April 16, 2014 | 1587 users online

Powder - MAC - Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation

rated 3.7(3639 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 65% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 11/28/2013 4:56:00 PM More reviews by Cheer15star

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown, Cool Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I have extremely oily skin and a couple of blacks spots on my cheeks. I use this as a setting powder over my Colorstay foundation and my face looks flawless. Great coverage and matte stating power. Never has it been cakey.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/27/2013 6:18:00 PM More reviews by dollyMinx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I really love the idea of this- a quick all- in- one. I really love the colour of it- nc30 is lovely and pretty and fresh and yellowy. I really love the mega easy full coverage of it.
But it goes cakey after a couple of hours, no matter how apply it, unless i use only a very sheer layer, but i need more coverage than that. It's easy to fix tho.
And sometimes my skin cant tolerate it and i break out. I don't know why I can use it sometimes and not others. There was a time when this was my only foundation for about 4 years, and i didn't get any breakouts. After taking a break from it for a couple of years, then coming back to it, my skin can't decide whether it likes it or not.
Another thing, it does clog pores as it is heavy feeling, so I have to do face masks more often.
And it does make me more oily than other foundations but I don't mind that.
I do, however, mind the high transfer!
It makes an excellent not- too- matte setting powder over foundation, whilst adding a little more coverage.
All in all, i do like it, and have already repurchased about 10 times over the years, and will probably continue to do so.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/26/2013 1:36:00 AM More reviews by cassiehunt

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I've repurchased this product several times. I have oily/combination skin and my skin is extremely prone to acne.

I would say the downside to this product is my paranoia about anything touching the powder itself. I feel as though, for the same reason you shouldnt put a brush directly into a bottle of foundation, you shouldn't put a brush onto the powder directly..onto your face..and then back into the powder. But, hey.

Anyway so, the every day washing of my brush is a nuisance and also ensuring that with one solid and heavy handed sweep inside the powder i get enough to set my foundation (which, due to the intense pigmentation i do) so that i don't have to double-dip. Also the applicator it comes with is also pointless as it's faaaaaaarrrrr too cakey using it.

BUTTTTTT that being said, I'm super oily, have the potential to be super spotty if i'm not careful and make-up and my face generally just don't get along. I find this product, if used moderately (use it as more of a setting powder than a foundation) is wonderful! It's mattifying, even's everything out nicely. Cover's the areas that perhaps your foundation couldn't even with just a light amount and hasn't broken me out before.

I also like applying this specifically under my eyes and in the crevices between my nose and eyes because it's got a really good coverage and magic happens.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/23/2013 12:01:00 PM More reviews by sumanserah

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This is one of the best compacts I've used. Though the price was on the higher side, I thought I'd give it a try. I was quite pleasantly surprised as the coverage was quite enough. I guess my skin loved it unlike that of other reviewers. It hasnt broken me out at all. After an hour or two of applying it it slightly disappears making the darkest marks a little visible. Other than that its just perfect to set the foundation and concealer. If not for the price I'd give it 5/5!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/21/2013 12:13:00 PM More reviews by 77xxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Goodness.
This made me look great at first, perfect cover, then started making me looking way too caky, my t-zone and nose got oilier my skin f normal except few forehead pimples to pimples over my face and an ununified tone. It made my skin look HoRRIBLE without makeup on and still does even though I quit using it.

I've used this product for almost a year, please if you have skin like me do not take the risk of buying it

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/20/2013 2:22:00 PM More reviews by QueenBee1217

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I used to love MAC cosmetics. This is great coverage for my acne scars and oil control, don't get me wrong. But this is also the cause of my break out! I was told by a lot of make up SA at Nordstrom that MAC is not good for sensitive and acne-prone skin because of the ingredients. I regret not listening before. I shouldn't have used any of MAC cosmetics. Now I have the worst acne scars ever and it's all because of MAC. One week after I stopped using their products, my skin is way better. But I have to find a great product to help diminish those scars. Such a waste of money. And self-confidence.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/20/2013 11:07:00 AM More reviews by roxannefourteen

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This foundation made me break out like crazy! It did not even control my oily face (I use this without primer). I ended up giving this to my mom instead. Not worth it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/17/2013 6:41:00 PM More reviews by tvall

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have such a love hate relationship with this powder. I like that it is a foundation in itself as it means it's quite full coverage when worn to set make up (which is what I bought it for) I also like it comes with a mirror and sponge making it handy for traveling (yet the sponge is not the best way to apply the product). I also think the price is reasonable as it's lasted me a long time and the quality is good as it has a soft and velvety feel when swatched as oppose to other powders that can be chalky.

The cons however make it hard for me to be fully satisfied. First is that it's matte, like matter than matte. Not good for my dry skin, also the fact it's a foundation and matte makes it look cakey (because of my dry skin). Finally throughout the day I've noticed it go a bit patchy and streaky and cling to random areas.

However, the product itself like I said is good quality and some of my friends swear by it. It's probably much better for normal-oily skin. Not too oily though because of the lasting power but then again it's easy to top up because of the compact packaging.

Up to you, I've very recently discovered the Mac MSFN (I know HOW has it taken me this long) and I'm more than happy with this as my setting powder as it is still velvety but not as matte or as full coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/12/2013 11:30:00 AM More reviews by Lomelindi

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

PROS:

I absolutely love Mac's shade range, especially since a lot of their NC shades run yellow enough for my very yellow skin. I'm a perfect match for the shade NC25. I applied this foundation with a dense kabuki brush and buffed it into my skin. I was pleasantly surprised that it had medium coverage (about as high coverage as a powder foundation can go) and was capable of covering my faint acne scars and sun spots. It also looked quite natural on the skin! It didn't sink into pores or creases (which is a common problem for other powders!), and it didn't look powdery or too "much".

CONS:

Like a lot of other people, I broke out from this foundation. It took a few days, but eventually I grew some whiteheads around my forehead, eyebrows and nose. It's a shame, because I really do love this foundation!

Also, it doesn't seem to provide any oil control for my oily skin at all. My T-zone was shiny within 2 hrs, which is about average for most skin products.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/9/2013 4:42:00 AM More reviews by i8alltheBacon

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I got this because I have a VERY hard time finding a foundation pale enough to match me and this worked. I have it in N3 (paler than NC/NW-15) it's a good match, but I wish it was less pink. I use this over a primer otherwise my large pores show through and then I use a loose finishing powder over top ...which is needed with this to make it smoother looking and keep the t-zone shine free.(it's shine city just after 1 hour without setting powder) Sometimes I have peeling/flaky skin from Retin A micro ...so I pat this on my face (over primer) and it conceals the peeling/flakes as much as you can. Coverage is about medium...medium + if you layer it on, but it will look really powdery..not natural. I don't use this around my eyes because after a while it feels really tight and dry...I use concealer under my eyes & dust a bit of my loose setting powder on top...then apply my foundation everywhere else. I'm currently looking for a new powder foundation that's less pink ..I probably wouldn't get this again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No