July 25, 2014 | 1525 users online

Fragrances - Chanel - No.5

rated 3.5(920 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 57% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 2/4/2004 10:50:00 PM More reviews by jungirl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

If you know how to wear it, it's one of the sexiest scents ever created. The jasmine and ylang-ylang are the only flowers I can single out, but the composition seems to suggest that they crafted an entirely new species of flower; it smells almost natural and obviously floral, but completely unlike any flower I've ever smelled. Like a hybrid of jasmine and French-maid.

The EDT is not long wearing, but it's very potent stuff. You have to be careful not to wear too much; it floats far above the skin and it's easy to overdo it. It smells somewhat like baby powder and jasmine, though not too sweet, and extremely dry and sparkling. For the first couple hours itís so innocent it's indecent, like putting a curvy, sexy, sophisticated French woman in pigtails. Pornography so blatant as to disarm, but so subtle that no one could accuse you of being aware of it. The last hour of wear is a ghost of the initial effect, but with a sweeter, darker, ambery and still dry but more skin-like scent. Very comfortable and soft, and still obscenely innocent. The EDT seems to simply drift from top notes to base notes with no real middle notes to speak of.

The parfum is much like the base-notes of the EDT, though it wears for about eight hours on my skin, and smells little less dry. Similar effect, though not as extreme, and as with most parfums, not nearly as invasive, so you can get away with it where overt scents may not be tolerated.

The EDP can be extremely harsh and tinny at first, though in hot, muggy weather, that initial tinnyness fades very quickly and from there it acts more like the EDT though a lot longer lasting.

If you wear this one with the right brand of unapologetic, joyful nanchalants, it's simply the sexiest statement. This has been my signature fragrance from the time I first started to wear perfume.




3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/4/2004 1:59:00 AM More reviews by perfumelife

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I have it because it is a classic. I love its top note but then I am bored.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/3/2004 2:19:00 AM More reviews by LipstickChick

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

One of my HG perfumes. I adore this scent. It's very difficult to describe but to me it smells classic and beautiful. I can smell it a mile away and the staying power is the best! I have been using it for years and always.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/31/2004 3:47:00 PM More reviews by Joanie41

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I don't wear No.5, but I love it. It's been my mother's scent forever, and when I'm missing her, I smell the testers at the dept store and it's like she's right there next to me. It's wonderful to associate such a classic scent with someone I love.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/30/2004 9:08:00 AM More reviews by TnGrl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I agree with the last reviewer - this is a classic fragrance that should be in everyone's collection.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/27/2004 5:55:00 PM More reviews by cjenn

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love the classic packaging and scent of this perfume which is well.... a classic. Not as flowery or oriental as I usually prefer, but has rich notes of green, neroli, vetiver and other 1930s type scents. This fragrance always evokes memories and feelings, everyone has a Chanel No. 5 memory which brings them back in time. A very nice scent that I will wear for years to come.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/27/2004 1:07:00 PM More reviews by brunette_chic

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this. It's so Marilyn Monroe. My Granny used to wear it in the 50s but, that hasn't stopped me it's flirthy and fun and wonderful if you're on a date and want to make a good impression. Dab some on your pulse points and enjoy the aroma :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/21/2004 6:30:00 PM More reviews by fairylis

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite scent in the world! So soft, beautiful, romantic, glamorous..... I can totally live in this! But whenever my friends tell me that their moms wear it too, that just kills me. I don't want to smell like someone's mom! The problem is that this fragrance is way too popular.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/21/2004 12:12:00 PM More reviews by pr0cessa

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

wow, I love this. Not old, dated, powdery or stuffy to me at all. It smells classy and perfect for any occasion.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/20/2004 6:44:00 PM More reviews by SelinaKyle

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I remember reading somewhere that Coco Chanel designed #5 to blend with and complement the smell of cigarette smoke because she was a chain smoker herself. Maybe that is the trick to making this scent smell nice, puff on a pak of smokes first.
This scent makes me want to throw up, seriously.

Is this review helpful? Yes No