October 30, 2014 | 1527 users online

Makeup Brushes - MAC - #209 Eye liner



image 0image 1

rated 4.3(142 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 73% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/24/2008 8:38:00 PM More reviews by CoonieR

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

This is absolutely THE brush to use with Fluidlines! I used to use my 266 angled brush, but found that I couldn't get a good tightline with it. Fortunately I have MUA to guide me, so eventually I discovered the 209 brush.


This brush makes it really easy to tightline. Since the point makes a V shape, you can either use just the tip (for a fine line) or apply a little pressure to make a thicker line (maybe 2 mm or so). If I want to go with a thicker line (rarely), I can use my 266.


My 209 has survived many washings without shedding or breaking any hairs, which is saying a lot, because I am rough with my brushes. I've added a second 209 to my collection and would recommend that anyone who uses gel eyeliner to at least try it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/11/2008 1:05:00 PM More reviews by paula3boys

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I absolutely LOVE this brush. I use it more than any other makeup brush that I own because I always use eyeliner and sometimes skip the other stuff. I have had it for a year and it is still in great shape. I use it and then grab one of my Almay eye makeup remover pads to quickly clean it off so the eyeliner doesn't cake up. Then once a week I use my MAC brush cleaner to clean it and voila, all better again. I don't understand the review below a little said her brush poofed out or whatever. Mine hasn't done this at all after all of this time.

I was so scared to use liquid eyeliner at first, but this brush was so easy to use and now I use liquid/gel eyeliner more than my pencils! I have a BB eyeliner brush too, but prefer this. I only use the BB during travel because I didn't want to lose this one! However, now that I got a 209SE in a set I got at the holidays, I don't need to worry :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/25/2008 9:40:00 PM More reviews by lolemily

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I've never used any other eyeliner brushes, so I have no room for comparison, but it's really nice. It picks up eyeliner well, applys smoothly, it's very soft so not harsh on the eyelid, and it cant be used for a thin or thick line depending on how you use it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/27/2008 3:46:00 AM More reviews by abbazabba

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

i like to apply my fluidline with this brush as opposed to the thin angled brushes. it gives me more control and a nice straight line. i can make the line thick or thin. the only bad thing is that the bristles fan out after a while. it could possibly be because i wash it almost every day after i use it? this is the 2nd one i've own and i'm thinking about getting a 3rd because it fans out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/26/2008 12:14:00 PM More reviews by dOrKyGiRl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I wanted to like this brush, but I couldn't. It just doesn't give me that fine line (thin line). It would be great if you're looking for something to make thick line. I would not buy this brush again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/25/2008 1:20:00 PM More reviews by anshort4angel

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this brush for my fluidline and it worked great at first. Nice thin line etc. until i washed it with MAC's brush cleanser. I let it dry, and POOF the thin pointed brush because a full thick brush. I couldn't get it back to it's original shape. Thankfully, one of my friends works at the MAC counter and told me that that happens a lot to that brush, she gladley retured it and suggested the angle brush instead. If you want this for a couple weeks, it's great - just don't EVER wash it LOL or else you'll waste your $17.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/2/2008 10:43:00 PM More reviews by user24678

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I don't care for this brush at all. I bought it to apply my MAC Liquidlast liquid eyeliner. After just a couple uses, the bristles get crusty with the product and end up bent all over the place. Then I end up with specks of eyeliner everywhere. I think the bristles are too long and soft. I much prefer my Avon Daring Definition fine point eyeliner brush. It's fatter with shorter bristles that stay together, allowing me to do a very thin or thick line.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/27/2008 1:09:00 PM More reviews by Tanja1801

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

So the 209 brush. I use it with the MAC fluidline and it works great. I've read a few reviews and I now why girls don't like this brush. If you want a think line, this is not the brush for you. The 266 is. With this brush you give your eyes a very fine black line. It's great for a sophisticated look, since I don't like the very thick eyeliner lines (gives me the inpression of a pornstar :D) So if you are looking for a thin line you go with the 209. If you want a thick line you pick the 266.
Tanja

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/29/2007 11:41:00 AM More reviews by Dragun

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This is my first M.A.C. brush, part of this year's Xmas pressies from DH. At first I was just like the previous reviewer: "just another eye liner brush." But after using it for a couple of days I have to say, I'm very impressed. I have other brands of e/l brushes but this one is unique. I don't have to work hard to get the fine point I'm seeking, and it picks up the perfect amount of product. I probably won't ever need to re-purchase this brush, but I would. I also now (of course) want more M.A.C. brushes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/21/2007 4:14:00 PM More reviews by murphysmomkk

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BRUSH! I thought "eh, what's another eyeliner brush" ... well, this is a standout. If you love gel or pot eyeliners - you simply must have one of these. I would buy another in a minute - I will never be without this brush.

Is this review helpful? Yes No