October 22, 2014 | 1920 users online

Primer/ Corrector - Philosophy - The Present Clear Makeup



image 0

rated 3.4(405 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 54% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/15/2010 5:15:00 PM More reviews by Roxxy6341

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

For my 100th review I wanted to review a product that has made a big difference in my life. The Present is a clear primer that claims to give you an airbrushed look. It applys smoothly, and a little goes a long way. I usually put this on before I brush my teeth in the morning, so that when i'm done the product has had its 2 min setting time. The Present smells just like the Hope in a Jar (lavender scented), but doesn't have the burning effect some Philosophy products tend to have on my skin.

The final result with this primer, is smooth, flawless, pore free skin. I really like this, and I will continue to buy. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/13/2010 6:49:00 PM More reviews by ssaarraahh

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

this is one of my favorite primers..it is a little thick which means you do not need a lot of it and yes it really does help fill in pores and gives you the flawless face once you put foundation on...i like that this product is oil free..there is a light smell, but that does not bother me that much...the prices is not bad either: 2 oz for $25..and that 2 oz will last a long time since again, you do not need that much...not really anything bad to say...you do have to wait 2 mins before you can apply foundation because if you do not (which i have done), it leaves your foundation cakey, and of course, no one wants that

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/30/2010 4:27:00 PM More reviews by powlie

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

i only tried a sample and i got a pimple the next day and i never break out...so i'm scared to try it again. it did make my skin very soft and covered pores well so it wasn't bad while it was on..i think it's a fair price too since you don't need all that much

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/24/2010 9:46:00 AM More reviews by Rachierach0000

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Ok, so i bought this product from ebay, about £10 with p & p if i remember correctly. So i liked the smell, the thickness wasn't too much of a problem for me because it still went on quite easily. I never really had problems with streakiness because i reviewed it on here first and made sure i left it to sink in for at least 2 minutes. I didnt notice any (good) difference while wearing this product. However, like other people have said, i had been wearing about 3 weeks when i started to notice i was getting alot of spots, i mean i usually get 2-3 p/ month so when i got about 9 in the space of a few days, i just put it down to stress. Then i stopped using it for a few days because i really didnt see it working and i realised this is the only new product i have been using so its this that has broken me out. I was getting spots around my chin which is normal when i get them, but also my my nose, on my forehead, which NEVER happens! Gutted. So im trying to treat my very red sore looking face right now. Also it caused alot of tiny little white heads. That aside, even if i didnt break out, by around lunchtime i would notice my makeup looking cakey around my nose going onto my cheeks, and i started to get quite oily which doesnt normally happen. So i would not get this agin and i am now stuck with 3/4 of a tube :(

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/13/2010 10:09:00 AM More reviews by Annaxxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I really like this, like everyone says, it takes time to get used to you really do need to wait the 2 minutes before putting makeup on. It's a really good primer and actually works with my BE mineral makeup. It doesn't make your skin good enough to go makeupless though!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/25/2010 8:30:00 AM More reviews by Bonnerka

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

One of the worst primers I've ever tried. I couldn't see much difference to my skin after I put it on and trying to put a foundation over it proved a nightmare, it wouldn't blend, it streaked and wouldn't stay on. It also clogged my pores like hell. I am normally quite a stingy person and try to use up the product, but this went onto the bin 2/3 full.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/24/2010 9:50:00 PM More reviews by umizumi

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Medium Eyes: Green

I have pretty tough skin and haven't broken out in 10 years, that is until I used The Present Clear Makeup. On top of that my t-zone was about 3x as oily when I used this. I thought at first maybe it's just hormones so I experimented a couple days using this stuff on one half of my face and
Smashbox on the other. It wasn't hormones. A total waste of $30 and I bought it on Amazon so I don't think I can return it, I'm going to stick with buying makeup expensive in a store with a return policy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/9/2010 2:03:00 PM More reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I'm not too crazy about face primers. I don't see a difference in the wear of my makeup, so I'm not an expert on them at all. But this little tube has significantly changed how my makeup looks. I have combination/oily skin and this primer completely controls my oil. My foundation looks airbrushed and smooth, which I love. A bad thing for me was you really do have to wait two minutes for it to set, otherwise it'll streak like CRAZY! Thats why I didn't like this product for a while, but once I learned to use it correctly I love it. I will consider purchasing this again because it's really changed how my foundation looks on me. The only thing that would deter me from buying this again is the price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/29/2010 11:04:00 PM More reviews by Clairebell

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

HG primer. Smooth and great.
It's not kidding on the packaging about the necessity to wait 2 minutes before applying though. Applying makeup before the primer settles results in a surprisingly intense streaking effect.
If you can read and follow basic directions, I believe you will find this primer to be outstanding.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/24/2010 5:55:00 PM More reviews by Dragica

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

I really like this product, it's a face primer that can also be used alone as a clear makeup or as a moisturizer. I use it under foundation and over my regular moisturizer as I don't find it moisturizing enough to use alone. It has a quite strong scent of lavender, but it disappears quickly after application.

The product is easy to put on and makes the skin visibly smoother and softer and makes a great base for makeup. The downsides are that it doesn't have spf and that you have to use a lot to get the desired effect so a tube doesn't last very long.

Is this review helpful? Yes No