July 31, 2014 | 1064 users online

Makeup Brushes - MAC - #187 Duo Fiber Face Brush (Stippling, Skunk Brush)

rated 4.5(1290 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 82% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 12/16/2008 3:46:00 PM More reviews by StrawberryJuice

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I had this for a little over a year and I use it every day now. I first bought it for my mineralize satinfinish foundation (ended up returning that because it broke me out), so it was sitting for about a month until I used it for my pigmented blushes. I recently started to use cream/liquid foundation again, now that winter is here, and I pulled this out again. I squirt some on the top of my hands (sometimes mixed with little lotion) and either dab the brush in and dab it on my face, or dab the foundation all over my face and use the brush to stipple or blend in circular motions to blend it out. Gives a smoothed out finish. The brush is so soft it doesn't scratch any part of my face at all. Remember to wash it at least every couple days to minimize bacterial growth on the brushes. I use the Giovanni clarifying/hydrating shampoo (I suppose any gentle shampoo or facial cleansers without stuff like salicylic acid, oils, etc. will do), or the makeup brush cleanser from MAC. I dry it by shaking it out, then using a clean towel to squeeze out excess water. Then I hang it on a hanger in my closet using the tape used at the hospital. The next day it is ready to use. This works for me (same with other brushes) and you can give it a try. There is occasional loose bits of hair once in a while and it's a nuisance to pick off my sticky foundation-applied face, but I think it's due to my own fault with the rough washing I do. Expensive, but worth it. Btw, The ones that come in sets seem to feel a bit different.. more stiff plastic-y?

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/14/2008 4:10:00 PM More reviews by XJanX

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

wow what i can say about this product?? its just amazing !! i got in a gift set which ive recently purchased and thought was a bargain and ive never had so many compliments on my skin and makup in my life !!! every client is commenting on it !! i use this for powder and to top up powder throughout the day !!! a must have ladies !!! fabulous !!! xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/14/2008 11:56:00 AM More reviews by nordhimmel

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

Well what more can I write that hasn't already been said, aside from the fact that this is probably the greatest thing to happen to makeup since lipstick! If you make one 'investment' in your makeup collection this year, make it be this brush. It's super expensive, but worth every penny and more. This has made even sub-par foundations useable, which means that you can actually dig through your makeup collection and use up some of those oldies that didn't suit you the first time around. I'm truly convinced that by using this brush, any foundation will look great on your skin. It's great for applying blush as well. It's very easy to wash and mine has not shed too much. I really don't like MAC makeup in general, but thanks to the lovely ladies on this website, I convinced myself to purchase this little gem and am so glad I did. If you want a product to ride off into the sunset with, this is absolutely it. A must have!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/12/2008 5:20:00 PM More reviews by obzessd

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was dubious of the hype, even with the nearly unanimously great reviews, b/c I don't buy into the MAC mania on MUA. Plus I am not one of those persons that likes to spend a ton of $ on brushes. But in the end, I couldn't resist all the raves, and they were right: this brush is awesome. I started using it for highly pigmented blushes, and it was great -- the only way I found to use blushes like NARS Dolce Vita, etc. It was like I had bought a bunch of new blushes b/c I started using all the pigmented ones I could never quite apply right before, haha. When I was finally at peace with washing the brush, I did so and then moved onto foundation -- and it ROCKS at that too! I just squeezed some foundation into my palm, dipped the bristles and swirled, and then started stippling (gently dotting) over my face. Amazing! It gives great but somehow natural coverage with no weird lines or streaks or uneven application, and you don't use much product at all! I would definitely buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/10/2008 1:24:00 PM More reviews by Iammelody

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I use this mainly for my MUFE F&B foundation. I refuse to use anything else to apply it. It gives a quick, flawless and seamless application. This allows you to use less product, but get equally good results. I put just a little bit on my brush, dab it onto my skin then blend in a circular motion. Perfect everytime. :) I'm not too sure how I did without this before! I'm considering purchasing a 2nd one to use for blush.
I've had a bit of shedding with this, but that will happen with any brush, no matter how much you paid for it. I've used and abused it, and still no signs of real damage.
Its well worth the money, and a good investment.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/7/2008 8:27:00 PM More reviews by bonita29

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is an awesome brush I know it is multi-purpose but I only use it for blush, making my cheeks very nice and natural. Highly recommend and get the hype.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/5/2008 12:17:00 PM More reviews by itsgail

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This was my first ever MAC Brush purchase, and it singlehandedly convinced me of the power of brushes. Needless to say, my brush collection exploded after this realisation, and I have also accepted that MAC make the best brushes for the best value. This in particular though, is an incredible innovation and MAC deserve the highest of praise.

I use EL DW which I love more than anything; I used to apply it stippling with my fingers and found it was perfectly fine. Then along came Koren from Youtube and he is so nice, he advises us all on must-have brushes and he did a wonderful demonstration of how the 187 makes a tangible difference. After much hesitation, I decided to invest 28 in a brush.

OK now I've been using it every day with my DW and it's so pleasant to use. It's soft, it does its job fantastically and it's QUICK! The other day my brush was dirty (FYI I clean it after every application with clinique's brush cleanser) so I used my fingers. OMG Did I really used to do that????? The difference was worlds apart: firstly, it took ages longer to blend it out properly, secondly I used more product, and thirdly, I just didn't like using my fingers on my face anymore. Once you get this, you won't believe you survived without it so long. And by the way, some people say you don't get full coverage with this but that is not true at all, you can layer it up easily. I don't use this for concealer or blusher or msfs or powders because I prefer to keep it solely for fdtn. I love it though and never regret the purchase. I would buy it again if I lost it, but I'm hoping it lasts years as people always insist MAC Brushes do...

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/4/2008 1:27:00 PM More reviews by magginine

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Amazing multi-purpose brush. Perfect for bronzer or blush application, for that airbrushed look. To control how intense the pigment is from your product. Great for liquid foundation application. This is the best thing since sliced bread. If i lost mine, I'd run out and get another lightning quick.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/1/2008 8:12:00 PM More reviews by sleepygirl7tt

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

So who pays $50 on a set of four brushes?Me!
I went to Macy's to get my first stipplig brush. I made sure to ask if I could get my money back befor buying the set of brushes.
Came home and decided to give it a shot to see what all the hype was really about.Really, how could a brush make a difference?
Well t did. The proof is int he fact that my husband actually said(without knowing about my purchase :) : I see you're finally getting htis make up thing right huh?
He knew I had on makeup but it didnt rest on my face the way it usually does.
I have minor acne but I am caught in the viscious cycle of not beingable to give up the make up because of the hyperpigmentations marks I have.
This stippling brush is worth every dollar spent. The results are evident. I am a saver, not a spende but this has to be one of the best purchases i ever made.
The brush set included a Compact foundation brush, concealer brush and a blush brush but the stippling brush was the real deal for me..
Just buy it.Practice and never look back!:)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/30/2008 9:30:00 AM More reviews by chimera59

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

I just got this brush last week after lemming it for almost four years. This brush is everything that it is hyped to be. I am extremely pale, and have always had a hard time with blending blush-it looks too harsh and tends to "sit" on top of my skin. This brush blends powder blush seamlessly and naturally with only a few swipes. So far, I have also used this with cream blush, which I also thought always looked unnaturally blended on me, and now looks amazing. I have yet to try this with foundation. This is the best brush purchase I have ever made, and I highly recommend this brush to anyone who wants a "professional" makeup application. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No