Chanel No 5 Eau Premiere

4.3

164 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was a little wary of trying Eau Premiere, as I love the original No 5 and firmly believe in the adage "If it ain't broke don't fix it". In this case though, I admit Chanel have created an absolute delight. Eau Premiere is softer, warmer and kinder than the original and I am falling more in love with this every time I wear it. It also lingers on my skin all day. The feel of No 5 is still there, but with Eau Premiere her smile finally reaches her eyes.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 5/19/2010 2:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm not a fan of the original No. 5. It reminds me of something my grandmother would wear (actually my grandmother does wear it). The Eau Premiere is a much lighter version of it, and it smells so lovely, sweet and classic! I wear it everyday as my signature fragrance and highly recommend!


on 5/16/2010 11:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I'm a fan of the original No. 5 parfum and do not like Nicole Kidman in the least (especially when she started being used in the No. 5 advertisments). However, I wanted to judge this scent in isolation of those biases, taking into account that this "incarnation" of No. 5 might have no olfactory relation to the original. I took a carded sample vial of No. 5 Eau Premiere on vacation with me to a tropical country. I used it every morning for a week and each time I only got a vague scent of lemon flavoured hard candy -- it reminded me of a less fruity, less potent Dolce & Gabbana Light Blue -- that was gone by the time I had finished breakfast. So I guess my biases win: I won't be buying a bottle of this perfume, but I'm sure the masses will flock to it's sweet inoffensiveness. I prefer the boozy strength of the aldehydic No. 5 original in the EDT, parfum, or colonge (but not the EDP because that, being an "incarnation" of No. 5 created in the 80s, seems to have less note progression as it wears and it reminds me of an inferior Chanel Allure EDT).


on 4/30/2010 7:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

smells nice but wayyy to strong for my taste. would wear this once in a blue moon/special event.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I really like this. I could never pull off the original No.5. It was just way too heavy for me. This is a much nicer version. Younger? It is still as sophisticated as the original. It makes me feel Womanly. Like I want to dress up in a gown and paint the town red. If that makes sense. It's a serious scent. But I would also wear it with jeans and a t-shirt.

I've been gravitating towards classic scents lately and this one is on my list of full sizes. There is just something about scents that ladies have worn generations before me. I feel like I'm carrying on tradition.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/25/2010 7:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I have never cared for the original Chanel No 5 as I find it cloyingly floral - but when I read the first reviews on P'ville that this newer interpretation is different I was intrigued and tried it. And I have to agree, this is beautiful! Soft, well-blended with noticeable jasmine but the rest of the floral notes stay in the background so it never becomes overwhelming. I like it from first spray all the way to the drydown which is quite long lasting but the scent stays close. This makes Eau Premiere versatile and even office appropriate. I always liked Chanel's bottle design, classy and elegant. I got a 3.4 oz spray bottle, and will repurchase when I finish it. I will wear this in all seasons but I especially like it right now in late spring.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/18/2010 12:59:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Yup, this is gorgeous. I found a sample in Sephora's in NYC when I was looking for Chance. Didn't try it for over a year. When I did, I found it to be lovely, sophisticated. I have always run away from the original No. 5, and still do.


on 4/18/2010 12:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My DH got this as a gift for me knowing that I've admired it for a while. It's not cheap. Yet, I wear it often because it's light, elegant and very classy. I may not be European but it makes me feel like I am. I've "liked" Chanel No. 5 except that it's very strong, I guess I'm not alone in this opinion. The lasting power on me is on a scale of medium. It's described as "A decidedly lighter, fresher, softer interpretation of N5. . . a silky-smooth harmony of notes that reveals the delicate facet of the now and forever fragrance."


on 4/7/2010 9:59:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have the original No. 5, I love it but it's a bit heavy, and seemingly more dramatic to me. So I've gotten the eau premiere and am totally in heaven. I do believe this will be my signature summer scent. I will continue to wear the orginal No. 5, but keep it for winter and a blacktie affair or a dressy society function. I love Chanel, now I need a purse :)


on 3/25/2010 3:20:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I sampled this at a department store. I really do not care for this on me (I don't feel mature enough, somehow!) but it would be lovely on the right person. I like the drydown much, much better than the initial blast, though. After about 30 min, it had settled on my skin beautifully, to a very comforting kind of scent.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1359 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Light Blue
1410 Reviews
La Vie Est Belle
156 Reviews
Daisy
544 Reviews


Back to Top