Chanel Gardenia

4.0

174 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/10/2005 9:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

As other reviewers have noted, this isn't a gardenia scent - it's what Chanel interpreted a gardenia to smell like - but it's a light jasmine tea scent to me. In fact, that's exactly what it smells like - a light, fresh and refreshing cup of jasmine tea, iced with a smidge of vanilla.

As someone just said to me on the frag board - it's a light, fresh, clean floral without any citrus or powder. Lovely!



on 3/3/2005 7:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Gorgeous, elegant, feminine, light, clean, marvelous!


on 2/21/2005 12:04:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have NEVER been a floral lover - only because they don't smell good on me. I don't know why - they would just turn sour or acidic and end up making me feel ill or giving me a headache. I have tried though - many times - only because I really love the smell of gardenia, tuberose, jasmine - many of the exotic florals. The first two KIND OF agreed with me - but not to the point I'd ever buy a fragrance with those as the primary notes - there was definitely something weird happening with them once they touched my skin. Jasmine, on the other hand, NEVER smelled nice on me. Anyway, one day I decided to try my sample of Chanel Gardenia. I dabbed it on my wrist - waiting for it at any moment to start making me feel ill. Well, I waited and waited and waited. Oh my goodness - it didn't happen. It was the most gorgeous jasmine/gardenia scent I've ever smelled and it didn't change once it encountered my chemistry. It's not an overwhelming floral, like Fracas, which I really like - on other people. Rather, it's a light, ethereal fragrance. I can't get enough. I'm even considering buying the parfum. It's a bit pricey, yes, but I may never come across a floral (white floral) that smells this good on me again. For the time being, I'll just have to douse myself with the EDT.


on 2/10/2005 10:45:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I was so happy when Chanel reintroduced this fragrance. Or perhaps they just made it available in the US? I'm not sure, but after researching Chanel, I was dismayed that I could not get it. My DH purchased the huge 3.4oz bottle for me for Christmas and I love it. It's a soft, sweet floral that is never overpowering on me. I do agree that it does not have the lasting power of Allure or Coco, but if spritzed on after applyinga non scented moisturizer it stays quite well on me & my skin is quite dry this time of year. I will happily repurchase if it's available when this bottle is gone, however I believe it might be limited edition.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/9/2005 8:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Oh my gosh, if you haven't tried this, please do. It is such a beautiful scent, perfect for spring or summer. This is a very wearable white floral and on me it's really fresh and sparkling. I have this in the pure parfum and it's worth every penny. I might get this in the EDT as well so I can spritz liberally.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/1/2005 1:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Chanel "Gardenia" Eau de Toilette is an elegant, feminine, light fragrance. I love the creamy scent and vanilla in It. Pop Diva Kylie Minogue wears It. I will defiantly repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2004 6:14:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's been described to death already so I'll be short.

***I love it***


on 11/20/2004 1:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I love gardenias. I love them light and airy; I love them heady and heavy. I love them clean and green; I love them sweet and "pink."
I have smelled this on young women in their twenties, on women in their 50s, on the SA at the store, on 2 of my friends, on myself.
It's not just me.
This smells like patchouli and jasmine and orange.
Where is the Gardenia?


on 11/16/2004 7:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

If you like Gardenia scents than this could quite possibly become your all time favorite, This is now my all around fovorite over any other fragrance i have. To me it does indeed have a definite gardenia scent to it, i don't quite detect any jasmine, but i do detect maybe a little honeysuckle as someone else stated. It is voluptuous, it is warm, it is sublime, It has that certain something, what the french call,.. oh i don't know what. As for the staying power it, (like most other current scents out there)Blows, but i enjoy it so much that i do not mind refreshing during the day, and can only hope that The H.O.C. releases an EDP. (perhaps they have already and i cannot find it). One thing i must point out is until Gardenia i never liked any chanel fragrances, i do like many Chanel products and cosmetics but the fragrances have always had such a strong, sharp odor to my nose. this scent, simply put, is beautiful.

****UPDATE**** I have been wearing this almost daily now and i must say i do detect a bit of jasmine in this now, but only a bit...also for those of you who like a heady gardenia, this is not it. this is a soft light somewhat smooth gardenia, i would not call this a "tropical gardenia"..it is more of a sophisticated, elegant gardenia (not to say tropical cannot be sophisticated or elegant.) in other words it smells exactly like what you would expect a chanel gardenia to smell like.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/9/2004 4:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

On the one day that I wanted to feel and smell and be the most utterly and irresistably feminine and pretty, I reached for this. Yes, this was my choice of fragrance for my wedding day! We were married in Italy in a beautiful villa near the sea, and this scent held it's own in such a beautiful, idllyic setting. It definitely completed the picture. Bellissima!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1359 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Light Blue
1410 Reviews
La Vie Est Belle
156 Reviews
Daisy
544 Reviews
Back to Top