October 2, 2014 | 1135 users online

Moisturizers - Alba Botanica - Sea Plus Renewal Night Cream



image 0

rated 3.8(107 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/1/2006 12:10:00 AM More reviews by SarahMcD

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Curly, Other Eyes: Brown

I was looking for a good moisturizer for my very dry winter skin. I bought this after seeing the rave reviews here. The product has an excellent list of ingredients and the price is good (around $15). However, I found this to be adequately moisturizing for daytime use but too thick and greasy to wear under foundation. Unfortunately, it was not moisturizing enough for use at night, as I was dry and tight in the morning. It did not irritate my skin and the smell, though noticeable, is inoffensive.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 1/8/2006 12:40:00 PM More reviews by kedves

Age: Unknown Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Horrible for my normal to winter-dry, senstive skin. This, like most of the Alba Botanica moisturizers, contains stearic acid. I've since found out that this ingredient triggers immediate but long-lasting acne reactions in my skin with red marks that last for months. If you don't respond badly to this or some of the other potentially acne-causing ingredients in the Alba creams, this would be a good one. It has a lovely texture, is moisturizing, and like all the Alba Botanica products, smells wonderful.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/7/2006 5:46:00 AM More reviews by minanmi

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

For the price, a great product! Snapped this up at a Whole Foods after being recommended it by a friend, and after using it for a week, my skin is already clearer and brighter. Packed with antitoxidants, this cream goes on really thick, but soaks in pretty quickly. The price for this product, $15, isn't bad given what's in it; will most likely buy again.
UPDATE: found after long-use this product made my forehead an oil slick while my cheeks never felt quite moisturized enough. Not a bad cream for the price, but there are better creams out there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/27/2005 12:09:00 PM More reviews by xtinaxtina

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I've been using this for about 5 days, morning & night. My skin is very dry (from Accutane) & for a while jojoba oil was doing the trick. When my dosage got upped, my skin got drier & the jojoba oil couldn't handle it (though I still highly recommend it for more normal dry skin conditions). Based on the reviews here, I went out & bought this. It's fantastic! My skin feels velvety smooth & wonderful! And the effect lasts, too, unlike some moisturizers where my skin feels parched after a few hours. It's quite thick so it comes in a jar, but I'm ok with that. My only fear is breakouts, but everyone seemed to be saying that hadn't been a problem. I'll update if anything changes, but for now I think this is a really great product! And cheap & natural, too!**UPDATE** 1/6/06 This is a little heavy for under makeup, but nothing else is giving me the moisture I need, so I'm sticking with it. I can't say enough how well this is working for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/22/2005 10:08:00 AM More reviews by canipej

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I am so happy to find a moisturizer that I can use long term. My skin is very sensitive and reacts to almost anything. I've tried Clinique, Burts Bees, Aubrey and a lot of other brands, but this one doesn't break me out and actually moisturizes. Unlike other reviewers, I love the scent.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/19/2005 4:56:00 PM More reviews by bertrambabe

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

i have used this product for 2 weeks since reading about it here and i really think i like it--no miracles to say yet-- but i just know i am doing my skin a favor by giving it dmae, alpha lipoic acid and vitaman c ester!!--these three things are to my knowledge only avaliabel in uber-expensve dr perricone. i like the way it makes my skin look--it seems like my pores are smaller...and i think my skin has lost some of it's hyperpigmentation --i hope it is not a "figmentation" of my mind! two weeks using alba and all i can say this is a superior product ingredient list for the price (14 99 whole foods georgia). I really think i will see benefits long term from this stuff--i have pretty dry skin i can use it twice a day---if i put it on at night--i wake up a little dry- can you believe that!? most people i dont think will have this issue. i have used creme de le mer in the past but i have real doubts as to their "treatment" part of the product--and sooo x pensive. i want to always moiusturize but especially treat my skin to age fighting goodies! the only other thing i have to say is this: and it may be IMPORTANT: I have been using a sample of kiehls vitamin c cream on my wrinkle spots and especially on the lip -- the wrinkies on lip have improved alot in two weeks--the only kicker is i started using the kiehls c stuff the same day almost as the alba--so maybe a combo wrinkle effect or just the kiehls or just the alba but one way or the other you know what i am using and i am seeing wrinkle results on my lip line for sure. kiehls gave me two smaple packets, i am still on the first one. a great way to MAX your sample packets is to just use a pin and prick a teeny hole in it....alba is in a jar, no big deal i dont mind it it is medium creamy, and on dry skin, it goes a little fast...my jar by using it night and day and sometimes a little in between will last me probably 4 months, 5 months tops EDIT/UPDATE--i am into my 2nd jar of this stuff it does not last as long as i thought-- using 2x a day, i'd say 1 jar lasts 2 months tops-- anyhow-- the featured picture on MUA shows a tube, but i am writing about the sea plus renewal creme that comes in a green plastic jar--anyhow---i am out of the samples of the kiehls vitamin c cream and i still am impressed with this product my pores are smaller and my redness/hyperpigmentation is very improved. --mild/medium redness, has been i'd say totally negated. good stuff, i am scared this wont last at this price

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 12/17/2005 4:42:00 PM More reviews by LovingMe830

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

A Wonderful hydrating moisurizer for night use. When I don't use Green Cream I use this at night (for last 2 weeks) and my skin is silky-smooth in the AM. It's a great winter moisturizer for dry skin!
-Great price $10.50 for 2 oz-
EDIT: Had some bad Break-outs' with contnued use of this..I used it up on my Feet/ankles and NO I will not be re-purchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/9/2005 10:47:00 AM More reviews by erindrennan

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Edit: it is still a lovely moisturizer but just wasn't cutting it for skin anymore. So unfortunately I dropping the rating.

Thank you girls!!! I have the driest skin in the world and lately it has been so sensitive. I could use a moisturizer and for a week it would be alright and then I would need to put it on every few hours. This stuff is amazing. I love the way it smells and especially the way it feels. It has improved my complexion amazingly well. I was really happy to see it had the ingredients touted by Dr Perricone without the massive price!! Completely lovely and I have had no breakouts or bad reactions to it! Update: Still a wonderful lotion and moisturizer but my skin seems to be ok with it now, in other words, not as moisturizing...back to the drawing board.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/5/2005 11:08:00 PM More reviews by christy22

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Am I missing something? The smell of this is so overwhelming I almost didn't want to use it - like a bottle of Acqua de Gio, and after using it for a few nights, I would wake up to dry flaky skin. I don't think anything else in my regimen is doing it b/c otherwise I am just using Purpose Gentle Cleansing Wash and a Prescreptives moisturizer.

Also, I got two big pimples as a result!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/27/2005 6:21:00 PM More reviews by jiney17

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Love this cream! It's my new, winter-time night treatment. This is a wonderfully thick, soothing cream with a fresh, 'ocean breeze' kinda scent (not strong but definitely present). Very emollient--I warm it up between my palms and massage into my skin after heavy-duty exfoliation and wake up to amazingly soft, velvety skin. No greasiness at all. I have combination skin with a tendency to dryness in the cooler months and this really moisturizes without clogging my pores or causing breakouts. Comes in a simple, green jar (this is very thick so I don't think a tube would've worked well) and costs about 12 USD for 2 oz. Very good deal as you only need a little bit at a time. Would definitely repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No