November 1, 2014 | 765 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Satin Lipstick in Twig

rated 4.0(250 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/18/2010 9:36:00 AM More reviews by ianastar

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I dont know why this had such bad reviews. It is a very popular color. It's the perfect brown/reddish combo. Looks great on most women, and they love it

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 1/18/2010 12:41:00 AM More reviews by sunnyisland

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Twig is a mid tone browny pink. It is neutral enough to be worn with many looks but I find that it's far too brown and makes me look too aged, I much prefer pinker lipsticks. Also, it doesn't have shimmer or glitter. I find the colour dense which is good but unfortunately the satin finish is much too drying. I much prefer MAC cremesheen Modesty. A similar browny pink but not so dark in depth as compared with Twig. Also, it's more moisturising. I won't buy Twig again.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/14/2010 9:48:00 PM More reviews by pencilpleat

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I forgot that this is one of those lippies I kept buying because I actually used it up - every smidgen of it (I scraped every last bit with a lipbrush!). Until I found Fleshtone this was my go to nude l/s, I must have gone through 15 tubes of Twig over the years; this shade is that flattering. On its own, or with some gloss over it, it always got me 'love your lips' compliments from people. Too bad it's a tad drying, hence the 4 lippies.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/14/2010 9:29:00 PM More reviews by shanstuff

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Twig is absolutely my go-to natural color for those "no makeup" days. It is truly a MLBB color. It deepens my very pale lips to the color they SHOULD be, and allows me to add fullness and plumpness to them without it being obvious. It's a very subtle mauvy-rosy-brownish shade that goes with absolutely EVERYTHING. It's the best neutral I have ever tried--and I've tried literally hundreds over the years. Doesn't turn pink or brown on the lips, and stays on for hours and hours. Definitely will be repurchasing forever!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/1/2010 3:25:00 AM More reviews by lipstickfashionista

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I concur with the other comments about the Satin formulation. Even when I tried using it with lip balms, it dried out my lips for some reason. It was a shame because I do like the color very much. I'm giving midi mauve a try, after the salesgirl told me that it's the equivalent of Mac in a different finish (lustre). If anyone here has any suggestions for similar/equivalent colors in a more moisturizing finish, I'd welcome the suggestions, thanks!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/2/2009 1:09:00 PM More reviews by ishimmer

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

LOVE LOVE this colour! I go through TUBES of this every year. I use it daily for work and it goes with every look. I like to wear it with Urban Decay XXX Shine in Kinky but it eally works with all liners and glosses that I mix it with. If this ever gets discontinued I don't know what I will do :( For refernce, I am a NW20 and it brightens up my face but isn't too loud-it's like a slightly ampted version of my natural lip colour.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/27/2009 1:37:00 PM More reviews by ellesk

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Oh Twig - what a love/hate relationship we have had in the past. It was the first MAC lipstick I bought, and sentimentalism seemed to be the only thing keeping me from getting rid of it. That is, until recently...
The issue with Twig, which many reviewers have touched upon, is the Satin formulation. Though different colors within the same family can often times have a slightly different consistency (Myth, for example, isn't quite as drying on my lips), Twig certainly exemplified Satin's problem area. If just smeared on from the tube, the color can feel stiff, dry and uneven - which is not what anyone wants.
BUT - when used over a lip balm and applied with either a lip brush, or stippled on from the tube and pressed in with your finger, Twig really transforms and becomes a color worth the work.
Twig is the *quintessential* MLBB color. Though it looks slightly darker and muddy in the tube, once applied on the lips it takes on a really soft, rosy quality (with a slight medium brown undertone)- in some cases, it even looks like a stain. It's so natural & flattering, and gives fullness and shape to your lips.
I can absolutely see this working as a perfect bridal lip color, because it does what bridal makeup is meant to do: enhance your natural attributes. I find it's really flattering to pale complexions as well, as it sort of works to evoke those descriptions of an English rose from a Jane Austen novel - rosebud lips and all.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/7/2009 6:26:00 PM More reviews by xxsamarxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love twig!! I actually got it for my mother but I stole it back lol, Its a dirty pinkish brown. I think its quite versatile as I wear it almost everyday and sometimes when I go out too.
Not gonna lie though it is a satin finish, Satin = DRYING!!!
make sure you wear lots of lipbalm before then blot, and THEN apply twig. I especially love this colour on my NC43 skintone. The picture here dosent do it justice, I recomend checking it out in real life to see the true colour.
Overall I like this. Its a subtle shade whilst adding colour I lovee twig - its one of my first lipsticks actually :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/3/2009 6:31:00 PM More reviews by Belle88

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

Hmm. I love the colour, I really do so I'm guessing my dissatisfaction is coming from the Satin formula rather than this liptsick in general.
It only lasted about an hour on me, it was drying and balled up even though I used it over a primer and a little Carmex..

If I can find a dupe shade in one of the other lipstick formulas I'd definitly buy!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/22/2009 12:34:00 PM More reviews by shopaholic18

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Fine Eyes: Black

perfect wedding lippie...thats what i read about this l/s...and i finally gave in and tried this as b2m...just dont layer this too much and you'll get a very nice nude color...definitely repurchase if i ran out...

Is this review helpful? Yes No