July 28, 2014 | 1835 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Satin Lipstick in Twig

rated 4.0(246 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 1/1/2010 3:25:00 AM More reviews by lipstickfashionista

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I concur with the other comments about the Satin formulation. Even when I tried using it with lip balms, it dried out my lips for some reason. It was a shame because I do like the color very much. I'm giving midi mauve a try, after the salesgirl told me that it's the equivalent of Mac in a different finish (lustre). If anyone here has any suggestions for similar/equivalent colors in a more moisturizing finish, I'd welcome the suggestions, thanks!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/2/2009 1:09:00 PM More reviews by ishimmer

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

LOVE LOVE this colour! I go through TUBES of this every year. I use it daily for work and it goes with every look. I like to wear it with Urban Decay XXX Shine in Kinky but it eally works with all liners and glosses that I mix it with. If this ever gets discontinued I don't know what I will do :( For refernce, I am a NW20 and it brightens up my face but isn't too loud-it's like a slightly ampted version of my natural lip colour.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/27/2009 1:37:00 PM More reviews by ellesk

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Oh Twig - what a love/hate relationship we have had in the past. It was the first MAC lipstick I bought, and sentimentalism seemed to be the only thing keeping me from getting rid of it. That is, until recently...
The issue with Twig, which many reviewers have touched upon, is the Satin formulation. Though different colors within the same family can often times have a slightly different consistency (Myth, for example, isn't quite as drying on my lips), Twig certainly exemplified Satin's problem area. If just smeared on from the tube, the color can feel stiff, dry and uneven - which is not what anyone wants.
BUT - when used over a lip balm and applied with either a lip brush, or stippled on from the tube and pressed in with your finger, Twig really transforms and becomes a color worth the work.
Twig is the *quintessential* MLBB color. Though it looks slightly darker and muddy in the tube, once applied on the lips it takes on a really soft, rosy quality (with a slight medium brown undertone)- in some cases, it even looks like a stain. It's so natural & flattering, and gives fullness and shape to your lips.
I can absolutely see this working as a perfect bridal lip color, because it does what bridal makeup is meant to do: enhance your natural attributes. I find it's really flattering to pale complexions as well, as it sort of works to evoke those descriptions of an English rose from a Jane Austen novel - rosebud lips and all.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/7/2009 6:26:00 PM More reviews by xxsamarxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love twig!! I actually got it for my mother but I stole it back lol, Its a dirty pinkish brown. I think its quite versatile as I wear it almost everyday and sometimes when I go out too.
Not gonna lie though it is a satin finish, Satin = DRYING!!!
make sure you wear lots of lipbalm before then blot, and THEN apply twig. I especially love this colour on my NC43 skintone. The picture here dosent do it justice, I recomend checking it out in real life to see the true colour.
Overall I like this. Its a subtle shade whilst adding colour I lovee twig - its one of my first lipsticks actually :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/3/2009 6:31:00 PM More reviews by Belle88

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

Hmm. I love the colour, I really do so I'm guessing my dissatisfaction is coming from the Satin formula rather than this liptsick in general.
It only lasted about an hour on me, it was drying and balled up even though I used it over a primer and a little Carmex..

If I can find a dupe shade in one of the other lipstick formulas I'd definitly buy!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/22/2009 12:34:00 PM More reviews by shopaholic18

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Fine Eyes: Black

perfect wedding lippie...thats what i read about this l/s...and i finally gave in and tried this as b2m...just dont layer this too much and you'll get a very nice nude color...definitely repurchase if i ran out...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/18/2009 9:54:00 PM More reviews by vivcheung

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I've gone through tubes and tubes of this particular lipstick because it's such a wonderful and versatile color! The neutral pinky-brown is great for everyday wear. It's also a good color when used in combination with other brighter lipsticks when you need to tone it down a notch. The satin, creamy finish is extremely long-lasting. It's a staple in my makeup bag!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/3/2009 10:53:00 PM More reviews by kilxover

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Another great long lasting colour from MAC. It was definitely darker than I expected it to be. However, I'm not shy about makeup so that wasn't a problem for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 8/13/2009 12:54:00 PM More reviews by roroluca

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Tremendously disappointed with this product - added 5 years to my face, was too "grown up" for me to wear on an everyday basis. VG V is a much better choice for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/10/2009 12:02:00 PM More reviews by Sham83

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I can never find a lipstick that suits me but the past couple of days i've had my makeup done by a makeup artist for a wedding and she used this lipstick on me. I love it! I had loads of people saying how nice this colour looked on me (I'm an NC42). Would definitely recommend this lipstick.

Is this review helpful? Yes No