December 22, 2014 | 1814 users online

Eye Primer - BeneFit Cosmetics - Stay Don't Stray

rated 2.9(362 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.9
  • 38% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 2/22/2013 1:03:00 PM More reviews by CarlyLively

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am absolutely in love with this product. It is very pricey, but its worth every penny for me. I not only use it on my eyes before applying shadows but I also use it on any blemish or spots I might have after applying concealer. It stays on all day and helps reduce the appearance of spots. It gives you a flawless look, it doesn't clump. I also applied it before using dollar store bought loose glitter (which for most people I would never recommend using on your eyes) but it made it stick all day.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/17/2013 5:50:00 PM More reviews by CheshireCat88

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I got this as a trail product as i was having difficulties finding a decent primer, and i'm afraid to say its not really that great. After putting it on in the morning i would say it lasts for around 4 hours before creasing starts, and by the end of the day its severe creasing and dull eye shadow.

It goes on very easy and you need only a tiny amount but it turns quite powdery quickly. Though due to its colour it doesn't intefier with eye shadow pigment.

I had real hopes for this but for the price its really no better then an average primer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/17/2013 4:52:00 PM More reviews by mmmaggie

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I would buy this again if they would fix the packaging. I think this would suit a tube and doe foot applicator package perfectly. As far as the primer itself, it is my second favorite after the old Kat Von D primer. This is a little thinner and not as opaque as the Kat Von D primer but still a lot more so than other skin colored liquid eye primers. I prefer it under the eye with a touch of concealer or foundation to hide dark spots. I think this would be my new holy grail if they would just change that packaging over to be more like the primer's sample packaging.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/10/2013 10:28:00 PM More reviews by JubliantUvula

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

The only primer that works for me! This is a bit expensive ($26) but it is a dryer formula and works great! The pump is annoying and always give you too much, but it is well worth it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/9/2013 9:55:00 PM More reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I found this primer to be very drying on my eyes, which is a first for me. I have tried other primers such as Too Faced, Urban Decay, and LORAC. Also, I did not like the applicator it came in since it is unsanitary and you can not control the amount of product that is dispensed. I will not repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 2/7/2013 10:53:00 PM More reviews by EL2016

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I got this in a kit with some other deluxe samples from either Ulta or Sephora, and I have to say that I loved it at first, but it expires so fast! I've had it 4-6 months, and it has separated into some sort of oily substance and pigment. It will not work anymore (I've tried mixing it and they will not mix) and I still have a ton of product left in the bottle. I'm dumbfounded that this product is $30 regularly. At that price, it should work flawlessly for a year.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/21/2013 6:24:00 PM More reviews by DCookiemonster25

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I love this primer...does exactly what it should.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/18/2013 2:53:00 PM More reviews by ruthmcfarlane

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really like this product! I originally bought it because I bought some Barry M looks eye shadow in a really dark blue, and it just fell all down my face every time I went to use it. If I put this on beforehand, my eyeshadow doesn't make a mess of my newly made-up face, and it tends to stay on for much longer. Eventually, yes, I begin to get slight creases on my eyelids and my eyeshadow fades, but I have very oily eyelids and surrounding eye area, so I don't really expect any product to 100% combat that (although if anyone knows of one then please tell me!). The original colour is quite a good match for my skin colour anyway so it's handy as a concealer for red patches/dark circles. The only thing I don't like about it is the fact that the pump squirts out far too much product, no matter how lightly I press it. It's quite expensive, so I don't really like wasting the majority of what comes out, but it's just too much to use in any form unfortunately. Other than that, it's one of my favourite products and I use it most days - I always notice a difference if I forget to!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/15/2013 12:59:00 AM More reviews by Asymetry

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I got this as a free sample from my loose button subscription. I'm actually still using it at the moment. My verdict...The product seems a bit watery for my liking. there are times when it stings my eyelids and times when it doesn't. My eyeshadow and eyeliner application goes on a bit smoother as promised but the guarantee of having no eyeshadow creases wasn't there. After a few hours, my eyelids were obviously oily and the eyeshadow creases were evident. Good thing I got this as a free sample just because I'd be disappointed spending around $30 on this product. Benefit's products are usually a hit or miss for me, and this was definitely a miss. I can only compare it to smashbox's photo lid primer and I'd rather go for smashbox's than this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 1/2/2013 6:08:00 PM More reviews by NYCBeauty99

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I originally tried this when it was only available in one color. That color was too light for me, so I never had the chance to see how effective it was as a primer. When Benefit released this in a darker color, I ran out to get it. The color is perfect, I really loved the idea of a color correcting primer. However, this product is total crap.


When I first used it, I smeared it on like I would UDPP. Then I put my shadow over it. It did not work well at all. I figured it was my fault. I read the instructions carefully and followed them to the letter. I applied the 3 dots and blended. I mades sure to let it set before applying the shadow. The results were that the creasing didn't start quite as early. Still, I had minor creasing after 5 hours and significant creasing after about 7 hours. Overall, this was crap. It's really expensive too. At $26, the needs to do what is is designed to do.

Is this review helpful? Yes No