November 22, 2014 | 1486 users online

Hair - Apple Cider Vinegar for Hair



image 0

rated 4.5(115 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 92% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 5/19/2011 5:59:00 PM More reviews by bluebirdie_ca

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This review is for ACV when used as a scalp toner. The ratio that works for both my face and scalp is 1 part ACV and 4 part distilled water.

I switched to a new hair conditioner with jojoba oil a few months ago when my hair was dry and fuzzy. Though it made my hair look great, after a few weeks I started developing acne on my scalp and neck. It started very gradually, at the time my face acne just started to clear up. When the problem persisted, I stopped the conditioner. But the scalp acne refused to go away, and my scalp was itchy all day long even right after shampoo. I tried a few dandruff shampoo with different ingredients which did not help.

One day when I was mixing my ACV toner for face, I decided to mix a large bottle. Before shampoo, I drizzle a cup of ACV toner on my head and massage for about 1 minute to saturate the scalp, then followed with shampoo. I did not leave the toner on my hair like many people did for fear of the lasting aroma.

When I used ACV toner on my face, it was instant gratification. The fact I left ACV toner on my face for a long time probably helped. When I used the ACV on my scalp as a pre-shampoo toner, I did not feel a big difference immediately because I wash it off with shampoo. Only after a few days of using the ACV scalp toner, my scalp started feeling better, and the number of scalp acne has lessened gradually. I also skipped conditioner now because my hair is softer when I massage the scalp with ACV toner.

If you have scalp acne and would like to try diluted ACV to address that, you may need to be patient. It does take a week or two to see the difference. Fortunately, unlike antibiotics , the ACV toner has little side effect and can be used daily.

When there's a chance, I may try the ACV scalp toner after shampoo as leave-in for like half an hour. I'm sure the result would be much more impressive, if I can handle the smell for that long. Will update after trial.

EDIT 6/20/2011 I've been using ACV toner AFTER shampoo and also like the result. It does not address 100% of my scalp acne and dandruff, but definitely helps. Forgot to note that the ACV toner fades my hair color when I dye my hair dark.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/15/2011 4:44:00 PM More reviews by Greendelirium

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

When i rinse my hair with this (i use about 3 parts water to one part vinegar) after my conditioner it is SOO soft and smooth, like a super deep conditioning treatment. it's much shinier after it dries, too. and so cheap! It's working great for me on my growing out Brazillian Blowout treatment, it softens and silkens it right back up to where it felt right afterwards. HG. and no joke- I use this stuff for EVERYTHING.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/6/2011 2:51:00 PM More reviews by LaceyH

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

i'll admit, the smell sucks, but it goes away as it dries. just, umm, dont get stuck in the rain or you'll smell again!

i use this on my hair every now and then. it neutralizes the hair's ph and closes the folicle, making hair smoother and shinier.

note that you shouldnt use it straight-- i mix it 1 part ACV to 3 parts water, and rinse it through my hair while in the shower.

als you can also mix with water and use as a toner! the acid in the vinegar has the same affect as a glycolic peel, yogurt, etc.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/3/2011 1:43:00 PM More reviews by godpsent

Age: Unknown Skin: Oily, Deep Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Black

HG alert! HG alert!

My recipe is 1 part apple cider vinegar to 3 parts water. Put in a spray bottle and soak hair as final step in your regimen. Leave on at least 15 minutes. Rinse out completely.

Great hair tonic for just about everything:
clarifies!
adds shine!
relieves itchy scalp!
softens!
adds body!

Yes, your hair will smell a bit like vinegar, but if you rinse out completely you won't even notice and no one else will probably. Feel free to add a few drops of your favorite essential oil for extra benefit and to mask vinegar smell. I like lavendar, patchouli and rosemary.

Oh yeah and I have only used the Heinz brand of apple cider vinegar, but I am sure it doesn't matter as long as it's pure ACV.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/30/2011 6:14:00 PM More reviews by nesslee

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

i add 2-3 spoons of apple cider vinegar in 400 ml water and rinse my hair with it. i leave it on. as you sweat the smell comes back, so i prefer to do it in the weekends. but i always add dry lavender and rosemary in the vinegar bottle, so the smell is a little bit less disturbing this way and i get the extra beefits of these herbs (i hope). ACV rinse is really good for itchy scalp, immediately relieving, and thats the main reason i do it. my hair is oily, instead of shampooing too often, i do ACV rinse from time to time. it adds volume too.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/27/2011 1:10:00 PM More reviews by TheBlueOrchid

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I have fairly sensitive skin and it is extremely oily. I've used toners in the past and it seemed to just make my oiliness worse or no change at all. I decided to give the apple cider vinegar a try because its a cheap attempt. And if it doesn't work you can still use the vinegar for cooking! Well at first I put this on with a 50/50 mixture of water/vinegar and it made my face very red and irritated. So I dropped the mixture down to about 1 part vinegar and 3 parts water and it still was a little irritated. But at about 1 part vinegar and 5 parts water it was just right. I've been using this 2 times a day for about 4 days and I have already noticed a difference. My face is a lot less oily throughout the day and a lot softer. I haven't noticed any change in pore size or redness but I'll continue to use and see if that changes. I would recommend this to anyone with sensitive oily skin. Just make sure you dilute it. Only drawback I see is the smell at first but it does go away after it dries.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/22/2011 12:03:00 AM More reviews by summerrain1994

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I am SO glad that I discovered this product here on MUA - I had some sitting in my cupboard and was so happy that I didn't have to spend anything to try something new.
I have used this as a spot treatment on my face and I have gotten so many compliments on my skin! I barely have to wear any foundation and I'm set to go out. The smell is pretty bad (don't inhale it, trust me!) but it goes away once it soaks into your skin.
I tried it once on my hair but I didn't give it much time and I didn't rinse with cold water. Am hoping to try again tomorrow.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/1/2011 2:00:00 AM More reviews by xxsimplysweetxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Nothing will get your hair to shine more than an ACV rinse. It smells HORRIBLE (I haven't tried to mix it with other oils or products) ... but I just breathe through my mouth when I use it. Helps restore the pH of your hair, get rid of residue build-up, and gives a brilliant shine. Not to mention it's dirt cheap and something you probably have on hand anyway.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/10/2010 9:51:00 PM More reviews by NatanYah

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Other Eyes: Brown

ACV is great and has a whole assortment of uses. I try to make sure to always have some on hand. From clarifying hair to detoxing the body, this stuff is a miracle. No-poo: I usually rinse it through my hair with a tablespoon of baking soda, massage in, then rinse with cool water.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/15/2010 1:10:00 PM More reviews by Thena

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

HG hair rinse and tonic!

For years, I have wanted to switch to chemical free (or at least SLS free) shampoos, but I didn't find one until recently. I also wanted to see how good ACV was since I heard so much about it, but I was afraid it would smell. That proved to be moot as I do not use a lot of ACV and the mild smell goes away when my hair is dry.

I have been "no (sham)poo" for over a month now. I actually use an organic, natural shampoo bar from etsy because my roots and hair are naturally too oily to go without soap or cleansing agent right away. I may switch to Baking Soda in the future, but this works for me now.

My basic routine consists of: the shampoo bar, a light rinse, and then 1-2 tablespoons of ACV (premixed in a 250ml bottle with 5 drops Rosemary oil) with a couple of additional drops of Rosemary oil mixed into warm water. The rosemary is great for dark hair and as an all around tonic. Depending on how oily or flaky my hair is at the time, I leave it in for 2-5 minutes and/or add more ACV or rosemary. Then I blast and rinse with cold water (an important step!). Towel and air dry.

If you have dry ends or roots, run or comb some drops of jojoba oil in your hair for shine and moisture.

Results: Beautiful ends, lighter hair and best of all, less flakes and no itchy scalp. Before, I use to get lots of flakes and itchy scalp in winter from the chemical shampoos and conditioners. Any no 'poo routine requires at least 4-6 weeks to settle and yes, your hair will be extra greasy in the first couple of weeks, but experiment and ride it out. Overall, this is much better for my hair, the environment, and my wallet.

For more information on ACV and going no shampoo, try the following websites:
http://www.natural-forces.com/essays/poofree.htm
http://www.apple-cider-vinegar-benefits.com/natural-hair-care-product.html
http://noshampooexperiment.blogspot.com/
http://community.livejournal.com/no_poo/

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No