November 27, 2014 | 1518 users online

Cleansers - CeraVe - Hydrating Cleanser



image 0image 1

rated 3.7(515 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 11/27/2013 11:29:00 AM More reviews by Lorel1

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Update: Loved this cleanser at first, but eventually caused my skin to break out!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/12/2013 11:48:00 PM More reviews by prettygirlmo

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Ive been a Master Esthetician for 15 years, and have worked for some great Dermatologists. I also wrote a similar post on Cetaphil's gentle skin cleanser, because people seem to have some confusion over these kind of lotion like cleansers. They are mainly meant for people with dry, and/or sensitive skin. They are also recommended for people with eczema quite frequently because of how it leaves your skin. Dry skin needs the extra moisture from this kind of cleanser, just because it doesn't "lather" or "foam" doesn't mean it's not doing its job cleansing the skin. If you have oily skin get more of a "foaming" cleanser to remove oil. Also I recommend another product like Neutrogena facial wipes to remove makeup first, so it can be out of the way to cleanse the skin better, and to use less product. That's true for any cleanser even though it says it removes makeup. This really is a great product. If for some reason it doesn't work for you, you're not out a lot of money. You should go see an Esthetician or Dermatologist to see what kind of skin you really have, as people get it wrong all the time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/12/2013 7:35:00 PM More reviews by idmanm

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Love this cleanser! It doesn't leave my skin dry and I can use it both day and night. I previously only used cleansers at night because they were too drying for the morning. It doesn't have an overbearing smell which I like. It has a bit of a thicker consistency comparing to other cleansers I've tried before. If your comparing the consistency to cetaphil, it's pretty similar although cetaphil is more runny. The first day I tried it I actually thought I bought the cerave lotion instead since the packaging is so similar.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/4/2013 11:36:00 PM More reviews by Princessadalinee

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a must have for me.
i just adore cerave's products.
they all work so great.
i havent been breaking out at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/3/2013 8:31:00 PM More reviews by 2fit2quit3456

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I usually don't write too many reviews and I "lurk" but when I feel something needs credit or "discredit", I feel it would be a disservice not to state it to you all after everything I read on this site.

This is by far my favorite "gentle" face wash". I don't get bad acne any more so I don't find a need to medicate up my face heavily. I would prefer to keep gentle products on my face that are effective and stack products on top of cerave.

First off: I do like Cerave better than Cetaphil. They are similar in texture and as products but Cerave just makes me look better and I am sure of it. I have experimented a lot between the two and know this is the better one definitely.

One thing I do recommend when applying Cerave is to use a washcloth and really gently scrub and let it sit for 50-60 seconds. It isn't going to hurt your face because it is so gentle.

Price: about 20 dollars for a bottle that lasts a few months. Not the best price but not bad by any means. Definitely worth the cost

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/25/2013 5:03:00 PM More reviews by Mom2Free

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

In comparison to Cetaphil, this is thicker and less runny. It looks exactly like a lotion - so much so that I double checked the label when I first used it.

It was a really nice, gentle cleanser. I think it would be great for morning use or on no make-up/sunscreen days. The bottle is huge so it lasts a long time and is a good value for the money.

Sadly, it did end up clogging me, which was a shame because I really did like it. Since I can't use it on my face, my 5 year old son uses it when he bathes. The pump dispenser is easy enough for him to work with and the product does not irritate his sensitive eczema-prone skin. So I may still repurchase it for him.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/25/2013 4:42:00 PM More reviews by MissTaryne

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I am amazed with this product so far and it's only my 4th day using it (which I am using with the CeraVe PM moisturizer). I almost lost hope for finding the right cleanser/moisturizer for me, as everything I have ever tried has dried out my skin, clogged my pores, or irritated it. This is the FIRST product I have EVER used that doesn't strip all of the natural oils from my face and leaves it feeling soft and smooth. I am finding myself not having to wear as much makeup as this cleanser helps control the redness and unevenness of my skin that I previously had and my pores also appear much smaller! This cleanser has also tremendously helped calm the excess oil my face was producing from the harsh chemicals I was previously using, so now my T-Zone is not blinding people with the shine as it is much more controlled and I don't even have to reapply my powder throughout the day anymore, just a little dab with a tissue (if that) and I'm good to go. I highly recommend this product, I noticed results INSTANTLY. The worst case scenario, you hate it (which I HIGHLY doubt) and if you get it from Target you can get a refund so what's it hurt to try? :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/14/2013 5:23:00 AM More reviews by FeliBxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Ive become a cerave fan! I have tried all kinds of stuff for acne and i truly believe that once i started using cerave products my skin has cleared tremendously! The ceramides really put back the moisture acne treatments take out. No joke. I use this in the morning followed by clean and clear blackhead eraser/scrub and cerave am or pm moisturizer. At night when i take off my makeup i just use c&c continuos control cleanser which is b.p. I picked that up from the botchla regimen and modified it. Seriously if ur having acne problems google botchla regimen! More often than not i take off my makeup and pass out and im still good the next day. Ive tried other salicylic acid/benzoyl peroxide combos n it didnt work so im convinced its the cerave that is keepin my skins barrier balanced. I kno this is a long review i just hope it will help somebody like it did for me! At least pick this up and try it. Its a fair price decent packaging (pump) and lasts a while. U can always use it for something else like shaving or watever. Lol best of luck!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/9/2013 6:59:00 PM More reviews by KillaNerys

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

This is only a cleanser in the sense that wet things will generally get some dirt off of your face. I bought this after reading so many rave reviews about it here and elsewhere. As one who has hecka problems with cleansers being drying and/or irritating, I had super high hopes for this one. I brought it home, raced to the bathtub to slather some on my probably-kinda-dirty face-- and immediately checked the package to make sure I hadn't gone temporarily illiterate in the drugstore. Sure enough, the bottle said C-L-E-A-N-S-E-R and not L-O-T-I-O-N, but I swear that's what was coming out of it. I asked around one of the forums of jolly 17-year-old girls with perfect skin and AmEx Black makeup budgets that I subscribe to, and they all informed me that yes, CeraVa Hydrating Cleanser feels like a lotion but ZOMG ISNT IT TEH BEST CLEANSER EVUR.

No, not really. Cleansers actually, like, clean things. Any they don't leave a sticky, filmy residue behind

Since I'm stuck with the bottle (screw you and your return policies, Drugstore That Shall Not Be Named) I've been using it as a makeup remover. It actually works quite well that way-- wash hands, apply CeraVe Hydrating Not Really A Cleanser to face, rub rub rub, rinse, apply actual cleanser, rub rub rub, rinse. I won't be buying it again though because there are equally gentle and less expensive makeup removers out there that don't pretend they're too cool to be a lotion.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/5/2013 3:48:00 PM More reviews by xenobia1968

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I love this cleanser! It is another of my "go to" products after my TCA chemical peels. After 48 hours of using water only to rinse my face, I start using this. It leaves my skin feeling wonderful. I use it every single day with no ill side effects like breakouts, etc...I'm so glad I found this stuff and Highly recommend it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No