October 21, 2014 | 1199 users online

Fragrances - Estee Lauder - Beyond Paradise



image 0

rated 3.3(408 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 51% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/11/2008 8:54:00 AM More reviews by sherrie09

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I waffle on this one. There are times when its synthetic clean floral "freshness" really suits me. Here's how it strikes me: it has this airy quality that stays high up (it's not an earthy fragrance) - which the sky colored bottle expresses well. The name, Beyond Paradise, is good - not for the "Paradise" part, but for the "Beyond", which is this sense of the expanding horizon. But there are other times I can't take it because it just seems too high and loud and synthetic. My liking for it depends on my mood, whether I'm in the mood for airy, or earthy. As I said, I waffle. It seems to work well on my skin because my husband's comment was, "that smells nice" - without being asked. So I'm giving it 4 lippies because I received a rare unsolicited compliment. Otherwise, I'd give it three, just based on my personal taste. I like it a lot, but I don't looooooooove it. I'm not qualified to comment on the break-through technology involved in its creation, which as a fragrance wearer wouldn't affect my purchase decision anyway. It's an abstract floral fragrance that seems very American to me - in that idealized, breezy, healthy, clean cut, extroverted, radiant Cover Girl way.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/20/2008 10:59:00 PM More reviews by RachelFay81

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I wore this everyday for a year straight, now I have a new love and find myself not wearing it as much since I purchased the second bottle. But this stuff lasts forever and smells great. A very unique smell to me I am sure there are other reviews talking about the exact scent.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/15/2008 10:10:00 AM More reviews by cassibella

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I really, really wanted to like this--I've heard such great reviews and I generally love florals. However, when I tried it I found it was much too strong. One spritz on my wrist overwhelmed me and gave me a headache. I didn't like the scent too much, either--rather than the delicate bouquet I had hoped for, it reminded me more of rotting flowers with a sharp soapy smell. Two lippies because the bottle is pretty and on many people the scent seems to work, but definitely try before you buy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/24/2008 2:31:00 PM More reviews by MissBehaviour

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I'm surprised by the many reviews saying that this is an extremely potent scent. On me it fades very quickly, too quickly for a fragrance in this price category. The scent is floral and feminine and overall quite sweet and lovely, although I don't find it especially complex or interesting. As always with fragrances, it's a good idea to test repeatedly before you buy. I was given this fragrance by my husband, but I wouldn't purchase this on my own.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/18/2008 3:21:00 PM More reviews by Beejoux42

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a strange fragrance. Lucca Turin loves it and describes it as abstract floral - and it certainly is like nothing i have ever experienced before - and, it can be a little overwhelming, apply with care! I got a bottle free on an aeroplane ( my tv screen did not work and they offered me something from the onboard trolley as compensation!) I had two minutes to choose and i went for this because it was new and I had read one good review. I was on my way to Miami and now it always reminds me of South Beach when i wear it. It's a perfume that cheers me up, .feels glamorous and wraps me in tropical sunshine all day.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 6/13/2008 2:44:00 PM More reviews by haddison

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Am I alone in thinking this smells just like the 1980s version of White Shoulders? I smell no jasmine, and not many other flowers either. Not terrible, but soapy and flat. I realize Luca Turin has to say it's fabulous because he is a friend of its creator, Calice Becker, but I'll bet he winces when he does.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/25/2008 11:05:00 AM More reviews by Connie4580

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Tropical, fruity long lasting fragrance. I get honeysuckle, a small bit of jasmine and other florals. Long lasting to say the least. It's not terribly complex or unusual but perfect for a summer day when no statement is needed except to smell pretty.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/21/2008 3:25:00 AM More reviews by ruth7me

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this perfume!!! I've been wearing it for years! It smells a lot like honeysuckle. It's not real strong so I think it's great!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/20/2008 2:43:00 PM More reviews by JaleR

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Heartless, unnatural, highly artificial.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/17/2008 11:07:00 AM More reviews by Nimue76

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

What a big disappointment this perfume was to me!
It did not survive its name at all. I expected a gorgeous, intoxicating flowery fragrance and all I could smell was the usual overwhelming potion made from tons of mixed flowers (with some of them rottening).
Just a pretty bottle, and that's all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No