October 24, 2014 | 1745 users online

Cleansers - CeraVe - Hydrating Cleanser



image 0image 1

rated 3.7(512 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 11/4/2013 11:36:00 PM More reviews by Princessadalinee

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a must have for me.
i just adore cerave's products.
they all work so great.
i havent been breaking out at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/3/2013 8:31:00 PM More reviews by 2fit2quit3456

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I usually don't write too many reviews and I "lurk" but when I feel something needs credit or "discredit", I feel it would be a disservice not to state it to you all after everything I read on this site.

This is by far my favorite "gentle" face wash". I don't get bad acne any more so I don't find a need to medicate up my face heavily. I would prefer to keep gentle products on my face that are effective and stack products on top of cerave.

First off: I do like Cerave better than Cetaphil. They are similar in texture and as products but Cerave just makes me look better and I am sure of it. I have experimented a lot between the two and know this is the better one definitely.

One thing I do recommend when applying Cerave is to use a washcloth and really gently scrub and let it sit for 50-60 seconds. It isn't going to hurt your face because it is so gentle.

Price: about 20 dollars for a bottle that lasts a few months. Not the best price but not bad by any means. Definitely worth the cost

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/25/2013 5:03:00 PM More reviews by Mom2Free

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

In comparison to Cetaphil, this is thicker and less runny. It looks exactly like a lotion - so much so that I double checked the label when I first used it.

It was a really nice, gentle cleanser. I think it would be great for morning use or on no make-up/sunscreen days. The bottle is huge so it lasts a long time and is a good value for the money.

Sadly, it did end up clogging me, which was a shame because I really did like it. Since I can't use it on my face, my 5 year old son uses it when he bathes. The pump dispenser is easy enough for him to work with and the product does not irritate his sensitive eczema-prone skin. So I may still repurchase it for him.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/25/2013 4:42:00 PM More reviews by MissTaryne

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I am amazed with this product so far and it's only my 4th day using it (which I am using with the CeraVe PM moisturizer). I almost lost hope for finding the right cleanser/moisturizer for me, as everything I have ever tried has dried out my skin, clogged my pores, or irritated it. This is the FIRST product I have EVER used that doesn't strip all of the natural oils from my face and leaves it feeling soft and smooth. I am finding myself not having to wear as much makeup as this cleanser helps control the redness and unevenness of my skin that I previously had and my pores also appear much smaller! This cleanser has also tremendously helped calm the excess oil my face was producing from the harsh chemicals I was previously using, so now my T-Zone is not blinding people with the shine as it is much more controlled and I don't even have to reapply my powder throughout the day anymore, just a little dab with a tissue (if that) and I'm good to go. I highly recommend this product, I noticed results INSTANTLY. The worst case scenario, you hate it (which I HIGHLY doubt) and if you get it from Target you can get a refund so what's it hurt to try? :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/14/2013 5:23:00 AM More reviews by FeliBxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Ive become a cerave fan! I have tried all kinds of stuff for acne and i truly believe that once i started using cerave products my skin has cleared tremendously! The ceramides really put back the moisture acne treatments take out. No joke. I use this in the morning followed by clean and clear blackhead eraser/scrub and cerave am or pm moisturizer. At night when i take off my makeup i just use c&c continuos control cleanser which is b.p. I picked that up from the botchla regimen and modified it. Seriously if ur having acne problems google botchla regimen! More often than not i take off my makeup and pass out and im still good the next day. Ive tried other salicylic acid/benzoyl peroxide combos n it didnt work so im convinced its the cerave that is keepin my skins barrier balanced. I kno this is a long review i just hope it will help somebody like it did for me! At least pick this up and try it. Its a fair price decent packaging (pump) and lasts a while. U can always use it for something else like shaving or watever. Lol best of luck!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/9/2013 6:59:00 PM More reviews by KillaNerys

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

This is only a cleanser in the sense that wet things will generally get some dirt off of your face. I bought this after reading so many rave reviews about it here and elsewhere. As one who has hecka problems with cleansers being drying and/or irritating, I had super high hopes for this one. I brought it home, raced to the bathtub to slather some on my probably-kinda-dirty face-- and immediately checked the package to make sure I hadn't gone temporarily illiterate in the drugstore. Sure enough, the bottle said C-L-E-A-N-S-E-R and not L-O-T-I-O-N, but I swear that's what was coming out of it. I asked around one of the forums of jolly 17-year-old girls with perfect skin and AmEx Black makeup budgets that I subscribe to, and they all informed me that yes, CeraVa Hydrating Cleanser feels like a lotion but ZOMG ISNT IT TEH BEST CLEANSER EVUR.

No, not really. Cleansers actually, like, clean things. Any they don't leave a sticky, filmy residue behind

Since I'm stuck with the bottle (screw you and your return policies, Drugstore That Shall Not Be Named) I've been using it as a makeup remover. It actually works quite well that way-- wash hands, apply CeraVe Hydrating Not Really A Cleanser to face, rub rub rub, rinse, apply actual cleanser, rub rub rub, rinse. I won't be buying it again though because there are equally gentle and less expensive makeup removers out there that don't pretend they're too cool to be a lotion.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/5/2013 3:48:00 PM More reviews by xenobia1968

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I love this cleanser! It is another of my "go to" products after my TCA chemical peels. After 48 hours of using water only to rinse my face, I start using this. It leaves my skin feeling wonderful. I use it every single day with no ill side effects like breakouts, etc...I'm so glad I found this stuff and Highly recommend it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 10/5/2013 3:17:00 PM More reviews by trickmaus

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I started using this around the time I picked up Retin-A, thinking that my already dry skin would benefit from the extra moisture...but it didn't seem to have any sort of moisturizing effect on my skin at all, besides making me break out. Nothing cystic, thankfully, but my skin definitely experienced some problems with this cleanser. It also left my skin feeling a little filmy.

That being said, it's not very expensive for a pretty big bottle of this stuff, and it should last you a long time. It isn't a TERRIBLE product, but it isn't a great one either. There are plenty of people who have amazing experiences with this, so it might be worth trying out a travel sized bottle and seeing whether it gets along with your skin or not.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 10/3/2013 1:13:00 PM More reviews by CordulaM

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Add me to the list of people who broke out.... Disclaimer...I break out regardless, so there are few things that I KNOW make it worse. This is one of them.

I had been recovering from a period of bad breakouts and was cutting down my routine, sticking to one thing, etc. I bought this to use as a potential AM cleanser to stay hydrated but waited a few weeks until my skin healed for the most part to try it. Well, I did. I was ok with the consistency and even spot tested on my lower left jaw the day before. The next morning, I used it all over. I changed nothing else. By the evening, two or three of my breakouts that were shrinking on my cheek seemed to be wanting to burst. I had been very very careful about NOT touching my face, AT ALL (in terms of picking/popping) because I realized that when I attempted to extract small whiteheads, a few days later they would turn cystic or into pimples, so I had made SURE I didn't do any of that. The next morning, I was swollen under my eyebrows, like a deep cyst was forming in each one, and I hadn't touched that area at all, but now they were sensitive and red and swollen. I ALSO had a few new whiteheads. This is so completely new and sudden, and I just can't trust this cleanser to try again. I also broke out to the foaming and though I loved how my skin felt, I put it together that it was the cleanser. I thought it was the Niacinimide because a few other products with that also irritate me, but it could be more as well. There is something in the CeraVe products that clog many people. (I have used hyaluronic acid as well as ceramides and it was ok....but it could be those or any other ingredient. It's funny that it comes up as non-comedogenic. Yea, right.) Returning this. I just can't. Was going so well, now I have to wait longer to fix this mess.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/24/2013 11:24:00 PM More reviews by NightShift

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Other, Relaxed, Fine Eyes: Brown

*My skin: Very sensitive, rosacea, slightly dry, with micro acne on forehead.

After not being too impressed with this cleanser at first, I have finally figured out the best way to get the most out of it, and it is now one of my favorite cleansers.

The texture of this cleanser is very similar to a gel, if I was to compare it to two others I would say it's a mix between La Roche Posays Toleriane (which is more a lotion consistency) and Cetaphil (which is more watery). It's very easy to work with and glides right over the skin, and feels quite soothing.

I'll say right off this does not get my skin clean ("clean" not stripped ;), and it is very poor at removing my current sunscreen (trying out Elta MDs physical, which is a tinted sunscreen)..as in, it doesn't make it budge at all or really anything for that matter. Makeup? Nope.

But as a *morning* cleanser this is a staple. Using two pumps- I find using a lot of product makes a difference in my case, I massage it all over my face and neck for a good minute. More would probably be better but I'm lazy :) Then, rinse off and I'm left with soft skin that has had its first boost of soothing hydration. I find this is a great start for my skin in the morning, and for me I do not notice a film. But my skin is not terribly oily and is thinner in some areas. If you're very oily you might notice a film, which I think is the cleanser attempting to mimic skin to help those who have a distressed skin barrier.

As for price it's not bad at all, about 11$ USD and CeraVe is pretty good at providing coupons or sales. It's also really nice to use products that I don't have to order online, at least for me!

All in all I think this is a very good, gentle cleanser and if you're quite sensitive I think it's worth a look :)

Thanks for reading!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No