the scent doesn't linger. I really enjoy the gentle exfoliation I get from this soap too.

The only downside is trying to keep it from washing away. I keep it in a Lush tin for their solid shampoos or something, it was rather cheap but I still find the soap melts a bit. I brought a large chunk and I cut it into smaller chunks, wrap the left over pieces in tissue and keep them in a plastic glad food storage box in my cupboard so they don't melt too.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/24/2010 7:04:00 PM More reviews by MissRivett

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I LOVE this soap. It smells amazing, like a nutty sugar cookie. It's a nice exfoliant, and I would always use this after swimming to get the chlorine off. The only downside is the nut pieces come off and will clog your drain if its a specific kind.

I cheat when it comes to Lush products and order what I liked in the store online from the UK. Definitely A LOT cheaper. My orders will be about 10 products for under 50$, whereas that would be impossible when buying in America.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/22/2010 1:56:00 PM More reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Mmm. First off, the smell of this soap is divine. Very sweet and breakfast like, good for the morning :). It lathers fairly well and it is moisturizing. I love the exfoliating side, my skin feels so good after i use this. My only issue with this is that it is fairly expensive. But I must say this is one of my favorite soaps from Lush. Will repurchase!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/10/2010 10:10:00 PM More reviews by tinnehart

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Ahhhh, the scent is to die for. I love it. I will keep this short and simple. The soap lathers very well and smells amazing. There are two problems, it makes a huge mess in the shower and it does not last long. I swear in just one use the chunk of soap looks 1/4 of the size. Not very good in my opinion. I may buy it again on scent alone.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 5/5/2010 12:30:00 AM More reviews by kragey

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Blue

Garbage. Smells kind of like oatmeal mixed with wooden planks. Barely lathers, feels gritty and harsh on the skin, and doesn't moisturize in the slightest. In fact, this makes me feel dryer and less clean. Plus, it leaves an absolute mess in your tub. Like most Lush products, this is overpriced and overhyped.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/25/2010 11:41:00 AM More reviews by Grehjohrt

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love how this soap smells but.....
1) The little chunks make a mess in the shower
2) It does not lather, instead it is sticky
3) The smelll does not stay on my skin

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/22/2010 11:12:00 AM More reviews by hulakids

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I’ve just recently become a Lushie convert, after many years of searching, I found two HG skin products at LUSH, which made me eager to see what other products might also be HGs for me. Not so sure yet if this is a HG, but definitely a favorite and likely to be a repurchase for my dry, sensitive skin.

Porridge is a soft soap, with a sweet, baked cookie smell which I guess is the molasses in the ingredients. As this soap, like the others at LUSH cost considerably more than drugstore brands, I don’t use LUSH soaps under direct water to maximize the lifespan of the soap. I step into the shower stream to get wet, and then step out to scrub and lather the soap against my moist skin. It has oat “bits” in it to help exfoliate, gives off some lather and leaves my skin soft and smooth, similar to results I get from L’Occitane’s grape shower oil (which has been discontinued) except L’Occitane has a nice lingering scent afterwards. FYI, the portion of Porridge I am reviewing is moderate size and as such I have not yet encountered some of the other downsides I have heard about this product, such as leaving too many oats on the shower floor and having difficultly drawing the soap from the oats when the piece gets small…will have to update as the soap gets used up.

To help minimize soap shrinkage, I make sure that all my LUSH soaps are dried properly and out of water when not in use; for storage ease I suggest using a Japanese plastic tofu strainer box (bigger is better), which I bought at a high end chef store, but it can also be found on ebay. For extra moisture, I suggest following up with a LUSH massage bar. Overall, Porridge is a good product that I would recommend trying out and likely repurchase.

PROs:
Light lather and exfoliation
Pleasant, sweet “baked cookie” smell
If it doesn’t work for you, it can be returned…
Leaves my dry, sensitive skin soft and smooth.
Provides some moisture
Full of good ingredients, i.e. sunflower and coconut oil
Less costlier than other LUSH soaps ($1.93 +/- per oz) - similar price range to other handmade soaps

CONs:
Ingredients include Sodium Lauryl Sulfate
Proper after use storage needed to minimize soap shrinkage
Little to no “fresh out of the shower” scent

Is this review helpful? Yes No