September 23, 2014 | 995 users online

Lotions/ Creams - Glysomed



image 0

rated 4.5(100 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 87% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 12/29/2006 3:59:00 PM More reviews by nepthys

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

A must for anyone with rough/dry skin. It's magic. It's unfraganced and plain, and comes in plain green packaging, and it works. A little bit goes a long way to soothe rough and dry skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/28/2006 12:02:00 PM More reviews by DebL66

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is a gem of a product to carry in your purse. Contains glycerine, silicone and camomile. I have the unscented version in the tube and I've used it EVERYWHERE, my hands, elbows, and yes, even dry areas on my face. It's soooo gentle, I've even used a bit on my lips when I didn't have lipbalm with me. And it's ridiculously cheap! It's heavier than a regular lotion, but not as greasy as something like Neutrogena's Norwegian Hand formula. You just need a tiny bit, so a tube will last forever. I also saw on their website (www.glysomed.com) that they have a body lotion, but I haven't seen it in my local drugstore. I'd love to try that, too.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/27/2006 3:22:00 PM More reviews by me_n_cap

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This is a tube of wonders: it smoothed and softened my winterized, garden-beaten, couldn't-wear-gloves-and-do-masonry hands and took ten bad years off their appearance to boot. Add no testing on animals, an inoffensive faint scent and the appreciative glint in my bed-partner's eye when I put it on my hands right before bed (yup, it's that slippery, but not greasy, so for me backs of hands only during the day) and you have a workhorse hand cream to please the most finicky to the most product-adverse. A drugstore steal at $2.99 for 1.7 ounces, most often with a dollar off coupon glued to the tube.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/25/2006 3:35:00 PM More reviews by kriztene

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Wow very surprised with this product actually. I don't know what it was but I just didn't have much faith in it. I am currently on accutane and one of my side effects is extremely dry hands. I usually use vasaline and put socks over it before going to bed, that was going pretty good. But then my mom showed me this stuff and I decided to give it a try and OMG it works wonders! The vasaline is obviously very thick and i could really do much with it if it was on my hands during the day. The glysomed soaked it fairly fast and made my hands have this weird feeling to them lol can't really describe it but it felt like it was like a wall of protection. My hands were very red and polka dotted and that is extremely reduced now :). This product is actually quite cheap and can be bought at many drugstores! You should really give this stuff a try really isnt anything to loose. Hope i helped!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/23/2006 10:01:00 PM More reviews by Suki73

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Glysomed is a very nice hand cream made with glycerine, silicone and camomile. The tube I bought (50 ml/1.7 fl oz) was inexpensive, just a few dollars at a local drugstore. I picked up this one on a whim and hadn't heard of it before; I was pleased to see the great reviews here in productville. Because of the glycerine and silicone, I find this to be too slippery for use during the day. I enjoy using this in the evening, before bed, or during times when I don't need immediate use of my hands (ex. not when posting reviews!) I deducted one point because of the fact that I can only use this on a limited basis, and I prefer a hand cream I can use throughout the day. This is fragrance-free and not tested on animals, two great selling points. This did not irritate my eczema. This is a very good product overall and I would give it a 4.5 if I could.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/6/2006 11:01:00 AM More reviews by shamlet16

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I keep a small tube of this hand cream at my desk and use it regularly. My palms especially tend to get very dry, especially after washing my hands and during the winter, and I found this cream to be the perfect antidote. It is very moisturizing without being greasy and you only need a small amount. Best of all, a 1.7 oz tube cost me only $3 at duane reade. I will definitely repurchase when I run out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/24/2006 5:51:00 PM More reviews by ayngemac

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This stuff is wonderful! I caress my own skin after I use it, it softens so well. I just can't believe *my* skin can be so soft! Trying hand creams seems to be a hobby of mine--I've tried dozens and dozens and dozens--and this by far is the best. I use the unscented formula in the white tube, and I don't know how the regular formula smells. I've had five tubes of it stolen from me so far by friends and family, so when I saw it for $1 at Von's, I bought all fifteen on the shelf. They're going to be stocking stuffers this Christmas. It has glycerine, silicone, and camomile.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/1/2006 1:44:00 AM More reviews by princess_eab

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

Holy moly, this is the best hand cream ever. I can't get over it. I've gone through tubes of Dermalogica, Ahava, Sally Hansen, Neutrogena, you name it-- in search of the ideal hand cream, and I can't believe this is it. It combines the silkiness of Ahava and the absorption and protection of Neutrogena-- but it's SO CHEAP and works better than both. I also like that it comes in Unscented (my preference) and that the tube is small enough to fit in a pocket, but lasts forever because you only have to use a small amount at a time. I will never forget the first time I tried this: I'd been moving furniture in windy, below-freezing weather and my hands were so chapped they nearly bled. I picked up a tube at Duane Reade and deperately applied it to my poor hands-- it was like a miracle. The chapped "pain" went away and my hands looked like new. This stuff got me through one brutal New York winter and I'm sticking with it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/4/2006 8:54:00 PM More reviews by maliastyle

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I like this. DH bought one on impulse one day when he needed something for his dry, cracking hands. I gave it a shot myself one day and I discovered, pleasantly, that it works really well as a hand AND cuticle cream. I have a tendency to test out hand creams this way, and if it works on my dry cuticles, I know it'll work anywhere. I find the price of Glysomed varies, depending on where you look. I've seen the tiny travel size sell anywhere between $2-4 (CAD), but I picked up a massive tube at Costco for $7. Greasy and slippery, but only if you use too much. This is one of those products which the term, "A little goes a long way," truly applies. Good stuff.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/30/2006 11:25:00 PM More reviews by mutemaniak

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I use the unscented hand cream on my face and it does a great job at moisturizing for the winter time. It goes on waxy but it does its job at sealing in moisture. I like how it's non-greasy, not too light, no weird scent, and cheap! I got a 50 mL bottle for about $3 CDN.

Is this review helpful? Yes No