October 22, 2014 | 1779 users online

Highlighters - BeneFit Cosmetics - High Beam [DISCONTINUED]

rated 4.1(1348 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 73% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    This product has been discontinued

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/1/2008 2:00:00 AM More reviews by my_vanity_is_a_mess

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

    wonderful highlighter! beautiful icy pink color that looks like such a natural glow on my cool toned skin. It doesn't highlight my pores (unlike mac msf's) which is great to me, it's also not glittery. Looks gorgeous over pink blushes. Also looks great on the cupids bow and tearducts/brow highlight.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/28/2008 9:32:00 PM More reviews by insanity89

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Green

    great highlighter. not too shimmery, not too flashy. very subtle but noticeable. great highlighter. i apply with my fingers. i use it under my eyebrows to highlight and sometimes a bit above my blush. very natural looking. great product.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 8/25/2008 11:26:00 AM More reviews by stefx87x

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

    This product illuminates your skin complexion, I tend to wear it on my cheeks under make-up and it gives my skin a nice glow, makes you look really healthy but best not to wear to much as it can look really shiny on the skin esp in Photos. Good Product though and lasts long as you only need to put a small amount on at a time

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/19/2008 10:06:00 AM More reviews by vanessa713

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

    I actually expected not to like this, but it's suprisingly good! Like all Benefit items, it comes at a price, and in Highbeams case it is a hefty 15.50 available from Debenhams Boots, or Selfridges.


    Highbeam comes in a small glass bottle similar to that of a nail polish, though rounder and fatter in appearance. It is a clear glass through which you can see the pink pearl liquid. It looks like a sugar pink pearlised nail varnish and there is a brush attached to the lid which picks up a desired amount of the Highbeam ready for using. The liquid is a good consistency; it is not thin, runny, or ineffective. It stays put, and it feels silky on the skin. You can apply the Highbeam wherever you want the highlighting effect. I usually just apply it to my brow bone as a highlight, blending it in with my fingertips. It catches the light nicely and gives a very pretty sheen, and healthy glow there. I use quite a lot on my brow bone or else it doesn't show up too well on my tanned olive skin, so when I've applied a bit it looks quite light in colour & fairly shimmery. It does look suprisingly natural though, and a small dot at the corner of your eye where your tearducts are looks really pretty and opens up the eye area.


    Highbeam basically lasts all day, or night, and it doesn't wear off or fade. What the highbeam does is it gives the skin a lovely pink silvery pearlised shimmer in the areas you choose to put it on. It looks sexy and illuminates your complexion. It also acts as a face shaper, and you can have fun trying out what effect suits your particular face shape. It finishes off your make up to give it a stylised look. Highbeam catches the light and it will draw the eye there with its shimmering qualities. It really is something special, and once you have tried it you will see what I mean. It does last a long time and you will find that a little of this wonderful product does go a long long way.


    Basically I can't recommend it enough. Benefit does a similar product called moonbeam which I also have, designed for a darker or olive complexion. I prefer Moon Beam, but Highbeam is suitable for all skin types and it gets 4 lippies from me (had to knock off one for the price).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 on 8/17/2008 8:22:00 PM More reviews by milkteef

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    comes with a crappy ass brush like benetint , don't use it . dab the product from the brush onto the fingers and dot several times in lines where you want the skin highlighted , then dab the fingers (never rub !! it will look obvious) - the best and most natural way i find . i feel it is very shimmery and it is so so easy to put too much on at one time . maybe more for night-time than day , although i haven't tried moon beam yet . maybe the product would better suit a squeezy tube although it is quite runny while it's gloopy , or a dispenser nozzle could help but that would be really messy and probably even more expensive . don't think i would buy it again , maybe ask for it for a present but nowhere near a HG for me .

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 8/17/2008 2:42:00 PM More reviews by my_username

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Green

    I love highlighting, I think it makes such a huge difference on people's faces...it really takes a nice makeup look to the next level and makes everyone look awesome. This is a good colour for fair to medium skin tones, anyone really tan might look a little bit too porn star-ish with this pale of a highlight on their face, but hey if that's what you want then go for it. I like to dab it on my cheekbones and inner corners of my eyes after my cream or liquid foundation and then powder over it so that it looks more like a natural glow from within. For a more dramatic look during the evening, I like to top it off with a little bit of Miss Popularity. That combo lasts even through dancing and sweating, so at 4 am you still look fresh. What more could you want?

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 8/16/2008 11:27:00 PM More reviews by evarose

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

    Beautiful! This really works on fair-skin tones *raises hand*. The pearly pink enhances your complexion and the shimmer is soooo slight, it's perfect! No chucky glitter that makes you look like you just walked out of a kindergarden classroom ;p Just a little dab does the trick... dab it on the top of the cheekbone around the eye, kinda in a "C" shape. Add to the inner corners of the eye for a little brightening or some on the cupid's bow! This is the perfect finish, adds that extra little something. Cute packaging... who would've thought from BeneFit ;D Oh, and I think this will last for a verrrry long time seeing as it takes so little to get the desired effect. I'm sold.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 8/6/2008 1:24:00 PM More reviews by ljteich

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I think this is the best highlighter out there (and Ive tried them all!). I use this over Moon Beam (which I apply to my entire face), to highlight my cheekbones and browbone. I also use it to draw a thin line right above the lip line in my cupid's bow, which makes my lips look really plush and full.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 8/6/2008 9:00:00 AM More reviews by unloveable82

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I have been using this for several years and i adore it. its so versatile, i use it for highlighting, adding a beautiful shimmer to my foundation. sometimes i dab it on over my lipgloss in the center to make lips look fuller, or over my blush for a dewy glow, a small amount mixed in with my concealer really wakes up my face. it lasts me quite awhile, as it is best used sparingly so as not to end up looking 'sparkly' definently a favorite.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 8/4/2008 12:25:00 PM More reviews by Tigerloo

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

    I really love how High Beam awakens my not so perfect skin. I apply it under foundation, mix it with my foundation or tinted moisturizer or apply it on top of my foundation. It is not obvious glitter but imparts a nice glow. The only downside(s)-it seems to always be sold out and the price. Much better than Revlon's Skinlights in Natural Glow(discontinued) which is a back-up for me. I really don't mind the bottle and the cutsey nail polish like brush. I would buy again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No