November 22, 2014 | 1708 users online

Eye Shadow - MAC - Pigment in Old Gold

rated 4.2(167 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 74% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 4/3/2006 2:44:00 AM More reviews by dizzy4tex

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Such a gorgeous color. Subtle and flashy at the same time. I really like the fact that it looks like a peacock feather. Would definately buy again. Looks great on tan skin!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/29/2006 4:44:00 PM More reviews by allierichie

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

THis shade is so beautiful: gold/green/coppery/brown! I always get complments on it whenever i wear it. It really compliments my skin tone, i'm asian and have tanned skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/26/2006 8:03:00 PM More reviews by gitargirl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Not many colors like it on the market, a dark gold with a prominent chartreuse flash. Wonderful smokey eye and pairs perfectly with teal pigment for a great smokey peacock eye (use a blue base and lots of blue-brown pigment.) Would repurchase. Does not, however, make good lipgloss :(

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/23/2006 12:23:00 PM More reviews by Blahble

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Love love love Old Gold. Received as a sample and though the other pigment choices were great, I'm so glad I chose Old GOld. I wasn't sure how it'd turn out on me and when I got it I thought it might be close to Golden Olive but GO is definitely greener. With the first brush stroke of OG I fell in love. Just a bit of it delivers an awesome look and it's very blendable. It's got a slight reddish-brown base with a greenish-gold sheen which is more noticeable than UD's Lounge, the e/s I paired it with, but not tacky. I applied it lightly with the 217 brush which gave great colour payoff and a soft look. Can easily create a combo to take from day to night with Old Gold.

Last note, so far Old Gold is the only colour I love that my husband likes as well (he usually likes me with the fresh, clean look). For ref, I'm an Asian NC35. Will definitely need to buy more!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/11/2006 10:33:00 AM More reviews by xdreax

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I do like this colour but I think I might be a bit too pale to pull it off. I'd advise paler skinned people keep their distance :p

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/13/2006 4:19:00 PM More reviews by LittleGnome

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I have used this pigment quite a bit, but you get so much for the money I don't know if I will ever have to repurchase, since I have the full size. Old Gold flashes a lot of bright chartreuse metallic green on me; in some lights it doesn't look gold anymore, but a transparent honey/amber also. I've used it in the crease, under the lower lid eyeliner when smudged smoke, and as a base under lipgloss. It's really pretty, but I think it probably works better with medium to darker skins. I'm a MAC NC30-35 and I think my natural yellow undertones make this work. I can't see this looking too good on a cool toned person.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/2/2006 2:53:00 PM More reviews by eenie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I think this is one of MAC's most complex pigments. It truly is the color of old gold, old tarnished money. It is a mainly golden brown color that flashes green, bronze, and of course, gold. This is not something that will work for every day wear, but it can look quite stunning. I like to pair this with Golden Lemon pigment and green eyeliners. A photo of my eyes with Old Gold continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/20/2005 5:58:00 PM More reviews by mjlover

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Wow - this is a very cool colour. Def not the 'everyday' (although i'm wearing it at work today) i freaked out when i first put it on my eyes as its very bright but when i stood back it looked pretty amazing. A yellowy gold with a green tinge is how it came up on me. I am wearing a yellow sun dress today and it works really well.

I'm NC 30 with brown eyes and its working! I only have a sample and cant imagine i'd need more as i wouldnt wear it all the time ... will try and get more in a swap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/6/2005 3:51:00 PM More reviews by princessami

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This color is incredibally unique and beautiful to look at. Unfortunately, it makes me look jaundiced when I wear it. I'm a cool PPP with b/g eyes. If you are pale with light eyes, I would skip this one. 4 lippies for the pretty color and wonderful texture, but one off for the fact that this is definitely not a universally flattering shade.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/22/2005 9:22:00 PM More reviews by pure_grace

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've always wanted this pigment! It's such a pretty gold that reflects green in light. There's alot of pigment in there, so the first time I used it, I had pigment fallout :( Like it says, the colour is SUPER pigmented and was very pretty against my asian skin tone. Don't think I'll be repurchasing anytime soon, because it's gonna last me a long time!

Is this review helpful? Yes No