July 29, 2014 | 1920 users online

Cleansers - Desert Essence - Thoroughly Clean Face Wash with Organic Tea Tree Oil and Awapuhi



image 0image 1

rated 3.6(289 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/19/2010 1:00:00 PM More reviews by untinnu

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Works good. I purchase this in the big bottle as I have my own foaming pump. I use to put this is a regular pump bottle, but it was too runny and messy, so I stopped using it for a while, but now I put it in a pump, and it works soooo much better and I end up using less products. It's great at removing make up, but this really dries out my skin (hence the 4 lippies). It's also great at keeping my skin clear, but I can't use this everyday as it dries out my skin too much..probably every other day or every two days is good. I put a 'No' on repurchasing though since I do have 100% natural Tea Tree Oil that I use diluted as a spot treatment.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/19/2010 12:39:00 AM More reviews by berrycurious

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

The only thing not to like about this product (probably just something up with my bottle) is that the bottle leaks a lot for some reason...

I've had a lot of bad experiences with face washes. But this one is great, no breakouts. It leaves my face looking clean, plain and simple.

No lame-o added fragrances, that's an extra plus.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/14/2010 4:59:00 PM More reviews by mamisty

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Great product for oily congested skin types. Terrific value... A little goes a long way and love the fact that it's natural. Can be a little drying on the skin but nothing that can't be corrected by using a moisturizer. My skin has been clear and blackheads have going away too. I purchased the small bottle at Trader Joes for less than six bucks. I went to Whole Foods and noticed they had a 500ml bottle for $10 bucks. So when I run out I will go there to buy the big bottle and refill the small one with the dispenser.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/13/2010 5:17:00 PM More reviews by sweetliz312

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

i really like this product, i have oily acne prone skin and i think it has really helped to keep my acne under control....it doesn't dry out my skin, and leaves it feeling super clean....lately i have switched to all organic products (for face only) and i feel that my skin looks and feels so much better....i would definitely repurchase this over and over again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/30/2010 9:29:00 PM More reviews by coolnidhi123

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

The first time I tried this product, I loved it. I have somewhat oily skin, that is extremely acne prone, so this product ended up drying my face quite a bit. I would then put Desert Essence's Jojoba Oil, and the dry feeling would go away. The first week, the product cleaned not only the dirt, but also the acne off of my face. After a week, the product only made my face clean, but it no longer prevented or cleared my acne. I would buy it again only because it does make your face look clean, and it isn't too expensive.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/30/2010 2:29:00 PM More reviews by w1lk1ns

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

While I have used this over the past week I noticed the acne on my chin shrink up. The bad thing is my extremely oily face is now dry and dull looking. Ew. I will not be repurchasing. I might try adding a little of this cleanser into the scrub I have been using.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/27/2010 8:44:00 AM More reviews by novae

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I am very pleased with this product. I have fair acne prone/sensitive skin with enlarged pores. This product is not overly drying, it cleanses well, and even though it has a "stinky" smell, it contains no synthetic chemicals and it does the job. I can't complain about this one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/24/2010 11:37:00 PM More reviews by Animalloversunite

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Black

Yuck I hate this stuff. I was trying to find a good non animal tested cleanse.r It was the first organic cleanser I have ever used and it was not pleasing. It's runny and lathers slightly. Because it's runny it gets into my eyes pretty often and it stings. I hate the scent of tea tree oil but it doesn't stay once washed off. It kinda makes washing my face an unpleasent experience. The best part( and the only good part) is that it removes all my makeup but it's also pretty drying. The biggest misconception is that acne prone people need to use somthing more drying or medicated. The fact is that a drying cleanser makes you produce more oil and the anti-acne ingredients do no good because they are washed off before they can be absorbed into the skin. Overall I hate this cleanser and I will definetely NOT be repurchasing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/17/2010 1:35:00 PM More reviews by cuddlebunny

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

I LOOVE this product with all my heart. I Have been using it for the past 2 or 3 years. I used to try all sorts of brands before this one, and kept switching until I found this product. It had helped my skin get away from the "acne-porne" phase. I used to have the worst cysts and acne's before this product. It really helped me clear them out after few months of using them. Removed my makeup COMPLETELY! But after using it for 2 years now, I realize it's time to go for something a bit more gentler. I've notice the dryness of my skin after being on this product, I feel like it's have longterm effects of dragging down the skin. It's good for acne-prone/oily skin. But now that I'm out of that phase, I'm looking to find my next HG. But I will ALWAYS keep this in the back of my cabnet incase things don't work out =)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/17/2010 11:29:00 AM More reviews by MsLove

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Other, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

My FAVORITE wash. I am about to finish my 3rd bottle and about to stop counting. look for a wash that first takes of ALL my makeup, regulates skin, helps it to "perk up", prevents breakouts and might stop one that is forming, all without being too drying. A miracle wash, basically. In my search, I have tried them all and had great results with Peter Thomas Roth, Kinerase, Dermalogica, Boscia, Cosmedicine, Clinique, Drugstore Brands (Neutrogena, Cetaphil, Purpose, etc.). I have found over time that sometimes, simplest is just BEST for your skin, esp. when it wants to go haywire. This wash (and the other brands of it - the Sea Kelp and Sunflower formula) are my favorites. The Thoroughly Clean is more for acneic/combo skin, but the Sea Kelp green wash smells yummy and doesnt have the Tea Tree oil that turns up some customers noses.


How I use it - when I get home from work, I wet my face, pump once, lather, rinse. When I use it with my Clairsonic Mia, I we my face, pump one pump into the Mia, turn it on, and cleanse. Lots of bubble action. After rinsing, skin feels squeakly clean, but not tight, and looks bright, not dull. I may swipe with the DE Tea Tree Oil Cleansing Pads before one final rinse and it will remove any additional embedded traces of dirt or makeup.



The value for any of the DE washes is great, and they perform well for a myriad of skin types. You can't ask for better ingredients, and over time it does all the things I ask for. My complexion is brighter, clearer and I don't feel like I'm wasting $50 cleanser to remove my makeup at the end of the day.



This wash, Cetaphil, and Purpose consistently perform competitively with the high-end brands where I can no longer justify the overpriced product cost for the results. And cheap enough that you can keep one at the sink, one in the shower, and one in your gym bag! :)

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No