September 23, 2014 | 1850 users online

Crème - Revlon - ColorStay Whipped Creme Makeup

rated 3.9(1170 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 9/6/2012 6:00:00 PM More reviews by shinewin

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

First off, I have fair, sensitive, combination, acne prone skin. On top of that, I have visibly large pores, acne scarring, and uneven skin tone and texture. Yes, I have the worst combination of skin problems. My skin sensitivity comes from my allergies.
If you have sensitive skin and have allergies like I do, I do not recommend this foundation. The smell of this foundation is very very mild, not like the Revlon Colorstay liquid foundation. I can stand the smell of this foundation more than the Liquid one. There is a minty sensation when I apply it on my face, kind of like the minty sensation you get when you use a mint chap stick. The creme foundation sets in quickly and it smooth out and blends in very well with my skin tone. I purchased the Sand Beige #200, usually I use buff beige but i feel like the Buff Beige was going to be too light for me looking through the glass jar.
That's another downsize of this product is the glass jar, it's not sanitary. I recommend using a scooper and scoop out what you need. It does last a very long time on my skin, feels light, and i tend to get oily fast, but this foundation holds my oil in longer than I expected it.
It's very expensive for a drugstore foundation but it will cost you less if you are looking for one that stays put and control your oil and blends in with your skin. I usually breaks out when a foundation have an ingredient that will prolong the stays, which this one did broke me out very bad. My allergies kicked in the next day, i have tiny pimples that started to pop out everywhere around my cheeks. If you have normal skin or dry skin (not sensitive), this will be a holy grail for you. I also not recommend this for skin with eczema.
The only reason I wont buy this again is because I have sensitive skin and it will break me out. Like I said, if you have normal skin, this will be a great foundation for you, especially now that the cold weather is coming back this foundation will keep your skin hydrated. If you have large pores, this foundation will settle into your pores and it will not make it look visible like other foundation. And if you have pimples, the foundation will give it a smooth radiant look that doesn't make your pimples look noticeable.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/6/2012 11:16:00 AM More reviews by McRubel

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Oh Revlon, you definitely know your business with foundation! I thought nothing could top my liquid Colorstay, but then ColorStay Whipped comes along and rocks my world!!! This stuff is the real deal. I thought it was mostly hype at first and then I tried it out. I purchased it at Meijer for $13 which is slightly more than the liquid normally runs.

The makeup itself appears a lot like a cream-to-powder formula I've seen before but less dry and cakey looking....almost like a gel. My first thought was "I'm going to need a lot of this stuff to cover my face." Wrong. I place a pea-size amount on my forehead, chin, and each cheek and then use my BeautyBlender sponge to blend it in. It covers beautifully and lasts ALL DAY. It doesn't rub or melt off. I honestly wasn't expecting that. And because of the whipped formula, it doesn't settle into fine lines. I like that part a lot! And there's no smell to it. It also seems to give a more luminous effect...the liquid ColorStay has a matte coverage that can sometimes border on flat to where I feel the need to use a highlighter to add some life back into my face!

The ONLY thing I would change would be adding a sunscreen to the product. Then I would give it 5 lippies! If you think this might be a good fit for you, give it a shot. Chances are, you will end up loving it. Don't let a bad experience with the liquid ColorStay deter you from trying this one. It definitely rocks!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 9/6/2012 5:47:00 AM More reviews by brwneyedgymnast23

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Cafe has turned me into a sheep! I fell for all the hype everyone was giving this product and bought it. It was about $11 at Walmart. Upon first look, the jar of this foundation was like a big heavy hockey puck. I was turned off by that but I thought I'd give it a shot. Well, it turned out that I liked the formula moderately. This is a drying formula for my dry skin so I would suggest it more for oilier skin. I have to moisturize my skin and then immediately apply this in order for it to work. I don't really want to stick my fingers in the jar repeatedly and I'm too lazy to wash a foundation brush every day so I use a disposable sponge to apply it and it works just fine. It's a weird spongey texture. After dipping my sponge into it, it leaves an indent but upon using it again the next day, the surface reverts back and becomes smooth. It's buildable coverage and looks pretty nice if you don't cake it on. I wouldn't call it full coverage but light-medium. It surprisingly lasts most of the day on me. BUT my issue with this is the packaging. I just cannot deal with it any longer. I have travelled with it and therefore it has become a huge mess. This is unfortunate because I do like the formula but I guess not enough to deal with the packaging. Therefore this is not a success on Revlon's part because I am no longer using it. I have returned back to Neutrogena skin clearing makeup.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/6/2012 1:53:00 AM More reviews by tiffhua

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Great product especially for oily skin! Very similar to the colorstay liquid foundation because it gives good coverage and holds up well throughout the day. It's also easier to work with compared to the colorstay liquid because it isn't as thick and it's just easier to put on with just your fingers. It also blends much easier because the lighter consistency. Coverage is medium/full but doesn't look cakey, although it's not as full coverage as the liquid but also not as cakey. Only reason i took off a point was because the packaging is a little bulky for me, so it's not that great for travel because it takes up so much room. *update* i'm not a fan of the packaging at all now. Guess i twisted the lid too tightly and it cracked, so now the lid doesn't work...

for those looking for their color match, i'm mac nc30 and use the color golden medium and it's a good match.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/6/2012 12:06:00 AM More reviews by MaddyKate93

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

Oh my gosh. I am so happy! I have been shelling out AUD $68 for Lancôme foundation for the past year, and while I liked it, I didn't LOVE it. I saw the reviews for this when it was released in America and ha to wait 3 months before I could get my hands on this promising concoction.. I managed to pick it up for AUD $24, yes a third of the price!!! And was a little hesitant due to the low color range, but 150 buff melts into my skin seemlessly. I absolutely adore this product. It is like whipped cream, it melts into the skin and covers everything but looks so natural!!! I am so excited to put this on in the morning :P
It is without a doubt the best foundation I have ever used.
AND it passes all the foundation tests.
APPLICATION: easy. Takes a
Few minutes to apply with no fuss.
PACKAGING: I like it. Makes it easier to find in my makeup bag and I just dip my brush into it.
PRICE: amazing. Half the price of high end!
FINISH: Satin/matte, just like clean skin.
WEAR: I have worn this for 24 hours lol. It will not budge or fail you. BUT a setting powder helps that.
TRANSFER: with a setting powder I have had no transfer.
OIL CONTROL: after a full shift at work there is only a slight amount of oil on my t-zone.
KISSING: lol. My bf likes having stubble so usually all my makeup rubs of when we kiss.. But this is super resistant :) yay
COVERAGE: medium. But so natural, just like a perfect version of your skin.
PHOTOS: I got photos taken when clubbing and my skin looked matte and natural,
And not pale for once :)
So I hope that helps :) Definately try this. It's amazing!!!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/5/2012 6:29:00 PM More reviews by mochaholic

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Being a super acne-prone greeseball, I rarely wear foundation. Everything seems to break me out and I just feel disgusting when oil breaks through. However, with Colorstay Whipped, I find that I actually want to wear foundation more often. It was on sale at CVS for $9.49 and I wanted to get a new foundation to wear to a wedding, so I decided to try it since it has pretty good reviews. I've worn this 3 times, each time for over 12hrs, and this is probably the best foundation I've used. With primer and powder, I still get oily after a few hours, but it does not look too disgusting (somewhere between greasy and dewy?), so it definitely helps control oil. I wore this for 16+ hrs as a bridesmaid and from the few pictures I've seen, it photographs quite nicely. I use my fingers to apply about a pea size amount for my whole face and down my neck. It does accentuate dry/flaky skin, so moisturizing/misting the dry spots right before application helps the foundation go on smoothly. This has a medium-coverage semi-matte finish. It feels fairly comfortable on the skin and has no noticable smell. I've been breaking out for other reasons, so I cannot tell if this contributed to any of it, but I don't think so. I did not give this a 5, b/c the color selection is not that great for yellow-toned skin and I am not a fan of the bulky packaging (you get more glass than foundation). Warm Golden is a tad light for me and next shade up is much too dark. Prior to this, I liked Almay Clear Complexion (Sand), which has a more matte finish, but is not as long wearing. I've used regular liquid Colorstay for combo/oily skin before, and hated the chemically smell, thick feel, and plasticky finish; this fixes all of that!

UPDATE (winter): Good news, concluded that this doesn't aggrevate acne. Bad news, not good for extremely dry flaky skin. Recently went to Vegas and my skin was crazy dry the whole time (while still being a tad oily). By the end of the day, this foundation seemed to form a dry flaky cakey cracking layer over my dry flaky skin. It was pretty gross. I still love this foundation, but just not when my skin is super dry and flaky.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/5/2012 6:17:00 PM More reviews by xxxoxoxo

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

new foundations flirt with me... and it seems like no matter what, i will always end up purchasing them! i put off purchasing this for SO long. past ad after ad and display after display. i told myself again and again that "COLORSTAY MAKES YOU HAPPY, just stick to it since you've found something so great!" but i finally caved and took the fancy tub home with me yesterday.

-- coverage & finish - medium. buildable if your skin is in pretty good condition (i.e., not flaky, etc. or else it tends to accentuate that badly). matte to semi-matte finish on my dry skin. satin maybe on oilier skins. i find the finish to be somewhere in between the normal/dry and combo/oily formulas of original colorstay, with slightly less coverage (although the smoothness of the formula makes it seem to apply in a lighter layer and that seems to be the reason for this). as an aside, there are people who do not like the original colorstay because it is "mask-like" but i do not feel this is so -- i personally find it's all in the application! maybe they are used to thinner and less concentrated formulas so by habit they put on more not realizing how concentrated the original colorstay is? i find the original colorstay VERY versatile in that, depending on application (e.g., sponge or stippling brush for lighter or fingers or foundation brush for heavier), you can achieve whatever look you want that day. is it clear i love colorstay? haha.

-- texture & application - smooth, baby, smooth! as mentioned before, the first ingredient = dimethicone. during my research, the pictures of the formula made it look like it would feel tacky (a la rimmel lasting finish OR COLORSTAY ACTIVE LIGHT if anyone remembers that, both of which i did not like because it felt "sticky," for your reference in case you liked that, this is different although you might like it too!) but it is NOT tacky at all. spreads super easily. everyone's been saying "a little goes a long way" -- very much so! it must be all the dimeth that it spreads like a dream and you get very far with one swipe, which makes the decreased volume of 0.8 fl. oz. instead of the usual 1 fl. oz. in most foundations easier to "swallow." (don't swallow foundations, haha!) HOWEVER, AS I RAVE ABOUT THESE THINGS, THE SOBERING THING IS THAT IT BREAKS ME OUT, SADLY. i really wanted this to work out and for the first few minutes i thought i'd be replacing my colorstay original if the staying power held true BUT i had it on for 4 hours before i realized how "bumpy" my face was getting. i rushed to wash it off and had the beginnings of a break-out on my face :'(. looking back, i slightly expected this -- i have been known to break out from ***"DIMETHICONE-HEAVY"*** products (such as ANTI-FRIZZ HAIR SERUMS and the like, e.g., GOT2B GLOSSY) when i use them on my hair and it is in contact with my bare skin. that might be the key there, if your skin has a natural "barrier" (oilier) or if you have a substantial skincare routine that creates a layer between you and this formula, you may have more luck. the silicon used in the original colorstay is CYCLOMETHICONE, which for any which reason, seems to work better on my own skin (at least for now, haha).

-- colors - seem to correspond very well to the original colorstay line (unlike photoready or colorstay active, for example). this comes in a modified slightly narrower range of the original colorstay liquid line. darker skinned complexions might have a harder time nearer that end of the skintone spectrum, sadly, because i have a darker-skinned friend whose skin this formula would work lovely on. but the response here has been great with all the good reviews so perhaps revlon will see it as a wise decision to release more shades and make the product a mainstay. (unlike the ones they tend to discontinue after "testing" on the market; for example, i think they will discontinue the photoready airbrush although i like the *initial* finish of that but it does not seem to last on the skin.)

i wanted to like this so badly! such smooth application and so promising! i hope it works for you and am glad it does for other people and thank you for sharing yourselves, lovelies!

i love colorstay original (combo/oily) and am glad it's still here for me!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 9/4/2012 6:31:00 PM More reviews by Klonophunk

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have pretty good skin but my pores are getting a bit larger on my cheeks due to age. I really dislike this foundation. I should mention that I dislike the feeling of the Colorstay liquid on my skin also: it feels tacky, like liquid latex or something. It reminds me of MAC studio sculpt because it's sticky and thick, and the coverage is similar. It is also too mask like for my taste and this accentuates my pores. It looks really fake on, and one layer does not cover my hyperpigmentation. Adding more layers makes it look even more fake. The mask like effect might be because I use my fingers as opposed to a brush to smooth it over my skin, but using my fingers usually works best for me with other foundations. The color I have, Buff 150 seems pretty neutral in the container, but it appears almost grayish-beige on my skin. As I wear it, it has only been an hour and it appears patchy: it doesn't settle into an even layer like my favorite foundations. My face feels so gross, I'm actually going to wash it off right now. I'm going to give it to my mom, who needs a much heavier foundation than I do. She has drier skin so I think it might work better on her. I'll update when I get her input.

EDIT: this does not appear to wear well for my mom who is 60. It does nothing for her hyper pigmentation; not NEARLY enough coverage nor does it last through her workday. I'm going to get her Skin79 BB Cream and see how she likes it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/3/2012 11:38:00 PM More reviews by wendycoco

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Overal I don't mind this foundation. It's easy to apply and I love the packaging. The makeup stays on pretty well but lacks SPF as well doesn't specify between oily and dry. It's a little more expensive then colorstay foundation and doesn't offer the same benefits. I'll be sticking to colorstay from now on

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/3/2012 8:49:00 PM More reviews by LindseyAnne

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

This is my holy grail foundation. I was previously a huge fan of the original colorstay in the combination/oily formula, although it tended to be a bit cakey. The new colorstay whipped creme makeup has is everything that the original colorstay was, minus the cakey finish. But I was a little hesitant to buy the colorstay whipped because it wasn't the combination/oily formulation that I was used to. It doesn't seem to matter with this foundation though. I've worn it for up to 12 hours straight on my fairly oily skin without a single touch up. I got the shade 150 Buff because that's what I used in the original colorstay, and it was a perfect match. The packaging is a little annoying because it's so big and bulky, but it does look pretty and more expensive than it actually is. As far as application, the foundation looks good when you first apply it, but as the day goes on, it looks even BETTER. I just used a slightly damp stippling brush and it blends very nicely without using much product and it the coverage is amazing. My only complaint about this, is that I can't stand the thought of taking it off at night because I look more perfect and flawless than I did even when I first put it on. Great job, Revlon!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No