November 27, 2014 | 1564 users online

Primer/ Corrector - Laura Mercier - Foundation Primer Oil -Free



image 0

rated 2.9(194 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.9
  • 45% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 4/29/2011 2:10:00 PM More reviews by kindofobsessed

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I'm so glad to know I'm not the only girl in the world who disliked this product. I returned it and the Sephora associate looked at me like I was nuts. I just feel like I could have put a hand lotion on my face to achieve the same effect. It didn't control oil at all, in fact, I think it made it worse. It didn't have any of the benefits of a silicone-based moisturizer (I knew that going in, but it just further proves my point), and felt mask-like. My face wanted it off the second it was applied.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/15/2011 12:13:00 PM More reviews by pearce38

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have laura mercier hydrating primer is lovely product and really gives good base for your makeup. Wish was a bit cheaper £28 pounds space NK but does last a while as only need small amount. Will be buying nars primer next time had makeover and found this lot more moistursing plus has spf12 included and £25.00.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/15/2011 11:10:00 AM More reviews by sunday1966

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Neutral Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Black

I don't agree with all the negative reviews. This primer doesn't feel oily or sticky once it's applied. My foundation went on really well and I needed less foundation than usual, when I don't use a primer.


I think there's a difference between an oil free primer and a primer that actually mattifies the skin. This primer is oil free but it's not a miracle worker when it comes to oil control.


It's good enough for my oily skin though. It's not overly drying, doesn't emphasize fine lines and does not block my pores. I will probably buy it again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/14/2011 2:34:00 AM More reviews by Rety

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine Eyes: Brown

I really want to love this LM product because many of my friends suggest this to me. However it made my skin feel like "tingle", which push me on the fence side. It doesn't contribute to "oil control" for me, and it didn't goes on very well with my GA LSF; but the loose setting powder by LM did a good job on oil control and flawless skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/13/2011 5:36:00 PM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

This is by far one of the worst primers I have used next to the MUFE HD primer. It doesn't smooth out my face or make my foundation last any longer. I felt it made my face oilier than usual as well.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/23/2011 12:27:00 AM More reviews by DaisleyBur

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

My makeup artist friend put me onto this primer and I am SO glad she did. I use Estee Lauder Double Wear foundation (1C1 Shell 15) and was having trouble with it staying put. It would start to shine after an hour or so and would easily come off, but the colour match and coverage are pretty much perfect, after hunting high and low for years, so I didn't want to change foundations.

I've used this primer several times, and have found it's best applied when my face has been exfoliated within the last few days, and has been moisturised about half an hour before. Whilst this primer is pretty expensive, a little bit really does goes a long way, and it feel so light and silky smooth, not heavy and sticky like others I've tried, it really melts into my skin beautifully. I wait about 10-15 minutes before I put my foundation on, and then once the foundation is on I blot powder over the top with Benefit's Get Even in 01. This keeps my face even, matt and covers nearly all my acne and scars (I have a few that not even paint would cover!)

I took 1 lippie off the rating because my foundation still doesn't last ALL DAY, but I don't think any product will, and I also took 1 off for the price, as it is rather expensive, although worth it. I'm completely sold on this primer, and will continue to buy it as long as they make it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/20/2011 1:41:00 PM More reviews by addicted2products

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have sensitive skin so I have to use the oil free version instead of the regular version, which is a shame since the regular version is smoother, more hydrating, works better IMO. But this oil free version doesn't make my dry cheeks burn or break me out in the T-zone (like the regular version does). This is NOT HG, but I have repurchased enough times that I will continue to use this until I find something I like better. I do NOT like the packaging. I prefer a pump to the squeeze tube. When you don't have a lot of product left, even a light squeeze of the tube has caused the product to spurt out everywhere. Regarding the price -- a little bit goes a LONG way, so I think it is quite reasonably priced.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/13/2011 12:58:00 AM More reviews by TakenByHim

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Dry, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I like this primer but it's not a miracle product or anything. It does help my foundation last a bit longer. I have dry skin and with this, everything goes on more smoothly..foundation, blush, highlighter, etc. These products seem to sink into my skin better and look more natural. The biggest difference I notice is that my blushes apply more pigmented and last hours longer which is great and I've never experenced this effect with other primers. I can't comment on what it does for pores because my pores are small. So far, this is the best primer I've used and I've tried primers from NARS, Korres, Victoria's Secret, Smashbox, and the famous Monistat Anti-Chafing lotion. I wouldn't rebuy this though..I'd rather try something new to be onest.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/8/2011 11:06:00 AM More reviews by Cyndiiisayshi

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I HATE THIS! Made my face oily -_-
save your money.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/7/2011 5:45:00 PM More reviews by HlovesK

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

My face is so oily from this primer...I do not have oily skin in the first place. I feel like my foundation slides around BECAUSE of this primer. Absolutely awful. And I don't think it smells that great either. Why does Sephora have it on their shelf of best primers??

Is this review helpful? Yes No