August 28, 2014 | 1096 users online

Hair - Apple Cider Vinegar



image 0

rated 4.4(113 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 92% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/6/2011 2:51:00 PM More reviews by LaceyH

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

i'll admit, the smell sucks, but it goes away as it dries. just, umm, dont get stuck in the rain or you'll smell again!

i use this on my hair every now and then. it neutralizes the hair's ph and closes the folicle, making hair smoother and shinier.

note that you shouldnt use it straight-- i mix it 1 part ACV to 3 parts water, and rinse it through my hair while in the shower.

als you can also mix with water and use as a toner! the acid in the vinegar has the same affect as a glycolic peel, yogurt, etc.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/3/2011 1:43:00 PM More reviews by godpsent

Age: Unknown Skin: Oily, Deep Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Black

HG alert! HG alert!

My recipe is 1 part apple cider vinegar to 3 parts water. Put in a spray bottle and soak hair as final step in your regimen. Leave on at least 15 minutes. Rinse out completely.

Great hair tonic for just about everything:
clarifies!
adds shine!
relieves itchy scalp!
softens!
adds body!

Yes, your hair will smell a bit like vinegar, but if you rinse out completely you won't even notice and no one else will probably. Feel free to add a few drops of your favorite essential oil for extra benefit and to mask vinegar smell. I like lavendar, patchouli and rosemary.

Oh yeah and I have only used the Heinz brand of apple cider vinegar, but I am sure it doesn't matter as long as it's pure ACV.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/30/2011 6:14:00 PM More reviews by nesslee

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

i add 2-3 spoons of apple cider vinegar in 400 ml water and rinse my hair with it. i leave it on. as you sweat the smell comes back, so i prefer to do it in the weekends. but i always add dry lavender and rosemary in the vinegar bottle, so the smell is a little bit less disturbing this way and i get the extra beefits of these herbs (i hope). ACV rinse is really good for itchy scalp, immediately relieving, and thats the main reason i do it. my hair is oily, instead of shampooing too often, i do ACV rinse from time to time. it adds volume too.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/27/2011 1:10:00 PM More reviews by TheBlueOrchid

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I have fairly sensitive skin and it is extremely oily. I've used toners in the past and it seemed to just make my oiliness worse or no change at all. I decided to give the apple cider vinegar a try because its a cheap attempt. And if it doesn't work you can still use the vinegar for cooking! Well at first I put this on with a 50/50 mixture of water/vinegar and it made my face very red and irritated. So I dropped the mixture down to about 1 part vinegar and 3 parts water and it still was a little irritated. But at about 1 part vinegar and 5 parts water it was just right. I've been using this 2 times a day for about 4 days and I have already noticed a difference. My face is a lot less oily throughout the day and a lot softer. I haven't noticed any change in pore size or redness but I'll continue to use and see if that changes. I would recommend this to anyone with sensitive oily skin. Just make sure you dilute it. Only drawback I see is the smell at first but it does go away after it dries.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/22/2011 12:03:00 AM More reviews by summerrain1994

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I am SO glad that I discovered this product here on MUA - I had some sitting in my cupboard and was so happy that I didn't have to spend anything to try something new.
I have used this as a spot treatment on my face and I have gotten so many compliments on my skin! I barely have to wear any foundation and I'm set to go out. The smell is pretty bad (don't inhale it, trust me!) but it goes away once it soaks into your skin.
I tried it once on my hair but I didn't give it much time and I didn't rinse with cold water. Am hoping to try again tomorrow.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/1/2011 2:00:00 AM More reviews by xxsimplysweetxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Nothing will get your hair to shine more than an ACV rinse. It smells HORRIBLE (I haven't tried to mix it with other oils or products) ... but I just breathe through my mouth when I use it. Helps restore the pH of your hair, get rid of residue build-up, and gives a brilliant shine. Not to mention it's dirt cheap and something you probably have on hand anyway.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/10/2010 9:51:00 PM More reviews by NatanYah

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Other Eyes: Brown

ACV is great and has a whole assortment of uses. I try to make sure to always have some on hand. From clarifying hair to detoxing the body, this stuff is a miracle. No-poo: I usually rinse it through my hair with a tablespoon of baking soda, massage in, then rinse with cool water.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/15/2010 1:10:00 PM More reviews by Thena

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

HG hair rinse and tonic!

For years, I have wanted to switch to chemical free (or at least SLS free) shampoos, but I didn't find one until recently. I also wanted to see how good ACV was since I heard so much about it, but I was afraid it would smell. That proved to be moot as I do not use a lot of ACV and the mild smell goes away when my hair is dry.

I have been "no (sham)poo" for over a month now. I actually use an organic, natural shampoo bar from etsy because my roots and hair are naturally too oily to go without soap or cleansing agent right away. I may switch to Baking Soda in the future, but this works for me now.

My basic routine consists of: the shampoo bar, a light rinse, and then 1-2 tablespoons of ACV (premixed in a 250ml bottle with 5 drops Rosemary oil) with a couple of additional drops of Rosemary oil mixed into warm water. The rosemary is great for dark hair and as an all around tonic. Depending on how oily or flaky my hair is at the time, I leave it in for 2-5 minutes and/or add more ACV or rosemary. Then I blast and rinse with cold water (an important step!). Towel and air dry.

If you have dry ends or roots, run or comb some drops of jojoba oil in your hair for shine and moisture.

Results: Beautiful ends, lighter hair and best of all, less flakes and no itchy scalp. Before, I use to get lots of flakes and itchy scalp in winter from the chemical shampoos and conditioners. Any no 'poo routine requires at least 4-6 weeks to settle and yes, your hair will be extra greasy in the first couple of weeks, but experiment and ride it out. Overall, this is much better for my hair, the environment, and my wallet.

For more information on ACV and going no shampoo, try the following websites:
http://www.natural-forces.com/essays/poofree.htm
http://www.apple-cider-vinegar-benefits.com/natural-hair-care-product.html
http://noshampooexperiment.blogspot.com/
http://community.livejournal.com/no_poo/

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/6/2010 1:29:00 AM More reviews by gracejones

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Love this as a hair rinse, it gives soft, shiny hair and removes gross residue, follow it up with a blast of ice cold water and your hair will shine shine shine!

It is the natural stuff that always seems to work best...

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/4/2010 12:26:00 PM More reviews by Jinhee

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Other, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Been going through seasonal, harmonal stuff that is making my dry skin tight and itchy. Even my scalp is effected, which translates to bumpy flaky scalp that is itchy and just plain gross. Hair is flat and listless even with my many oil rinses. I need to bring out my half gallon of braggs once more. Dilute with water, usually 1:3 ratio and I let dry without rinsing off after regular shampooing. Works to balance ph level and works in four to five rinses. Dried out the little bumps and my fingers just feel soft clean skin and hair. Beat over priced, over medicated shampoos for dandruff and itchy skin any day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No