December 19, 2014 | 1371 users online

Powder - Sheer Cover - Sheer Cover - Mineral Foundation



image 0

rated 3.0(349 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.0
  • 46% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/11/2011 11:10:00 AM More reviews by Bindi7

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I used to use this a few years ago and swore by it - until i went back to MAC Studio Fix. The reason for going back to MAC Studio fix was because i found that the coverage with sheer cover was not enough for evening/going out/occasion wear. It was lovely for daytime wear and i must say i never broke out. I used the tan shades - Golden and Almond - and found they worked really nicely together to give me a perfect colour match. The only downsides for me were the cost and also the fact that it didn't help to keep my oily skin matte. I remember putting it on in the morning and being shiny within a few hours :-( i continued to use it because of the excellent colour match though - until i had to attend a family wedding! Then i reverted back to MAC Studio fix and find this gives me all i need - excellent colour match in the C shades, oil control and buildable coverage. I think sheercover would suit you if you are happy with sheer/moderate coverage and want a near perfect colour match.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/18/2010 9:04:00 PM More reviews by xxnazxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this product. I think the colours you get are great as you get 2 different pots if you order it off the proper website.
I am not sure on the moisteriser i did however use all of it as i think the powder goes on better.
I think the colour (i get lite, i think its nude and bisque, not deffonate lol) is great it goes well with my fake tan, it always looks flawless and my make up looks its best in photos when i use sheer cover.
The only downer is the price, to get a decent amount you need to buy the deluxe kit which i think is about £60 pound it is worth the money but as a student i ant afford this yet ill be buying some if i get cash for xmas.
i would defo buy this product again but i wouldnt wear it in the winter as i feel powders dry your skin out and winter is when my skin is most vulnerable.
xxx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/17/2010 7:26:00 PM More reviews by Peaches

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

As a die-hard Bare Minerals user, this line finally got to me and I just had to try the kit. That was over a year ago and I've been re-ordering and buying new products every three months. They also send generous gifts with the orders. The only thing I did NOT like was the mascara. Anyway, this mineral foundation is much sheerer, and more natural-looking than Bare Minerals. It also has a better match to my skin color without mixing (Nude). I apply it with BE's kabuki brush, over the Sheer Cover moisturizer that comes with the kit. It looks a little bit dry at first, but after it settles in has the perfect natural finish. And it stays that way all day, even in the summer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/23/2010 10:15:00 PM More reviews by CallieR09

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought the sheer cover on a whim one day, i had seen it a 100 times and just wanted to try it for myself. Like others it was 30 and i thought it wasa great price and was excited waiting for it. wellll let me tell ya...i got a bill in the mail a couple weeks later for 70 and some change. i think they trick you into buying and leave out the fact that you are buying a 100$ kit not a 30$ like advertised. soo i used the concealer, which i do use everyday, and i love it. i use my fingers and on days with more time the concealer brush. those two things are great, and thats why my rating is what it is. I did the whole mineral brushing thing and i feel it was powdery and i looked pale, even with the bronzer, that is wayyyy too shimmery for everyday use. i am a bronzer freak, not all over but i use everyday for a glow. This one was soo ridiculously shimmery, it makes a mess. I thought i looked all one color, instead of being red around the nose and what not, but it was just "too" light of a color. I got the medium kit, so i think the dark would have been too dark. this was during the summer months now that it is fall maybe it will work better. As the reviews before me, you do start out looking pretty good, flawless with the concealer and minerals but after a couple hours you do look slick and it just looks like you have been behind a stove all day and have no makeup on when in reality you put in all this effort, lol. oh and i wanted to tell the girls before me that you can buy sheer cover at the "Proactiv" stands in malls. they sell sheer cover products, due to them both being a product of gunthy renker. So you can get just one piece of the kit. well all in all i have the travel concealer in my bathroom and the other one in my makeup bag, the minerals are in a closet and when i think of it, ill use them.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/12/2010 4:56:00 AM More reviews by JessLol

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium Eyes: Blue

I've had my starter (full size) Sheer Cover for about a year to two years I can't remember, and have not yet gone through my mineral foundation! I don't use much, and of course sometimes I don't wear it, but I literally use it everyday.

I have had to recently buy a new concealer. The concealer is so damn good! It's creamy, covers well and doesn't fade too fast.

The foundation itself works well for my normal/oily skin and I think it is doing a better job than my very recent purchase of Revlon's Colorstay. I have been using them together, setting the Revlon with Sheer Cover, but after the Colorstay is gone, I might just stick with the Sheer Cover.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/9/2010 6:29:00 PM More reviews by aloving3947

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really love this product! I don't wear a lot of makeup, and this feels like I'm not wearing any. My powder lasted a long time, maybe that's why it didn't seem cakey and lasted forever. I have psoriasis on my face and this product works really well for me; it seems to soothe my skin. I receive a lot of compliments when I wear Sheer Cover.
One thing about the pricing...they send you a 3-month supply and the price is about $30 a month. They will send you a new supply every 3-months unless you change your shipping frequency. The minimal is 2 times a year. The kit that I'm currently getting is $109.95 and has cleanser, moisturizer, primer, 2 powder foundations, duo concealer, bronzer, a mascara, a compact w/ blush, eyeshadows, and glosses, and some brushes. I wear make-up everyday, but am a teacher and don't re-apply because I don't have time or motiviation. The amount that they give me is more than enough. I'm always touching my face through-out the day, but it seems to hold up well.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/25/2010 2:08:00 AM More reviews by strawbery

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is terrible! My face looked like I had caked it on. Very unnatural, nothing like the commercial.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/13/2010 5:34:00 PM More reviews by Pookles

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Ok ...I purchased the Sheer Cover introductory kit (30 day supply) in light for $29.95 US. Thought this was a fantastic deal for all the products contained in this kit and couldn't wait to use it. Seven days later, I received my order opened it up and got started.


First I used the:

Cleanser 2 oz- cleansed well enough left skin feeling soft but nothing special.


Moisturizer 1.0 oz - felt more like a plain sunscreen, stung a little, does not contain any real anti aging or good
moisturizing ingredients such as peptides, retinols, etc.



Concealer (light/medium) - applied a little, nice light creamy texture, covered minor imperfections well, a little too light for more serious coverage such as birthmarks.


Minerals in Frost/ Nude 4 gm - mixed the 2 colors, more frost than nude, got a very nice color match to my skin tone which is usually very difficult to match because it is very light. I used the mini Kabuki brush in the kit to buff on the minerals but I found it to be too coarse and it actually removed a lot of the concealer, I tried again using the powder brush and a very light hand, worked a bit better, but the some bristles came out. I have a birthmark on my chin and I had to reapply the concealer after the minerals. Minerals felt nice and light on the skin.


Lipgloss compact - minuscule amount in the compact, nice very sheer pink color, light texture but not much staying power.


Anyway I add a little blush, mascara, and ta da...in my lighting I look fantastic, my skin is glowing, pores look like they have been airbrushed away and my skin has its youthful radiance once again. I think I look hot and I skip out of the house. Two hours later I am sitting talking with my doctor and he keeps staring at me in a way he has never looked at me before. I'm thinking to myself this is odd, he says nothing, I'm thinking it must be my imagination, or he's staring because I'm looking good and sooo much younger. Finished my Dr.'s appt, stepped in to the restroom before leaving the office looked in the mirror and stopped dead in my tracks. I was mortified. My face was a greasy shiny mess, my pores were humongous pools of oil, craters, the light reflective value of my face was enormous like a sheet of tin foil. No wonder my doctor was staring at me. What does one say in a situation like that? Powder, blotting tissue, paper towel, what's wrong with your face? Went from hot to not, unless you're thinking of the sweaty kind. I swear my pores were magnified 10X, you could have dived in to those suckers.


Later on my face broke out in little bumps. Through the process of elimination I tried to find the culprit that caused me to break out. At first I assumed it was the minerals ** which I never used again** but no matter what product I eliminated I continued to break out. In the end I stopped using everything and my skin started to clear up immediately.


Called Sheer Cover to cancel my automatic shipment, they were polite enough and offered to send me a primer or toner to which would help with pores. I politely declined. If they wish, perhaps they could send me some money for Therapy.....lol!


P.S. I gave it 2 lippies because the concealer wasn't bad.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/10/2010 3:58:00 PM More reviews by iloveyourstory

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Well this powder was a massive disappointment! Why do we keep falling for these infomercials? I wonder how much they paid Leeza Gibbons. This stuff is very pricey ($70) and is crap. I think the whole mineral makeup thing is just a ploy to lure naive young women in with false advertisement. This is the same company that produces Pro Activ (shudder). The whole thing is shady and cheap, from the brushes to the lip gloss. I will stick to Shiseido and forget this over-marketed hype of mineral foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 8/5/2010 5:20:00 PM More reviews by rockangel04

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

First of all price was decent $30 introductory for about 7-10 products. The packaging was awesom, neat and organized (as a matter of fact I'm not returning it because I liked the makeup bag and tray so much).

Customer Service was friendly and they had no problem cancelling the automatic shipments. She offered some other suggestions and after I turned them down she more than happily cancelled.

Now onto the coverage and quality. First of all if you have dry skin you defenitely will need to use a moisturizer or primer immediately before or the product with not stick. The brushes bristles do fall out and are sort of scratchy. There is no finishing veil in the kit and there really should be. I used the concealer on my dark red acne scars and I'm light complected so they are hard to cover. It did okay and once I put on foundation and used a veil I already I had I thought I looked pretty good. Then I did what I call my "car mirror test" care mirrors show every single imperfection with makeup I swear! I looked decent, not wowed but pretty good. Went to work and at about mid day I looked in the mirror and was horrified, my pores were huge looking and the product had settled into them tremendously! Also I could see the concealer blotched all over and not nearly as blended as it should have been. My skin was oily mid day too. Pretty sure I won't by this again...

P.S. It took 3 weeks for this product to come in and in the mean time a friend suggested a product to me that I fell in love with...perhaps they should have gotten in to me quicker and I'd still be trying to give this a chance.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No