December 20, 2014 | 1479 users online

Liquid - Almay - Clear Complexion Blemish Healing Makeup



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.8(633 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.1
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 2/4/2013 4:42:00 PM More reviews by jianing23

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I have acne prone skin thats really sensitive, and this is the first drug store foundation i bought that was amazing. im in shade 220 neutral and i have like, olive skin and it works very well!
it lasts amazingly, id say, i like this even BETTER than the Revlon colour stay.
It covers my acne scars pretty well, and is very light weight.
The 0.6% salicylic acid helps i guess since i dont break out
and this lasts about 3-5 hours without a primer or powder
with a good primer, say tart, it could last you around 6-10 hours depending if you use a setting spray :)

love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/8/2013 4:26:00 PM More reviews by Watties

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium Eyes: Green

I really like this foundation, i have tried the tlc for a short amount of time but dont really remember whether or not i liked it. As a teenager i get the odd blemish here and there and this foundation helps alot when im trying to get rid of them! If the blemish is really bad i do use a tinted spot cream aswell, but usually its fine.
I dont set it with a powder as the finish is pretty matte in my opinion, but it is still natural looking.
For me (combination skin-normal, depending on the season) this founation lasts up to 5-6 hours which is a day at school for me.
I have very rosy cheeks and this foundation helps cover it, but not too the point that u cant see them which i like.
It is roughly $30 NZD which is a bit pricey, but its worth it. I will probably continue using it if i cant find a better HG.
I bought the shade buff, but wouldve preferred a slightly lighter shade.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/3/2013 11:38:00 PM More reviews by lillil0150

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I originally bought the no-pump version. It was great!! That version was my HG. Then Almay updated the packaging and color choices. Why?! I re-purchased the product, except in its new packaging (pump version). It was pretty good, except the coloring was a bit darker and had more pink tones, instead of the non-pump formula, which had more yellow tones. At least both versions did not make me break out or irritate my skin! Overall, I'm sticking with it until I find a better suited HG...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/3/2013 10:12:00 PM More reviews by xkimberr

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I use to wear this in high school and continued to wear it for a while before I decided to start investing more in my makeup. It is ok! Offers light coverage and never broke me out or gave my sensitive skin a rash. It is a bit watery so it doesn't go on thick. But there are a lot of cons. It dries cracky, especially around blemishes. It does not cover dark spots or really red blemishes. It also is very drying and settles into lines and pores. Also, when you first put it on it seems to match your skin but it dries a lot lighter and almost powdery. I won't repurchase and don't really know why I used it for so long!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/3/2013 1:43:00 PM More reviews by zoohousekey

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

The coverage looked like a clay mask, plus it broke me out. That kinda defeats the purpose of a blemish healing makeup...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/31/2012 9:23:00 PM More reviews by kikibutternut

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I researched this foundation before I bought it b/c I hate wasting my money on makeup I won't wear ever again. Most of the reviews seemed positive, so I decided to try it. I have pretty fair skin, so I wanted to get the lightest shade.They didn't end up having it so I got it in buff. I was so excited to use it, but it ended up totally sucking :( It had terrible coverage and made my skin even drier & redder (I have eczema). I would definatley not reccomend this to anyone.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/26/2012 1:53:00 PM More reviews by domisol

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

Once I figured out how to manuever the new formula (much thicker), I have been a happy camper. It takes a few steps, but worth an oil-free face all day. First of all, this product will dry to a powder finish but you have to give it time. If you want to put it on and go, then this is not for you. In the summer I use neutral, in the other months I have to add "buff" to the mix to lighten it a bit. Based on the time of year, I add more or less of the buff. I do find this product blends best with clean fingertips. My foundation brush just did not work well with the consistency of this foundation. After application with my fingertips, I go back and do an all-over circular motion to blend in the foundation. Here is where I have realized the difference in the shine-free time: after the foundation dries for about 5 minutes, I use the tarte bamboo airbrush finish foundation brush (the best brush on the planet) to "pat" in the foundation to set it. It does something to this foundation that is unreal. It sets it while providing a flawless look. I cannot really explain it, but know this is a step that cannot be skipped. After the patting of the bamboo brush, I let it try about another 10 minutes. Then I set it with Makeup Forever DuoMat powder foundation (#202 or #203 depending on the time of year) and I am flawless and oil-free all day. Believe me, at 41 years of age, I don't have the best skin by any stretch (sun spots, uneven skin tone, wrinkles forming, oil slick in t-zone/dry patches elsewhere) but after these steps for application with the Almay foundation, you would never know. At work, I am told I have flawless skin. I just laugh to myself because if they saw my skin without makeup, they would never say that!! Now, I take the time to put in the steps to achieve this and if you are in a hurry, this may not be for you. However, if you want the end result to be oil-free and flawless looking skin, then it is worth the time. Recap- I use the Almay foundation in conjunction with the Tarte Bamboo brush (not to apply, but to set after) and the Makeup forever DuoMat foundation (which lasts forever, by the way). You can get the foundation for next to nothing with coupons at Ulta or CVS, and the bamboo brush is a one time purchase of $32 (again, I could NOT live without this brush- it is unlike anything you have ever used). The DuoMat powder is $34 and lasts forever because you will just use it to set the foundation and possibly for touch-ups about 12 hours into your day. WORTH THE TIME AND MONEY if you are serious about controlling your oily skin, don't want to break out (which many other brands such as MAC and Lancome will do), and want to make your skin look great even if it really isn't. Trust me- I am a former makeup artist and have tried hundreds of foundations, primers, etc. Don't waste your money on all of the expensive and less-effective foundations.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/25/2012 5:29:00 AM More reviews by perfumefiend

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I picked up this foundation at Rite-Aid when they were having a sale a couple weeks ago. My shade is "Sand". It matches my skin perfectly and is a full coverage foundation in my opinion, just not too heavy like most full coverage foundations. The coverage can be controlled easily for light/ full coverage to full/ dramatic full coverage. A few months ago I was experiencing some problems with my skin. I was breaking out on my cheeks and I was getting some small bumps on my skin. After taking some vitamins and taking an antibiotic, my skin has healed up great. I wanted to switch foundations too and thought this one would be a great start. So far I have been pleased as it looks smooth and more natural and lasts long as well. I work late at night and sometimes don't have the time to reapply as often as I would like to. I also got a powder from Almay I will do an additional review for that helps set this foundation for all day/ night wear. My blush also does not appear "cakey" on top, like so many other foundations seem to do when I layer my make-up. The consistency is kind of thick but not oily or greasy. It dries nicely after a few minutes and with the powder to set.
The foundation is dispensed from a pump in a glass jar. Something I am not a huge fan of because I travel a lot and don't want to drop it on a hard floor and watch it break. I do appreciate this being in glass though, as plastic probably is not the best to keep foundation in.
This is a very great quality foundation at a lovely price. I highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/22/2012 12:20:00 AM More reviews by indiebaby

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

-One of the very few liquid foundations I have used a whole bottle and repurchased. My HG foundation for now.
-

-I'm not buying the "blemish healing" claim at all. Whatever makes those "blemishes heal" besides the salicylic acid Almay may want to make more concentrated. (maybe just my experience, didn't help me heal)
-

-The finish feels and looks natural, which is what I go for. Normally does not feel heavy, unless I use too much foundation or use extra that day. I sometimes mix the foundation with a bit of moisturizer. A little extra on trouble spots works well as concealer.
-

-I have pale, Irish skin with pink and rose undertones. Sometimes I have redness from acne. The foundation does a very good job of creating a more even look that hides most of the redness. I use shade 200 "Buff" that seems to suit my skin tone very nicely.
-

-I do not feel that this foundation causes me any additional acne which is why I actually just repurchased more maybe a week or so ago.
-

-Set with powder, the foundation lasts a reasonable amount of time.( about 3-5 hours without any primer)



-

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/12/2012 4:43:00 PM More reviews by Mom2Free

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I was using Neutrogena foundation, but I wanted to try something new. This Almay foundation seemed thicker and I figured that meant better coverage. Well, the coverage was better and it also lasted longer. BUT this makeup also broke my skin out. My skin is fairly oily and breaks out fairly easy, so I have to be careful with makeup. Obviousily, this works for others, but it did not work for me. I would have given it a 5 if it didn't break me out so bad. I stopped using it 2 months ago and my skin still hasn't fully recovered.

Is this review helpful? Yes No