April 20, 2014 | 1589 users online

Fragrances - Chanel - No.5

rated 3.5(912 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 57% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/10/2004 2:49:00 PM More reviews by ayala

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

No. 5 has become an institution – and as such it is sometimes hard to actually enjoy it as a perfume.
However, a close look at the genius construction of the Parfum Extrait reveals a harmony that deserves more attention besides being a classic or a trend setter.

It is actually a work of art in the same way that Chanel’s fashion design has reached the heights of being an art form and at the same a concrete, useful piece of clothing.
To prove so, one must re-think it without being bound to olfactory memories and collective subconscious schemes that evolved around this perfume in the last 8 decades or so of its existence (i.e. the first perfume-fashion association; confident business women in pinstripe suits, Marilyn Monroe’s bedtime fragrance, etc. etc.).

A woman should wear No. 5 as if it was created for her alone, and she was the first woman on earth to wear it.

No. 5 is a truly feminine perfume, and is not bound to anything else but pure feminine beauty. It contains flowers, but does not smell quite like a flower garden. I believe Ernest Beaux definitely fulfilled Chanel’s dream of creating a perfume that will help women to smell like themselves, not like a flowers.

To my nose, No. 5 smells sweet and ambery, and is both sensual and seductive in a subtle and sophisticated way. The most dominant accord that comes forward on my particular skin is that of ylang ylang, amber and civet. It radiates a feminine warmth that when worn with confidence can be highly appreciated and enjoyed by both the woman who wears it and the people that are allowed to be close enough to smell her…

Top: Aldehydes, Bergamot, Rosewood, Neroli
Heart; Ylang ylang, Rose, Jasmine
Base: Amber, Civet, Sandalwood, Vetiver

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/8/2004 4:47:00 AM More reviews by bairn

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

How could one possibly write an unbiased review of Chanel No.5? It's the fragrance we all know, have a memory of, or at least a faint recollection. The theme frequently used and abused in various replicas and on various people. Like most of us, I know the theory behind it but find it hard to digest...

A gift from a person who cared deeply, this was (predictably) my first grown-up fragrance. I didn't give it much thought at the time, just wore it. It was the positive reaction to this scent from people around me that first spurred my interest in popular fragrances - the nature and downright charm of the dreaded "hype".

This magic mix of aldehydes still plays on my imagination. The perfume and EDP both breathe with my skin like being fuelled by each other's potency. To me and on me, it's a slightly soapy scent with rich development. Enshrouded in the initial burst of bold synthetics there's something in the background that whispers abstract roses and vetiver, a pinch of comforting cookie sweetness and sensual grandiosity. Yet I give this a four. Not because the EDT version is more transparent, but because I don't know what it would smell like if somebody took its great history and my own memories away - it's just overburdened by the past. continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/4/2004 10:50:00 PM More reviews by jungirl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

If you know how to wear it, it's one of the sexiest scents ever created. The jasmine and ylang-ylang are the only flowers I can single out, but the composition seems to suggest that they crafted an entirely new species of flower; it smells almost natural and obviously floral, but completely unlike any flower I've ever smelled. Like a hybrid of jasmine and French-maid.

The EDT is not long wearing, but it's very potent stuff. You have to be careful not to wear too much; it floats far above the skin and it's easy to overdo it. It smells somewhat like baby powder and jasmine, though not too sweet, and extremely dry and sparkling. For the first couple hours it’s so innocent it's indecent, like putting a curvy, sexy, sophisticated French woman in pigtails. Pornography so blatant as to disarm, but so subtle that no one could accuse you of being aware of it. The last hour of wear is a ghost of the initial effect, but with a sweeter, darker, ambery and still dry but more skin-like scent. Very comfortable and soft, and still obscenely innocent. The EDT seems to simply drift from top notes to base notes with no real middle notes to speak of.

The parfum is much like the base-notes of the EDT, though it wears for about eight hours on my skin, and smells little less dry. Similar effect, though not as extreme, and as with most parfums, not nearly as invasive, so you can get away with it where overt scents may not be tolerated.

The EDP can be extremely harsh and tinny at first, though in hot, muggy weather, that initial tinnyness fades very quickly and from there it acts more like the EDT though a lot longer lasting.

If you wear this one with the right brand of unapologetic, joyful nanchalants, it's simply the sexiest statement. This has been my signature fragrance from the time I first started to wear perfume.




3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/4/2004 1:59:00 AM More reviews by perfumelife

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I have it because it is a classic. I love its top note but then I am bored.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/3/2004 2:19:00 AM More reviews by LipstickChick

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

One of my HG perfumes. I adore this scent. It's very difficult to describe but to me it smells classic and beautiful. I can smell it a mile away and the staying power is the best! I have been using it for years and always.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/31/2004 3:47:00 PM More reviews by Joanie41

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I don't wear No.5, but I love it. It's been my mother's scent forever, and when I'm missing her, I smell the testers at the dept store and it's like she's right there next to me. It's wonderful to associate such a classic scent with someone I love.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/30/2004 9:08:00 AM More reviews by TnGrl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I agree with the last reviewer - this is a classic fragrance that should be in everyone's collection.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/27/2004 5:55:00 PM More reviews by cjenn

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love the classic packaging and scent of this perfume which is well.... a classic. Not as flowery or oriental as I usually prefer, but has rich notes of green, neroli, vetiver and other 1930s type scents. This fragrance always evokes memories and feelings, everyone has a Chanel No. 5 memory which brings them back in time. A very nice scent that I will wear for years to come.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/27/2004 1:07:00 PM More reviews by brunette_chic

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this. It's so Marilyn Monroe. My Granny used to wear it in the 50s but, that hasn't stopped me it's flirthy and fun and wonderful if you're on a date and want to make a good impression. Dab some on your pulse points and enjoy the aroma :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/21/2004 6:30:00 PM More reviews by fairylis

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite scent in the world! So soft, beautiful, romantic, glamorous..... I can totally live in this! But whenever my friends tell me that their moms wear it too, that just kills me. I don't want to smell like someone's mom! The problem is that this fragrance is way too popular.

Is this review helpful? Yes No