July 29, 2014 | 1913 users online

Pressed Powders - Cover Girl - CG Smoothers Pressed Powder



image 0

rated 3.7(109 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/22/2005 9:57:00 PM More reviews by satin828

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

I brought this powder in translucent medium, which is the colour of my skin but for powders I should always go for a shade lighter so that they don't darken my foundation. Well, I didn't so I suffered. Although I like the ultra smooth texture, this powder did not mattify my skin well. I was shiny in two or three hours, which never happens with all my other powders.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/22/2005 6:08:00 PM More reviews by XxPinaColadaxX

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I really like this powder. The smell is kind of weird, but it fades after you have applied it. It leaves my skin looking soft and hides any redness I may have. I think this would be better in the summer when I am more oily skin, because in the winter my skin is too dry and any powder I use sticks to the flakes :-P I love the little blue compact that comes with small powder puff. If this was fragrance free, it would be my HG! :-D

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/25/2004 7:17:00 PM More reviews by RepunzeltheBlonde

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This was an OK powder, but nothing to rave about. It really stuck to dry flakes, but I found that if I moisturize first, it looks pretty good. I prefer Clinique superpowder double face powder, it's worth the extra $$$.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/23/2004 11:22:00 PM More reviews by ladykestryl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I tried this powder when I ran out and asked my mother-in-law if she had any powder I could use after applying my foundation. Who knew that a woman who could afford high end cosmetics used Cover Girl!? Her response was simply "We all have beauty secrets we must keep secret, dear. Otherwise they are not secrets right?". I was flabbergasted and had to admit what she said was true. I liked this so well I bought this after my stand by ran out. I wouldn't call this my HG, but it does the job for now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/15/2004 9:20:00 PM More reviews by Desiree11

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I love how this powder leaves my skin matte and velvety. My only gripe is the powder puff. It falls apart and sheds. I've been through 4 of 5 compacts and the same thing happens. Other than that, the powder is perfect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/4/2004 12:05:00 PM More reviews by KateJ

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

After going thru DiorSkin, YSL Matte Pressed Powder #4, MAC pressed, MAC blot powder, Stila Illuminating Pressed Poweder... I caved and went back to my 'ol high school favorite - Cover Girl. And I have got to tell you - Cover Girl Smoothers in translucent light beats them all. I really, really want to find a higher end powder that I like as much because it is a tad embarassing at my age (30) to be pulling out the CoverGirl compact. So if anyone has suggestions re: a fancy pressed powder that is equally as good, please email me. However, until such time, I am forced to admit that this stuff is great. It absorbs oil, provides natural coverage, feels light on your skin, and can be used through out the day for touch ups without ever becoming cakey. All this for under $10CDN!! **UPDATE** I have still be on a quest for a 'posh' pressed powder, even going so far as to buy Chanel's Poudre Universelle. I love Chanel's swanky compact, but the powder is mediocre to bad (more than 1 touch up & you start to see the powder in your pores - ulch). So I am back to CG Smoothers. So far this is my fave!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/22/2004 3:23:00 PM More reviews by scraps

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Well I caved!! I am a makeup whore.....I was tired of looking in the mirror and seeing my makeup rise above my pores and applying powder to cover it just made things worse....now I am talking about everything from cheapies to super expensive compacts....reading reviews on MUA about this I tried and I can't belive how pleased I am....I used this with the tinted moisturizer in light to medium and vola!! My skin looks great, feels great, no oil slicks and I put this on about 7:00 this morning....the compact is a pretty blue color and the smells is clean...who knew, Cover Girl????

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/13/2004 11:07:00 PM More reviews by ShaunaQ

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I love this powder! The scent is strong but I like it. The powder is very finely milled and goes on super smooth. It has just the right amount of coverage, doesn't feel heavy at all. I like the packaging, a very deep blue color and the puff is satisfactory.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/31/2004 8:19:00 AM More reviews by preciousmomentss

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love the puff for this thing.. I think it's really good for sensitive skin. Also, it does help absorb oil and it doesn't make me break out at all. It's a really light powder and it doesn't feel cakey or heavy on my face. My only complaint is that it's not enough coverage even though I only have some acne scars left. It definitely doesn't help if you have a few zits cuz it doesn't cover the redness too well.. but still, if you're just covering up some scars and want to keep your skin healthy and clean, this is the product for you.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/30/2004 3:40:00 PM More reviews by L00kitsELLEN

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

It's so light and airy and really works well with my foundations. The puff is great and makes application flawless. I love CG's pressed powders, they cheap and just as good as high-quality stuff!

Is this review helpful? Yes No