July 31, 2014 | 1961 users online

Fragrances - Parlux - Jessica Simpson - Fancy

rated 3.9(297 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/30/2011 11:53:00 AM More reviews by Magixz

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I hate bringing ratings down on products but here goes anyway. I wanted to try this one but I did not want to drop the $ for a larger bottle without spraying first. Done this before and paid for something I can't use, so I bought a sample bottle. Sure glad I opted out of the big one! At first sniff, I thought it was kind of nice, sweet, very sweet, but nice enough. It was in the dry down that I really started to dislike this scent so much so, I had to try wash it off. It really holds! I washed, and it still lingered, only now with another scent that I really can not tolerate. Not sure what that note is that stays hard on my skin but it does not set well with my body chemistry.
I can see how a young girl would like this fragrance though. It smells very nice on the take off, but on me it is just sooo sweet. It is literally sticky on my skin! LOL I am pretty sure they do not put sugar into the mix, right?
I will not be buying a bigger bottle of this one. The bottle itself is rather unique in design so I gave it a 5. The price is reasonable so a 2. The overall rating I gave a generous 2 because even though it turned into a horrible icky smell on my skin, it does smell pretty at first, and it last a very long time.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/24/2011 11:54:00 AM More reviews by ChantellyLace

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

This has been my signature scent for a few years now. I love anything vanilla. I get SO many compliments when I wear it! It lasts a full 8 hours and the pink bottle is so pretty!
It's almost 80 CND for the large bottle....but a few times a year Shoppers Drug Mart puts it on sale for 20 bucks and I stock up!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/21/2011 5:49:00 AM More reviews by caydesugar

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love this scent! It's everything I ever wanted! Fruity and sweet and vanilla! I love to smell like a cupcake! Literally! Haha. The initial spritz is fruity and I can smell red berries with a twist of slight apricot. Simply delish! And then an hour or so later, the caramel notes are more detectable than the inital spray. Then hours later, the drydown... The fruity smell is all gone and I am left with a vanilla note. It somehow reminds me of pancakes haha. Mm...! :)

I'm very picky when it comes to choosing scents. And this scent is just my fav! :)
Highly recommended for people who love fruity, sweet, vanilla scents!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/16/2011 2:06:00 AM More reviews by stephani99

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I won't repeat most of what's already been said to describe this, which isn't my strongest point anyway. I'm merely going to echo previous reviews and help the rating by saying this is a wonderful scent for a 'celeb' fragrance, since good ones seem few and far between. "Fancy" as a name doesn't seem to fit this scent for me, because it's not. It's much less ostentatious than that -more like the pretty girl you meet who you expect to be a complete snob and won't give you the time of day, only to be a sweetheart who knits you a scarf in your favorite color just because. Anyway, this is also lovely; not floral nor too fruity, with a good dash of caramel to place it in the 'gourmand' family, but minus the part where I smell like frosting on a birthday cake. Add a bit of spice for more depth and presto. I find the bottle just as attractive as the juice it contains so I couldn't care less whose name they put on it, I just know I like it. Plus at around $20 at Marshalls, it's a definite repurchase when that time comes. Bonus points because my guy likes it just as much as I do which places it firmly in top-shelf territory. He is highly sensitive to everything I spritz so if a fragrance doesn't pass his sniffer (or more accurately, irritates the hell out of it) back it goes. I'm happy I tried this and added to my fragrance collection. It may not be the most unique scent out there but I'm simple: I wear what I like and if it happens to be one that also works with my chemistry so other people like it too, all the better!

)
Edited 2/16/12 to add: I 've recently gotten many compliments on this after I put back in rotation (and coming from women; generally the biggest critics once I get something past my husband as described above) -everything from the generic "you smell good" to "mmmm *looks around*... what IS that?...now I'm hungry..." so regardless of gender apparently this is still a hit and working for me even though I personally got too used to it and cheated on Jessica with Lolita and Ralph over the winter months. But I didn't give up on her, we um, "just took a break" yeah, that's it... and she's just as lovely as the day we met. Aw.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/13/2011 6:00:00 PM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I really like this perfume. It has a vanilla scent mixed with spicey. Kinda like a vanilla cigar. This is my second favorite perfume next to pink sugar.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/30/2011 8:58:00 PM More reviews by bennodalove

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Coarse Eyes: Green

I hated this perfume at first. I got it based solely on the reviews I'd read on makeupalley and was really disappointed with it - it smelt so artificial and cloying. But I have since grown to really like it and find myself reaching for it everyday!

Upon first spray, it's really fruity and strong. I smell mainly pear and apricot. After it settles a bit, it smells a bit less fruity and I get more of the red fruits and caramel notes with just a hint of the pear and apricot left. It's a very warm fragrance...too much for summer time IMO but perfect for the cooler months. It's sweet but not as sickly as pink sugar or britney spears fantasy. Not a candy sweet...more of a warm fruit cake sweet?

Lasting power is really good - 2 spritz last all day without having to reapply. Overall I think it's a nice perfume and I will probably repurchase. I really like the packaging aswell.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/20/2011 6:25:00 PM More reviews by jenifa305

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

This product i find is a product that you either love it or hate it it has a very sweet scent a sort of warm vanilla mixed with sugar and a slight note of caramel.The packaging is very as the perfume is named fancy in a pink lover teenager preppy sort of way .When wearing it a get a couple compliments that i smell edible (i dont know whether it is a compliment) lol ,but it just doesnt fit my personality .I ended up giving it to my 16 year old cousin btw she loved it and so did all her friends. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/15/2011 1:40:00 AM More reviews by Tigerlilyfeet

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I bought Fancy a year ago, and honestly it's one of my favorite vanilla gourmands ever. I always have someone tell me that I smell delicious when I use this. I don't think it smells cheap or artifical at all, and it makes me want to lick my wrist. I imagine that if the same juice was under a Lutens label no one would complain about it ( unless they just hate sweet vanilla florals)..Which to my nose is primarily what Fancy is, a dry jasmine affair with fruits on top, and loads of vanilla and amber grounding it.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/27/2011 9:08:00 AM More reviews by sweetlily2

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I smelled this on a coworker and decided to try it. We're all perfume junkies so no signature-scent stealing going on here. Anyway I love it. If you like Amor Amor, Mugler Angel Innocent, Pink Sugar, all the creamy sweet scents... you will probably like this too. I always get compliments when I wear this too. Love it. I don't want to hear Jessica warble, but good job on the perfume.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/19/2011 4:03:00 PM More reviews by harmony7

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm Hair: Other, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite scent. I only wear perfumes that are sweet, fruity and if I do wear a floral, it HAS to be a fruity floral. This fragrance smells sooo delicious. I love smelling sweet and sugary and this fragrance delivers. I really like the bottle and although the price is a little steep, it can be bought for cheaper at other places. Will continue to buy in the largest size available, but only from Amazon, as it is MUCH cheaper there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No