August 20, 2014 | 906 users online

Cleansers - Neutrogena - Fresh Foaming Cleanser



image 0

rated 3.8(765 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 11/11/2012 11:38:00 PM More reviews by princesssage

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I came across a sample of this and used it for about a week when I was between cleansers. The first couple days I loved it and was wondering if I'd be going back to Neutrogena for the first time since I was a teenager. But, continued use left my skin a little raw. It's just too strong, and kind of dried out my skin. It's not the worst product ever, but I wouldn't buy it again as long as I had a few options I could live with. I could see this being better for truly oily skin, but I also worry about over-stressing skin. If this left my skin raw, my guess is it would do it to truly oily skin, too 9 times out of 10.

FYI: My skin is oily/combo/sensitive

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/5/2012 7:32:00 PM More reviews by historian12

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

I've been using this for years. It works great on my combination skin and thoroughly removes all my makeup. It isn't too drying, and at the same time, it gets rid of all my excess oil. I don't think you can ask anymore of a cleanser than that! And the price is definitely right too!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/25/2012 5:33:00 PM More reviews by leah1988

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I got the great idea to buy only products that Beauty Pedia recommends...... so far every cleanser from the Neutrogena has dried me out!!!! Yes even this cleanser gave me tight uncomfortable skin! Ladies save your money......not worth saving a few extra bucks only to spend more in the long run!
Paula Begoun has her say but i've sucess with products she claims would never work!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/7/2012 5:53:00 PM More reviews by rorymarie

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is my all time favorite cleanser. It removes makeup really well, though it doesn't remove waterproof mascara as well as I'd hoped. It smells fresh and it makes my face feel really clean after I use it. It doesn't irritate my sensitive skin at all. Overall, an excellent product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/3/2012 1:55:00 AM More reviews by Memoriesin

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I love this cleanser. been using this for a long time now, I always use this to remove my makeup. comparing this to makeup removing wipes , I still prefer this cleanser as it cleanses very well and does not leave any residue behind, it is also much more gentle than makeup removing wipes as you do not need to apply much friction on your skin.
I recommend you to cleanse your face twice with this cleanser when you are wearing a heavy makeup. even though I only wear bb creams, I still clean my face twice with it to make sure it gets all of it off.
for people who felt that their skin became tight after cleansing, always always use a toner after cleansing your face as a toner can not only remove excess residue left by the cleanser, it also moisturises and balances the skin's ph level so that your skin will not feel tight.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/23/2012 6:35:00 PM More reviews by Char57

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I really like this cleanser, although I wouldn't claim that it is HG status (I'm still looking for that). I had gone through 2 bottles of it and had few problems with breakouts or dry and/or particularly oily skin. However, recently I ran out and couldn't find anymore at CVS, so i bought the CeraVe foaming cleanser based on reviews on here. Terrible idea! I broke out almost immediately. It was terrible. I had finally gotten my acne-prone skin under control and WHAM, it all goes crazy again. I freaked out and returned the CeraVe and found another bottle of this trusty cleanser. My skin, while still pretty terrible (this was less than a week ago) has calmed down quite a bit and looks to be healing. In the meanwhile, the foundation goes back on ): (I had finally gotten to the point where I was using it purely as concealer for spots of redness).

Basically, this stuff works very well for my oily, acne-prone skin. It doesn't strip it and doesn't break me out. I'm going to stick with what works and stop experimenting, considering my past experiences!

Now if only I can get my roommates to stop stealing it...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 9/18/2012 3:25:00 PM More reviews by seaswan

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Other

I was using this for years and it did what I wanted, which was remove all my makeup in an easy splash off fashion. It didn't leave a film or residue and tackled my most stubborn eye makeup and it was a good value. The light scent didn't bother me much.
The problem? My skin felt dry and tight after rinsing. I found that as my skin got less oily and more dry over time this cleanser became more irritating.
I now use Olay Foaming Face Wash, for Sensitive Skin. It matches price wise and performance to NFFC but without the dryness left behind and it's fragrence free.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/27/2012 11:12:00 PM More reviews by yunbean

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This cleanser was just okay for me. I really didn't like the scent and the consistency (it's milky looking), and my nose was really sensitive to the smell. It did lather well, with lots of foam - and usually takes about 3-4 rinses of warm water to get the foam off. It stung my eyes so I couldn't use it to remove eye makeup. It didn't break me out, so I continued to use. I was just trying to finish the bottle before i go back to my HG Purpose cleanser which was much better for my sensitive face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/22/2012 1:06:00 AM More reviews by swtlilqtk

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I've been using Philosophy Purity for years now and for some reason with the pregnancy it hasn't been working AT ALL on my skin. This is what I've switched to and I really enjoy it. I LOVE that unlike Purity is takes ALL my makeup off in one, fail swoop. Purity I had to was twice to get all my eye makeup off. This doesn't dry my skin out or make me break out, actually my breakouts have been getting better since I've switched to this. I'm loving the price too! $6 compared to $30 for about the same amount of product. I don't notice any weird smell others have talked about, and my nose is really sensitive due to my pregnancy...so that's strange to me. It does foam so I can understand how that may be drying but Im dry and it doesn't make me feel tight and dry. I feel like this is worth giving a try to because it so cheap that if it doesn't work it's not a huge loss, like say Purity which a sample size is $10! Im glad I made the switch and I just hope this keeps working for me after the baby!

It contains:Glycerin, which is naturally present in skin which helps maintain moisture and prevent dryness or scaling and lauryl glucoside to emulsify the dirt and oil. The main ingredient is water so overall this is a really gentle cleanser for your skin :)





Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/19/2012 3:11:00 PM More reviews by xxsimplysweetxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Didn't have a good experience with this cleanser. Too drying, made my eyes burn, and broke my face out within the first week. Instead of throwing it away, I've been using it as a hand soap.

Is this review helpful? Yes No