April 18, 2014 | 1838 users online

Misc Beauty Tools - Plus White - 5 Minute Speed Whitening Gel



image 0image 1

rated 4.2(171 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 84% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 5/10/2011 1:27:00 PM More reviews by miamigal

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

After visiting a new dentist for a cleaning, where the hygienist tried to sell me on $560 Zoom whitening (including trays for maintenance), I turned to MUA. I found the reviews for this product, and watched Kandee Johnson's video. So, I went out and bought the kit for $11. I tried to find a mouthguard to do the custom whitening trays that Kandee suggests, but could not find one. So I just used the included trays. Per Kandee's instructions, I used my finger to apply. Then I put in the included mouthguard. Those trays are a little awkward, since the top and bottom are connected (so your mouth is essentially locked shut during the treatment). I use it in the shower, as Kandee suggested. I have been using 1x a day (though the instructions say twice a day) for about 10 days, and my teeth are definitely whiter. Not professionally whitened white (yet), but very noticeably whiter. The crest whitestrips never did much for me, and left my teeth and gums very sensitive. This is much more effective, and my teeth and gums are only the tiniest bit sensitive from the treatments. MUA and Kandee saved me $549 with this product! :)

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/7/2011 10:48:00 PM More reviews by fjernsyn

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This stuff is awesome! Like a lot of people here, I saw this recommended by Kandee Johnson, and bought the mouth guards and boiled them to fit my teeth and all that.

The first time I applied it, I used my finger like she suggested, but I didn't feel like I was very precise, so then I used a Q-tip and it was even worse. Seemed to make my teeth whiter but not great.

But then I thought to use an old ANGLED EYELINER BRUSH. Perfection! I get a thin coating on the whole thing, then press it between each of my teeth, then I get some more and kind of "stipple" it onto each of my front teeth. It allows for incredible precision, and it only took a pea-sized amount to do my whole mouth. This tube is going to last me forever!

And oh yeah, it works!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/4/2011 1:35:00 PM More reviews by LaceyH

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

nothing but raves for this product.

background: i dont smoke or drink coffee or tea, but i admit that i'd been bad about not brushing twice a day every day, and my teeth were starting to look yellow, especially on the edges, in between teeth.

i got this at walmart for around 5 bucks, so the price is awesome.

it comes in a tube and the product is dispensed easily but doesnt go all over the place.

AND IT WORKS! yay!

the directions say you can apply it several ways, with a qtip, brush it on, or use trays.

i apply it with a qtip, BUT i always make sure i dry my teeth off beforehand. i really think this helps it stick to the teeth and work better.

so, i dry my teeth, dab on a generous amount with a qtip, and then leave it for 25 minutes. directions say it isnt active for more than 20 minutes, but you know, just in case ;) and it starts working AFTER 5 minutes, not that its DONE at 5 minutes! so i dunno why other reviewers took it off so soon!

after 25 minutes, i spit it out and use my toothbrush to brush it off. then i rinse and spit a couple times.

of note:
-- dont talk why you have it on! if i keep my mouth shut it stays in place perfectly, but if i talk it starts to make me drool a little.
-- its supposed to be used twice a day every day for at least a couple weeks, but i forget, and only use it once a day for 3 days at a time or so, and then skip a day or 2. but i've still gotten obvious results after about a week.
-- oh, and it actually tastes pretty good! not an overpowering mint, and you dont taste any chemicals underneath the mint flavor
-- and lastly, i had NO tooth sensitivity, which i got a lot of when using the strips from various brands.

in short, i prefer this over the strips. they stay on place abd IMO, work better, and is waaayyyy cheaper! will definately rebuy!

UPDATE 02/20/12:
juswt figured i'd warn people that this DOES expire! i ended up with over 1/2 a tube of expired product-- all runny and nasty :(

i'll re-buy this, but i'll make sure i use it all up next time!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/2/2011 6:18:00 PM More reviews by ChantellyLace

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I too bought this on a Kandee Johnson recommendation. I bought 2 sport mouth guards from Wal Mart and made my molded trays.
I've only been using it for a week and I'm loving the results! I do it twice a day, sometimes once if I have a busy day. I leave them on for longer than 5 mins....anywhere from 15 to 30. I can't wait to see how white my teeth are after the full 2 weeks!
I couldnt imagine using this without the mouth guards...its seems the gel would just slip off and transfer to the lips/gums! The trays keep it right in place. I'll never buy Crest Strips again...I hate how achy they made my teeth feel and how they only covered the front part of your teeth!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/26/2011 12:53:00 PM More reviews by bisco

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I can't wait to see where I am, after the two weeks. I can tolerate this a lot better, than crest's strips. The taste is gross, when you get it on your tongue and if you bite down too much, the gel might come apart from the mouth guard. I was hoping the gel would be packed in the tube, like toothpaste, but it's not. So, I don't think you get as much as you can. But regardless, it's 10 dollars. Now those annoyances aside, it's a great product. My teeth are already two shades lighter. As for sensitivity, I haven't experienced any:)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/23/2011 1:32:00 AM More reviews by sarahlen

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I'm a really big advocate of just whitening my teeth with straight hydrogen peroxide as a out rinse which works awesome as daily whitening and is infinitely better than paying hundreds of dollars for white strips and trays ect. But this is very very cheap and works faster than peroxide rinse but also makes my teeth sensitive . definitely noticeably whiter 5 min after using this. I probably do this once every couple weeks and rinse with peroxide everyday and my teeth are very white. Don't know why anyone would buy a more expensive whitening system when this is just as strong and like 5$ a tube.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/16/2011 11:32:00 AM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I have been using this stuff for years and people always ask me if my teeth are real or veniers. I like this more than the crest whitestrips because it delivers the same results for only a fraction of the price. It also doesn't make your teeth super sensitive and achy.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/14/2011 2:30:00 AM More reviews by samiiyo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Like a lot of people, I saw this on Kandee Johnson's video. I went through the entire first bottle with the mouthguard technique and it did NOTHING!
My sister purchased it about a month later and I noticed that it had a minty smell when the bottle I bought didn't. After a week of her using it her teeth were whiter than mine and she had her braces on for five years!
So I went and bought another tube for myself and made sure that it smelled minty... for some reason that made sense in my mind. Maybe my first one was defected? Well, I currently have the mouthguard in my mouth and I've been using it for about four days and my teeth are already so white! My boyfriend even noticed and he doesn't usually notice anything like that. (Oh, and it's not a weird unnatural white!)

This product didn't make my teeth sensitive, but it does hurt your gums if you let it sit on them for too long! It says on the tube to take off the product immediately if it gets on your gums, but I haven't had any major problems with it besides a little TINY bit of pain if it makes its way onto my gums!


UPDATE!: I continued to use this and now I actually don't like it one bit and I wouldn't buy it again. It just didn't work anymore. I'd rather just shell out the extra money and get Advanced Seal Crest Whitestrips.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/13/2011 2:47:00 AM More reviews by tiinnhh

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I saw this product on KandeeJohnson's youtube and was super excited to try it out. The price was very reasonable, and there was alot of raves about the it. Well, I was very disappointed upon trying it. My teeth are pretty white as is, so I was expecting to see some pretty quick results. Boy, was I disappointed. I used it twice a day, 25 minutes mins each time for two weeks and hardly saw any results. Now I don't smoke and I don't drink tea. Plus, the gel kept moving around in my mouth!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/12/2011 4:00:00 PM More reviews by Ultrapink

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I was really skeptical in the beginning about this product 'cause I've used some other whiteners before and I didn't notice any change, but now nearly 2 weeks later I'm able to say I really feel this is an amazing stuff. It really works and I think specially with yellowish spots next to gums. I've been using this with trays twice a day and I'm starting using it every second day for the next two weeks. I think that would be enough to keep my teeth in this natural white. Note: do not expect your teeth to get as white as if you have a proffesional whitening, you won't get that fake white that everybody knows it's not natural.

Is this review helpful? Yes No