September 22, 2014 | 1960 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Frost - Angel

rated 4.0(534 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 67% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 2/26/2013 8:53:00 AM More reviews by SharonT14

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I don't know what genious came up with this shade of pink but it is so flattering on SO many different skin tones. It's so wearable, day and night, doesn't accentuate dryness on the lips, doesn't cause dryness, it just leaves lips smooth, with a slight sheen. I think I'm on my 9th or 10th tube of this. Doesn't last very long, which is a downside, but not many lipsticks do, and if they do, they are typically very drying, so I won't complain.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 2/22/2013 6:16:00 PM More reviews by Asti1234

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Not a fan, looks so pretty in the tube but makes me look washed out and gives my pigmented lips a greyish tinge. Too much frost in it which leaves an ugly residue once the colour wears off. I'm warm toned, this lippie is cool toned so I would imagine it would look better on someone with a cool skin tone. NC30 for reference. X

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/19/2013 6:52:00 AM More reviews by plumblush

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Ok, I admit it. I bought into the hype with this lipstick and had to follow the rest of the lemmings off the Kardashian cliff. This lipstick has almost a cult-like following because Kim K uses it and looks like a million bucks. Though to be fair, good genes and great plastic surgery probably helped more with that then this little lipstick.

This lipstick is, as others have described it, a baby pink. It is pretty cool-toned and leans towards mauvey. It also has chunks of glitter in it. Whenever MAC puts shimmer in lipsticks, they really go for the gusto and this is no exception. When the color has worn off (which doesn't take long) I am left with hunks of glitter on my lips. I know to expect that, because despite their expertise in making better colors than anyone else, the good people at MAC can't seem to get this glitter thing downgraded to shimmer. (If you're looking for a lipstick that can do that, go to the Chanel counter. Theirs are otherwordly.)

I have very pigmented lips and the color payoff on me isn't fantastic unless I use concealer first. But, that's mostly because my lips are so dark, and not the fault of the lipstick. What it does do, is leave me with a very nice MLBB kind of look. If I want nude, I need something with a bit more coverage, like Myth. I like to use Piree gloss by Nars with it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/16/2013 3:57:00 PM More reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Blue

About me: NW13 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

This is a beautiful opaque baby pink color. I love it... the color I mean.

The formula is far too creamy. It settles in the dry cracks of my lips, or worse, slides right off. Fail. This lipstick lasts a grand total of 3 minutes on me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/15/2013 11:12:00 AM More reviews by mellynnmac

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Great bluish pink for anyone looking for a beautiful, your lips but better kind of look. Angel is one of my go to shades in the MAC lineup. My only critique is that the frost sometimes appears to be a little too much. I would LOVE if this colour came in a creemsheen instead. Ps, fellow beauty nuts, if you aren't aware of the Back to MAC program, 6 empty containers of any MAC product gets you a free lipstick. That's how I tried this one out initially and I am so hooked !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/14/2013 4:53:00 AM More reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

For reference: nc20-25, warm yellow undertones.

Received this lipstick through back2mac. The frost finish scared me but this lipstick is actually gorgeous. On my lips, it's almost a Mauvey baby pink color with a slight frosty finish to it; but nothing extreme where it looks too pornstar-ish. If i were to apply 2 or more coats, i think it would almost be borderline too cool tone for my coloring. I love wearing this shade on days where I'm wearing a neutral eye makeup. Def would purchase when I run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/8/2013 6:36:00 PM More reviews by TiaDGB

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Curly, Fine Eyes: Black

This is one of MAC's most popular shades, and I'm still trying to figure out as to whether or not I think it's prestige is warranted. I guess the fact that Kim Kardashian wears this particular shade helps with the popularity.


Anyways. The color itself is quite pretty. It's a true baby pink. It may look a little sickly on pale skin, but it's a nice nude for medium complexions (i.e., Kim Kardashian lol).


The texture of this is really whack, which explains my low rating.

1. First of all it's drying as hell. If your lips are already dry, this will look like a train-wreck! It will adhere to and accentuate every little flake like no tomorrow.
2. It sinks into and accentuates fine lines like no other.
3. The color migrates a lot and it tends to collect/cake up in the corners of the lips.
4. It feathers. Badly. You pretty much need a lip pencil with this (I suggest MAC's 'Soar' or Urban Decay's 'Midnight Cowboy'.


Those three reasons alone are enough not to warrant a repurchase from me. You really do need to wear a gloss with this to diminish the awful effects (NARS Turkish Delight compliments this wonderfully). Revlon's 'Pink Pout' is literally an exact dupe for this, and I find the formula to be much better. Even MAC's Creme Cup is similar, but with a nicer formula.


Like I said, I do like the color of this. I can see why many women wouldn't. If you're a fan of nudes, this is quite lovely though. It pairs nicely with a a black or gray/silver smokey eye, but matches almost any eye shadow really.


If MAC made this same shade in a creamsheen or amplified formula, it would be much nicer. The finish of this just totally kills it for me.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/31/2013 2:42:00 AM More reviews by SarahB07

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I love my Angel!
A beautiful light pink, frosted with silver so it leaves a wonderful finish on your lips, creating a plump result. It's easy to apply and can be sheer on its own or built up with a liner (I use Rose by NYX) and additional layers. It's a great shade for a neutral day or heavy eye day and even if your lips are dry (doesn't emphasize it like a matte or satin will).
Of course the smell and packaging are a score, MAC, duh!
Also it's not too light that it washes you out or anything, looks great on most skin tones and anytime of the year!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/30/2013 12:17:00 PM More reviews by sfsuperstar

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I love this color and wish it was a cremesheen or amplified!!! If it was a little thicker or opaque it would be my perfect lippie!!! I still love this color and have left creme cup for this. As others have said, creme cup does wash me out and this does not. Oh yes, and it is not frosty which is great. Highly Recommend!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/28/2013 6:52:00 AM More reviews by galsunday

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is a really light pink. Im kinda tanned (NC37) but able to pull this off. I applied a cat eye/winged look with this lippie. I finished and topped it with Topshop Glaze in "Dash" and I really liked the look. It so modern and chic.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No