November 23, 2014 | 1912 users online

Polishes - Rimmel - Lasting Finish Pro - Steel Grey

rated 4.5(184 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 90% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 9/22/2010 7:55:00 PM More reviews by Elzbt

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is the first Rimmel nail color I've bought. I'm very impressed. It goes on as I'd expect a nail polish to. 2 coats and I'm good. The color is very nice as well. It's a warm grey, could come off purplish. I'm quite pale and it goes with my skin tone well. I cannot say much about the product's durability yet but so far I'm a very happy customer!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/18/2010 8:37:00 PM More reviews by kdigggs

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

this is totally perfect for fall, and like other reviewers have said, more on the taupe-purple side of the spectrum than a true steel grey. which is totally fine with me! it just seems like such a classy, understated color and i LOVE it!

i don't have the problems w/ the formula others have mentioned. maybe i'm not that picky, or maybe some batches are better than others? i found two coats to be enough for a nice opaque finish. i also got 5 days or so w/o chipping. it wore away a tiny bit at the tips of my nails, but didn't chip until 5 days later. i was impressed!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/18/2010 8:14:00 PM More reviews by musiclives

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

New favourite colour. I love this shade! It can be best described as a sort of taupe-grey-purple combo. The colour is greyer in the bottle than it appears on the nail, which is a more purplish colour. The name is very misleading; in no way is this a straight grey. On the other hand, the formula was very thick and can only be applied in thick coats otherwise you'll have major dragging. This needed 3 thick coats to be fully opaque. The thick brush is almost identical to the ones in the Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure bottles.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/18/2010 2:15:00 PM More reviews by rosesandpeonies

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This colour is so pretty. Depending on the light, it can look grey, taupe or a light purple. The wide brush makes for a very quick application. I find that with a couple of coats and a layer of top coat there is no chipping and it lasts quite long. I love this colour.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/18/2010 1:38:00 PM More reviews by Jchiko

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really like the colour of this nail polish. Although the brush looks large and unlike other nail polishes, it was perfect. The brush was able to make the nail polish very smooth and it made it easier to apply. It's a great colour for fall too! It took me two coats to make it look opaque.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/18/2010 1:32:00 AM More reviews by SacredHeart08

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Althought the quality of the polish is piss poor, the color is very good and trendy for the fall. A perfect grey-taupe. Picked this up at my local Target and tried it on ASAP. It can be streaky and requires two coats but it is divine as a color. Worth the $3-$4 bucks. Better brands make the same color for a higher price/quality though.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/18/2010 1:07:00 AM More reviews by somnambular

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

It's sad... I really wanted to like this nail polish, because the color is gorgeous. I've been scoping out greyish nail polishes like Sally Hansen's Commander in Chic and Essie's Chinchilly for awhile, trying to decide which one to buy. After I saw a Youtube guru wearing Steel Grey in a video, I decided to buy it. Unfortunately, the polish began chipping almost immediately after putting it on and later in the day it peeled off my nails like stickers. I have never had a nail polish chip so fast! Wet 'n' Wild nail polish is 1/3 the price and lasts five times as long. Bummer. The color is really pretty but the formula is crap... don't waste your three bucks on this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/18/2010 12:29:00 AM More reviews by hotpeenk

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Awesome fall color, it's not grey though.. more of a purpley brown. Didn't think I would like the fat brush but I do!! It makes the application really easy n quick and less mess on the sides of my nails. I used seche vite fast dry top coat over it and so far so good no chipping yet. Kinda pricey though for a drugstore polish ($4 Canadian) but I will definately repurchase and I want more colors cuz the brush is awesome!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/15/2010 8:40:00 PM More reviews by pandabear333

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

i have never been a huge fan of grey nail polishes. i'm super pale and they have usually washed me out and made me look like a zombie. this shade however, has just enough purple to be incredibly flattering on my skintone. it's perfect for fall - a multi-dimensional shade that i imagine would look good on almost everyone. the name is a teeny bit misleading as i wouldn't call it "steel grey" at all, but more of a complex taupe-grey-purple. it has lasted on me for the last week with a sally hansen top coat without any noticable chipping. the brush is very easy to work with and covers my whole nail with one stroke. i got this on sale at walgreens for about two bucks and i couldn't be more pleased! if you're looking for a very pretty and subtle yet trendy color for fall - pick this up!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/13/2010 10:27:00 PM More reviews by xxsimplysweetxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have gotten so many compliments on this color. It's a perfect fall shade...not quite grey or brown, somewhere in between. Two coats for full coverage color. Rimmel has good quality nail polish; not streaky, chip-resistant, and inexpensive. Absolutely love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No