July 29, 2014 | 1032 users online

Mascara - Estee Lauder - Sumptuous

rated 4.0(279 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 71% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/13/2012 2:14:00 PM More reviews by OSusanna

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Better than basic drugstore. Nice inky black color, provides good definition and volume. Brush is a little unique and allows me to get into the out corners very well. Probably will be my next department store brand buy. Appears to wear well and doesn't flake. I'm pleased about that since the formula is not waterproof and so therefore it removes easily.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/5/2012 1:40:00 AM More reviews by ashlutes

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

BEST mascara ever used. Gives you more of a smokey-eye kind of look, not so much long and curly. So gorgeous, I finally found my go-to mascara! Doesn't flake either!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/4/2012 8:14:00 PM More reviews by Marianad

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This is just terrible in every possible way. Thankgod I bought it on sale.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/27/2011 9:00:00 AM More reviews by KimNL

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Grey

This is the first mascara that curls my lashes and keeps them curled. Its helpfull for length and curl. If you are looking for volume this might not be the mascara for you. It is volumizing enough for me, but I can imagine its not enough for people with spars lashes.

This is my HG mascara <3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/2/2011 5:31:00 PM More reviews by Jessabell

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

EDIT: tried one or two other ones but this is the BEST!! WILL NEVER USE ANOTHER MASCARA AGAIN

I own the Sumptous bold volume, the deep blue one. I recieved it in a gift package and was hooked!... IMO it is actually the best mascara out there, i absolutely adore it and have bought two new ones since. it is my absolute HG mascara! LOVE!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/28/2011 10:24:00 PM More reviews by mocolait

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

First let me say that I have short, Asian lashes that will not hold a curl no matter what application method I use or waterproof mascara I apply. I also used to believe there was no difference between drugstore brands vs. department brands. Anyways, I've tried Rimmel Sexy Curves (waterproof), Rimmel Lash Maxxx (pink), Maybelline Great Lash (waterproof), Covergirl Lash Blast (orange tube), and Clinique High Impact something or other and none of these would give me beautiful clump-and-flake free curled lashes. But this, WOW. Love it, enough said.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/22/2011 1:09:00 PM More reviews by cindy007

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

There are only two mascaras which cause people to comment on my lashes, and this is one of them. I received a gift with purchase which had this mascara and the primer. When used together, they make the best lashes. Long and full without the clumping normally found with volumizing mascaras. Please note that the magical results only occur when you use the Estee Lauder primer (no other brand) and the Sumptuous mascara together.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/22/2011 9:43:00 AM More reviews by Sianyy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I first tried this in the sample version from their website, i currently only use mid-price mascara's like Bourjouis, Revlon etc. So i thought It would be nice to try a higher end one. What can i say? WOW. Words can't describe the effects this has on my lashes!! Just one coat transforms them instantly, it looks as if i'm wearing false lashes! My lashes are quite long naturally, but this mascara makes them look fantastic. No other mascara has given me length volume and hold all in one. I'll NEVER go back to anything else now, infact i've thrown all my other mascaras out. The only downfall is that it's pricey, i managed to knock a few pounds off by shopping around but it's still expensive, however because it works i'm willing to pay the extra price. :D

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/11/2011 6:33:00 PM More reviews by bobbypinbomb

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I got this as a sample...but I'm glad I didn't pay money for it. It's really basic stuff...it isn't awful, but I've seen way better for way less.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/24/2011 10:00:00 AM More reviews by KeyWestBum

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I have the mini version of this mascara and the full name is (Sumptuous Bold Volume Lifting Mascara). I LOVE the brush on this. I have very tiny lashes at the inner corner of the eyes and most if not all brushes are too big for these lashes and I get mascara on my lid. I'm a layer freak and I don't even bother with mascara if I don't layer at least four coats. Sumpuous does not clump or make lashes look like spider legs even after five coats. I find that I get better length with this mascara instead of volume. If you want a lot of volume, you really have to layer this up. I find that this didn't weigh down my lashes and held my natural curl nicely. Also, I didn't experience any flakes by the end of the day.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No