October 25, 2014 | 829 users online

Polishes - Chanel - Le Vernis Nail Color



image 0

rated 4.1(126 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/2/2007 8:37:00 PM More reviews by annaamin

Age: Unknown Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

i do love chanel polishes they have perfect packaging! i love the colours too however i do find that the staying power is mediocre, i have an opalescent shade which almost peels off in sheets! but this problem is righted with a base coat or a top coat so its just laziness on my part.but saying this i would never stop buying them!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/14/2006 11:04:00 AM More reviews by 4annabananas

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Chanel is my all time favorite nail polish. The packaging is beautiful & totally unique. I love the square cap that serves no purpose other than the be decorative. I always feel so indulgent when I use Chanel on my nails. As for the quality, it is much better now than it was a few years ago...it used to be a little too thick. I used to have to add a couple of drops of thinner to it, but now the formula is perfect. The colors they offer are usually quite original...but I hate when they get discontinued!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/25/2006 4:11:00 AM More reviews by cup_cakes

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

A bit too difficult to apply for me...And perhaps it is because of my nail's bad condition, but I find this to go on very unevenly..

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/14/2006 7:52:00 AM More reviews by doree_001

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Chanel Nail Color is not that superb. Too thick - so it is hard to apply it uniformely, all in all they are not that good quality IMO (I don't like the brush either). Colors look a way better in a bottle than on nails (with 2 or 3 exceptions). My favorite colors are 64 Baby Rose (light, cool, frosty baby-rose) and 165 Organdy (bright, very cool-toned, bluish pink) but they look much better on toes (wonderful colors for summer!!!) than on fingernails - because they are, as I said, very thick. Those polishes dry up too fast in a bottle so you can throw a bottle after a few months.****EDIT: Is the formula improved or what? I had some of these laquers 2-3 years ago and they were thicker, drier... Now they are of a much better quality. Nice surprise. Colour range is beautiful, too.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/1/2006 4:59:00 PM More reviews by maxxx

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

i remember buying this product just before i met hubby 21 years ago...loved it then and love it now...so classy and the red is gorgeous....[bright red colours i normaly detest but chanels are soooo classy!] Love em! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/3/2006 7:22:00 PM More reviews by berrylemon

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i love chanel polishes! higly pigmented so i sometimes just use one coat. i have one in midnight red which is like cherry red. ill def. buy again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/4/2005 7:57:00 PM More reviews by MissMerlot

Age: Unknown Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I got Metal Garnet in an ebay purchase. I was sooo disappointed...the color in the bottle is drop-dead gorgeous. A deep burgundy with golden-coppery microshimmer. But on the nails, two coats is still streaky with no sign of shimmer. You need three coats to get the nice deep color to come true, and the shimmer just doesn't show up well. Such a shame, because in the bottle it's beautiful.

I also have issues with the short, thin brush. It really doesn't apply very well. I have yet to be impressed by Chanel nail polish. Waste of money.

I've given 2 lippies because the color on the nails is pretty nice, just not what's promised in the bottle (or the name). Seems pretty long-lasting as well, for a dark polish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/21/2005 2:25:00 AM More reviews by lornaj

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Le Vernis Nail Colour #175 ABRICOT GLOSS
This is a bright apricot / coral semi-transparent nail gloss - good for summer. It gives a glossy stain of colour, rather than the usual opaque nail colour effect. You can get away with one coat for a more subtle "hint of colour" effect, or layer it for stronger colour. Good product, but I'm not mad on the colour shade for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/21/2005 2:18:00 AM More reviews by lornaj

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Le Vernis Nail Colour #173 SUGAR GLOSS
This is a great bright pink / fuschia semi-transparent nail gloss, perfect for summer. It gives a glossy stain of colour, rather than the usual opaque nail colour effect. The colour looks quite strong in the bottle, but bc of it's semi-transparent formula, is much more subtle on the nails. Unfortunately, the consistency of the product I bought (at Hong Kong airport) was a bit thick and goopy. This makes it hard to get a regular "film" of colour on the nails, which is essential in a semi-transparent type of product like this. However, it may just be the particular bottle I purchased, bc I also have this in Apricot Gloss, and the texture was fine. So if you fancy this product, check the bottle's content first if you can.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 10/8/2005 5:27:00 PM More reviews by Elankat

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Meh. A completely over-hyped nail polish brand imo. Orly, Essie, Revlon, and most OPI last longer on my nails. This brand did not even make it 48 hours before it was noticeably chipped. On a good note, it was easy to take off with remover and dried to a nice glossy finish. The packaging is very elegant, but the brush is not that great and the applicator handle (a short, thick ridged knob located under the square cap) makes application incredibly awkward. Overall, I did not find this brand to be worth the price tag. There are far better brands to be had for half to 1/4 of the price. If I buy another bottle of Chanel, it will simply be for the name or a color so unique and marvelous that I don't mind paying a lot of money to wear it for just 1 day. Some ladies swear that Chanel is the longest lasting, so maybe one day I'll give it another shot. I'd give it a 3 for formula, but deducting a lippie for the bad applicator and high price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No