November 23, 2014 | 2170 users online

Makeup Brushes - MAC - #187 Duo Fiber Face Brush (Stippling, Skunk Brush)

rated 4.5(1294 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 82% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 12/24/2008 4:01:00 PM More reviews by shazi

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

It took me awhile to figure out this brush, but now that I have I'm not sure how I lived without it. At first, I had a hard time using this for foundation -- it seemed to floppy to apply a liquid. I think I was trying to brush it on, instead of stippling it. For me, it works best when I dip the brush in the foundation, and then gently dap it onto my face. When it is mostly absorbed, I press a little harder in small circular motions to blend it all in. Foundation looks natural, but still gives good converage. I used to hate liquid foundation until I tried this brush -- it really feels like I have nothing on my face. I also use this to apply loose powder to set. This is really a fantastic brush.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/24/2008 2:30:00 PM More reviews by Stephie2705

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Oh my god, how did I live without this product?! I have just started investing in some MAC brushes - and actually purchased this to apply blush. However, after playing with it, I found out that this is my HG foundation brush! I always found foundation brushes a bit of a gimmick, and they never really made much of a difference to my face (as opposed to using my fingers to apply). But oh my! My foundation looks airbrushed! I use it with my Clinique foundation, which gives me the most glowing and flawless complexion!

Can't live without brush - for sure!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/21/2008 11:20:00 PM More reviews by imbrys

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This brush is a MUST HAVE. It applies moisturizer, primer and liquid foundation beautifully. You just buff products onto the skin and it blends like a dream. The best thing about this brush is that I use it to apply my blush as well, and I find it alot easier to use than a blush brush. I think it works better than the 190 brush especially since the 190 can tug against the skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/21/2008 8:31:00 AM More reviews by sh3lby70

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I cannot live without this brush for applying liquid foundation - flawless, airbrushed skin. What more could you ask for? A must-have for your make up bag!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/19/2008 7:54:00 PM More reviews by plussize1

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

i have a lot of brushes but if i was stranded somewhere i would want this one with me and the 217 blending brush

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/16/2008 3:46:00 PM More reviews by StrawberryJuice

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I had this for a little over a year and I use it every day now. I first bought it for my mineralize satinfinish foundation (ended up returning that because it broke me out), so it was sitting for about a month until I used it for my pigmented blushes. I recently started to use cream/liquid foundation again, now that winter is here, and I pulled this out again. I squirt some on the top of my hands (sometimes mixed with little lotion) and either dab the brush in and dab it on my face, or dab the foundation all over my face and use the brush to stipple or blend in circular motions to blend it out. Gives a smoothed out finish. The brush is so soft it doesn't scratch any part of my face at all. Remember to wash it at least every couple days to minimize bacterial growth on the brushes. I use the Giovanni clarifying/hydrating shampoo (I suppose any gentle shampoo or facial cleansers without stuff like salicylic acid, oils, etc. will do), or the makeup brush cleanser from MAC. I dry it by shaking it out, then using a clean towel to squeeze out excess water. Then I hang it on a hanger in my closet using the tape used at the hospital. The next day it is ready to use. This works for me (same with other brushes) and you can give it a try. There is occasional loose bits of hair once in a while and it's a nuisance to pick off my sticky foundation-applied face, but I think it's due to my own fault with the rough washing I do. Expensive, but worth it. Btw, The ones that come in sets seem to feel a bit different.. more stiff plastic-y?

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/14/2008 4:10:00 PM More reviews by XJanX

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

wow what i can say about this product?? its just amazing !! i got in a gift set which ive recently purchased and thought was a bargain and ive never had so many compliments on my skin and makup in my life !!! every client is commenting on it !! i use this for powder and to top up powder throughout the day !!! a must have ladies !!! fabulous !!! xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/14/2008 11:56:00 AM More reviews by nordhimmel

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

Well what more can I write that hasn't already been said, aside from the fact that this is probably the greatest thing to happen to makeup since lipstick! If you make one 'investment' in your makeup collection this year, make it be this brush. It's super expensive, but worth every penny and more. This has made even sub-par foundations useable, which means that you can actually dig through your makeup collection and use up some of those oldies that didn't suit you the first time around. I'm truly convinced that by using this brush, any foundation will look great on your skin. It's great for applying blush as well. It's very easy to wash and mine has not shed too much. I really don't like MAC makeup in general, but thanks to the lovely ladies on this website, I convinced myself to purchase this little gem and am so glad I did. If you want a product to ride off into the sunset with, this is absolutely it. A must have!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/12/2008 5:20:00 PM More reviews by obzessd

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was dubious of the hype, even with the nearly unanimously great reviews, b/c I don't buy into the MAC mania on MUA. Plus I am not one of those persons that likes to spend a ton of $ on brushes. But in the end, I couldn't resist all the raves, and they were right: this brush is awesome. I started using it for highly pigmented blushes, and it was great -- the only way I found to use blushes like NARS Dolce Vita, etc. It was like I had bought a bunch of new blushes b/c I started using all the pigmented ones I could never quite apply right before, haha. When I was finally at peace with washing the brush, I did so and then moved onto foundation -- and it ROCKS at that too! I just squeezed some foundation into my palm, dipped the bristles and swirled, and then started stippling (gently dotting) over my face. Amazing! It gives great but somehow natural coverage with no weird lines or streaks or uneven application, and you don't use much product at all! I would definitely buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/10/2008 1:24:00 PM More reviews by Iammelody

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I use this mainly for my MUFE F&B foundation. I refuse to use anything else to apply it. It gives a quick, flawless and seamless application. This allows you to use less product, but get equally good results. I put just a little bit on my brush, dab it onto my skin then blend in a circular motion. Perfect everytime. :) I'm not too sure how I did without this before! I'm considering purchasing a 2nd one to use for blush.
I've had a bit of shedding with this, but that will happen with any brush, no matter how much you paid for it. I've used and abused it, and still no signs of real damage.
Its well worth the money, and a good investment.

Is this review helpful? Yes No