September 18, 2014 | 1804 users online

Liquid - MAC - Pro Longwear Foundation

rated 3.8(876 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/26/2010 10:27:00 PM More reviews by tsaraya29

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Brown

HG status. One of the best foundation purchases I have made. And I was very leery about trying MAC liquid again, because the studio fix liquid seemed to break me out. I've been wearing this for 2 weeks now with no irritation. Coverage is adequate, although I don't have a lot of blemishes or scars; my main concern is even coverage for discoloration. This seems buildable, but I wouldn't recommend applying more than 2 pumps.
I use this in NC50 along with the Pro Longwear concealer in NC45. Like many women of color, the outer area of my face ( forehead and chin) are a little darker than my nose/eye/cheek area. So I apply the concealer first under eye and a little on my upper cheeks using my MAC 188 stipple brush, and finish with 1-2 pumps of foundation applied with the MAC 187 stipple. PERFECT finish that does seem to last all day. IMO this is comparable to MUFE HD foundation but without the steep price tag. Pump is also a plus. Will definitely look forward to repurchasing.
Edited to add: For an extra oommph, I finish with a very light application of MAC mineralize in dark. Absolutly gorgeous. This foundation is definitely HG.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/26/2010 9:28:00 PM More reviews by babiineni

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Black

HG foundation!!! i have tried every Mac foundation and this is not only my favorite mac foundation but my favorite overall. Stays on all day stays matte great coverage and looks natural!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/26/2010 8:47:00 PM More reviews by jenyang10

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

I decided to grab a sample first as ive been discouraged by MAC foundations in the past. Day 3 and so far im loving it. I took one point away from the overall rating because although it stays on all day...it definately feels like im wearing loads of make up even when ive only put on a pumps worth.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/26/2010 1:42:00 PM More reviews by Makeupismyaddiction

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I give this a 4.5. I love this foundation. I have been using double wear and it is very comparable. It lasts all day but it wasnt drying like el dw. It didnt completely cover some acne scars but thats what concealer is for. Im beyond impressed. I love riding motorcycles where i have a full face helmet on. When i got off i asked my boyfriend what was messed up (usually my makeup is wack lol) and he said nothing it looks the same. Never liked MAC foundation until now.

UPDATE: Used for a week now, It is buildable so I am able to cover everything and lasts all day. My skin looks much better using this foundation too. Going to change it to 5 rating.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/26/2010 1:30:00 PM More reviews by marippe

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

i am not new to mac, but new to their face products. i'm so glad i bought this product (in NC15) ~ it is by far the best foundation i've ever used. one to two pumps cover my entire face and neckline, blends evenly and effortlessly, and leaves my skin matte. provides me with really good coverage and evens out redness in my skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/26/2010 3:35:00 AM More reviews by pinkbrush

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I had high expectations for this foundation after reading everyone's glowing reviews but yes, it is that good. I bought it in NC15, which is slightly less yellow than the same shade in Studio Fix Fluid. It feels less thick than Studio Fix Fluid and is a good transition foundation if you like light foundations in the summer and want something with better coverage for the fall/winter. It feels nice, goes on matte, stays on your face, no transfer. I have dry skin, so I was worried this would show my dryness more, but no it's perfectly fine. I apply it with the Sigma f80 stippling brush, only use one pump, you don't need to set it, lovely finish. Love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/26/2010 3:04:00 AM More reviews by Hairnova

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Overall rating is 5* because this is the best feeling foundation ever. It feels like I have nothing on my skin while providing buildable coverage. I love the way this foundation feels... hands down the most natural foundation ever. Its not oil based but silicone based according to MAC MUA. No oils so my t-zone stayed oil free and lasted all day. I really would like to dock it a star based on color matching. The color range available is quite limited and I am having to mix NC 45 and NC 50 to achieve my perfect match which sucks but oh well...I still love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 9/26/2010 12:20:00 AM More reviews by Victoiresecret

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I must be the minority, but I really don't like this foundation. No matter how I apply it, it looks cakey and it's really hard to blend! Maybe I'm not applying it right (I just use a foundation brush) but it looks so heavy and awful!! I like studio fix so much more since it looks amazing on me but that breaks me out. this doesn't seem to break me out but I really don't like the look. It does last quite a while, but as the day goes one, it looks more and more heavy. I'm scared that this is ruining my skin! I'm going back to my HG Maybelline dream liquid mousse since that one gives perfect coverage, applies beautifully with your fingers and it's cheap! Though it doesn't last as long, I'd rather reapply a beautiful foundation than have a cakey one stay on all day. I gave this 3 lippies though because it didn't break me out, the color was good, it lasted and I'm hoping that it's my application that's the problem and not the foundation itself. If anyone has a really good way of applying this, please please please message me! thank you!

UPDATE: My rating stays at 3 lippies but I've found that this foundation doesn't look as awful as I thought it did. I applied it with a different foundation brush and put tiny bits on and blended super fast. It's so hard to blend and I have to drag at my face (which can't be good for my skin) to get it to blend! I wouldn't say it dries fast though because it's very sticky and tacky, making it impossible to apply concealer to the undereye area without pulling and tugging. Also, even after all that work, the results do not look as nice as SFF. The product is impossible to wash out of the brush since it seems to glue the bristles together even when I'm washing my brushes every day with the harshes soaps I can find, double washing it. The pump is ok, but honestly, I'd rather have the bottle of the SFF just because the pump makes it look ugly. I will definatly not repurchase and I'll go back to SFF.

***UPDATE AGAIN: I've finally tried it with a stippling brush and I simply hate this foundation! It makes me look old and like I caked on foundation no matter how I blend. It sinkes into pores and lines and just makes me look so bad and gives me no coverage! It's so hard to blend, but never dries. I just hate this foundation, and it looks so awful in natural and artificial lighting. I'd never ever repurchase, especially not for almost $40 CAD after taxes.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/25/2010 10:52:00 PM More reviews by fustyluggz

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

I am really loving this foundation. SFF has been my favorite for a long time, but my skin is quite oily and by the time I got home from work (6pm) it would be completely gone. This has the same coverage as SFF but I think that the texture is much better on this one because it's not as thick, it blends easier and doesn't feel as heavy. Even with my oily skin, this stays on me ALL day. I've worn it to work, at home, running around town, in the heat, in the cold and I've gotten the same results every time. My color is NW20 and I find it slightly less yellow that the SFF NW20 which actually works better for me because SFF was always a bit too yellow. So far I have no complaints about this foundation and I doubt that I will. This is a great product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/25/2010 10:37:00 PM More reviews by CSR

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I am really liking this foundation. I have tried many long wearing foundations, and few are really long wearing for me. Most last 4 hours at best - EL DW lasted a little longer but was very drying. MAC Pro Longwear, however, is everything it claims. I find it to be very natural looking even in sunlight (EL DW was very heavy in sunlight). It really last all day - I really have to wash at night to get it all off. It is light on the skin, but covers pretty well. So far, it has not dried my face out. At first the SA typed me as NC20, and though okay, was a little too yellow. I exchanged it for NW20 which has the pink undertone that I need. I was afraid it was going to be too dark, but a single layer of the NW20 matches my skin pretty good. I just use the concealer to cover the hyperpigmentation. During the winter I may have to try the NC15 - I have the concealer in this color and it seems to have less yellow than the NC20 did. Either way, I will definately be buying this foundation again.
****EDIT***I still think this is a good foundation for someone who needs light to medium coverage. I have found, however, that I like the concealer a lot better, which is more a like a full coverage foundation. I focus on the sun damage on my skin and smooth it out over the rest of my face. Half a pump is all I need. I will save the foundation for days that I don't need as much coverage. Overall a good buy and would recommend to anybody looking for a light weight medium coverage foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No