April 19, 2014 | 1432 users online

Fragrances - Parlux - Jessica Simpson Fancy

rated 4.0(294 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/16/2011 2:06:00 AM More reviews by stephani99

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I won't repeat most of what's already been said to describe this, which isn't my strongest point anyway. I'm merely going to echo previous reviews and help the rating by saying this is a wonderful scent for a 'celeb' fragrance, since good ones seem few and far between. "Fancy" as a name doesn't seem to fit this scent for me, because it's not. It's much less ostentatious than that -more like the pretty girl you meet who you expect to be a complete snob and won't give you the time of day, only to be a sweetheart who knits you a scarf in your favorite color just because. Anyway, this is also lovely; not floral nor too fruity, with a good dash of caramel to place it in the 'gourmand' family, but minus the part where I smell like frosting on a birthday cake. Add a bit of spice for more depth and presto. I find the bottle just as attractive as the juice it contains so I couldn't care less whose name they put on it, I just know I like it. Plus at around $20 at Marshalls, it's a definite repurchase when that time comes. Bonus points because my guy likes it just as much as I do which places it firmly in top-shelf territory. He is highly sensitive to everything I spritz so if a fragrance doesn't pass his sniffer (or more accurately, irritates the hell out of it) back it goes. I'm happy I tried this and added to my fragrance collection. It may not be the most unique scent out there but I'm simple: I wear what I like and if it happens to be one that also works with my chemistry so other people like it too, all the better!

)
Edited 2/16/12 to add: I 've recently gotten many compliments on this after I put back in rotation (and coming from women; generally the biggest critics once I get something past my husband as described above) -everything from the generic "you smell good" to "mmmm *looks around*... what IS that?...now I'm hungry..." so regardless of gender apparently this is still a hit and working for me even though I personally got too used to it and cheated on Jessica with Lolita and Ralph over the winter months. But I didn't give up on her, we um, "just took a break" yeah, that's it... and she's just as lovely as the day we met. Aw.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/13/2011 6:00:00 PM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I really like this perfume. It has a vanilla scent mixed with spicey. Kinda like a vanilla cigar. This is my second favorite perfume next to pink sugar.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/30/2011 8:58:00 PM More reviews by bennodalove

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Coarse Eyes: Green

I hated this perfume at first. I got it based solely on the reviews I'd read on makeupalley and was really disappointed with it - it smelt so artificial and cloying. But I have since grown to really like it and find myself reaching for it everyday!

Upon first spray, it's really fruity and strong. I smell mainly pear and apricot. After it settles a bit, it smells a bit less fruity and I get more of the red fruits and caramel notes with just a hint of the pear and apricot left. It's a very warm fragrance...too much for summer time IMO but perfect for the cooler months. It's sweet but not as sickly as pink sugar or britney spears fantasy. Not a candy sweet...more of a warm fruit cake sweet?

Lasting power is really good - 2 spritz last all day without having to reapply. Overall I think it's a nice perfume and I will probably repurchase. I really like the packaging aswell.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/20/2011 6:25:00 PM More reviews by jenifa305

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

This product i find is a product that you either love it or hate it it has a very sweet scent a sort of warm vanilla mixed with sugar and a slight note of caramel.The packaging is very as the perfume is named fancy in a pink lover teenager preppy sort of way .When wearing it a get a couple compliments that i smell edible (i dont know whether it is a compliment) lol ,but it just doesnt fit my personality .I ended up giving it to my 16 year old cousin btw she loved it and so did all her friends. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/15/2011 1:40:00 AM More reviews by Tigerlilyfeet

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I bought Fancy a year ago, and honestly it's one of my favorite vanilla gourmands ever. I always have someone tell me that I smell delicious when I use this. I don't think it smells cheap or artifical at all, and it makes me want to lick my wrist. I imagine that if the same juice was under a Lutens label no one would complain about it ( unless they just hate sweet vanilla florals)..Which to my nose is primarily what Fancy is, a dry jasmine affair with fruits on top, and loads of vanilla and amber grounding it.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/27/2011 9:08:00 AM More reviews by sweetlily2

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I smelled this on a coworker and decided to try it. We're all perfume junkies so no signature-scent stealing going on here. Anyway I love it. If you like Amor Amor, Mugler Angel Innocent, Pink Sugar, all the creamy sweet scents... you will probably like this too. I always get compliments when I wear this too. Love it. I don't want to hear Jessica warble, but good job on the perfume.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/19/2011 4:03:00 PM More reviews by harmony7

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm Hair: Other, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite scent. I only wear perfumes that are sweet, fruity and if I do wear a floral, it HAS to be a fruity floral. This fragrance smells sooo delicious. I love smelling sweet and sugary and this fragrance delivers. I really like the bottle and although the price is a little steep, it can be bought for cheaper at other places. Will continue to buy in the largest size available, but only from Amazon, as it is MUCH cheaper there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/19/2011 10:44:00 AM More reviews by Arik26

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This stuff is called "Fancy" but I like to call it "sugary peach death musk".

An absolute beast..

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/5/2011 10:13:00 AM More reviews by notanotheramy

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I was able to get a bottle of this after Christmas for $9.99 at my local drugstore. I had smelled it before and remember liking it so for the price I thought what the heck.

In a word...SWEEEET! and very, very strong. It is not a horrible scent, I doubt if anyone will gag when you wear this. But be prepared to smell this ALL day, one squirt and I am drowning in my own Fancy haze. I think I will pass this one on to someone, just not doing it for me. I think that if you like Pink Sugar, BBW Warm Vanilla Sugar and the likes you will enjoy this scent.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/3/2011 3:55:00 PM More reviews by oliviamorgan88

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Maybe it's just me, but I hate this perfume. I smelled it on a close friend and loved it on her. I found it on sale for 75% after Christmas one year, so I picked it up to add to my collection. After wearing it a few times, I quickly realized the scent was much too sweet and overpowering for my liking. I can't quite point out what I do not enjoy about it, other than it is extremely sweet. On the pro side, I used to waitress and this perfume would last throughout an entire shift! So, staying power is great!

Is this review helpful? Yes No