July 22, 2014 | 1257 users online

Highlighters - Bobbi Brown - Beige Shimmer Brick Shimmerbrick



image 0

rated 4.3(178 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 78% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 8/23/2005 9:02:00 PM More reviews by lenish

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

For some reason I was never interested in Bobby Brown cosmetics....BUT Shimmer Brick Beige caught my eye! And I HAD to have it no matter what! I did not even try it!Gotta tell you: beautiful colours,nice packaging. But what a mistake it was...The colours give you nice shimmer for about 2 hours! and that's it!!! They sink into the skin leaving no colour behind at all.So,I thought ,maybe my skin is too oily and I need some eye shadow base .I got L'Oreal De-Crease Eye Shadow base(which is by the way soooooooo awesome with any other eyeshadows!!!!)....but it did not work out....in about 2 hours it was the same mess all over again....So not worth 25 $!
Hopefully other girls have better luck with it.)))

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/18/2005 5:58:00 PM More reviews by purelai

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Why did I wait so long to get it? Bobbi Brown Beige Shimmerbrick is so beautiful!!! And it's very versatile too. I use the individual shades as e/s, or use the entire compact on my cheekbones to highlight. It gives the best highlight too, makes my skin looks absolutely glowy (in a very natural way). This is probably my fav Shimmerbrick by far.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/22/2005 3:19:00 PM More reviews by shimmering

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I love this highlighter. It is a great color for pale skin. Shows a great glow. Would buy over and over.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/15/2005 10:25:00 AM More reviews by kks1977

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I don't really like to use this as a highlighter because it has too much sparkle and shimmer for my taste. I like to use it to highlight my eyes though. I probably will not buy it again since I can just use an eyeshadow to do the same thing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/14/2005 10:38:00 PM More reviews by maddiesmom4

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to love this Shimmerbrick, and because I do love alot of products in Bobbi's line, I ran out to buy it without knowing that much about it. I assumed that anything by Bobbi Brown would look natural/neutral, so how bad could it be, right? My first thought on seeing it in the store (I didn't test it first) was that it was overly shimmery but was told that the shimmer would be subtle. Well, unfortunately, this bronzer tends to look pearly/white on me and I feel that I look somewhat too sparkly. I also don't feel I was heavy-handed in my application. I have also tried the colors individually as e/s and still feel that there is too much shimmer for my liking. Overall, I gave this product 3 lippies because I have had it in my collection for some time, but never reach for it due to the reasons stated above. Long story short, off to swap it goes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/7/2005 1:27:00 PM More reviews by dreamygal08

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this! I heard so much about shimmerbricks forever and had wanted one forever, well I finally got one and I think it lives up to my expectations! It makes me have a "candle lit glow"! I never wear this during the day, but for a night out this is amazing! I love the colors in the beige shimmerbrick, they work very well together. This just adds a little color to my skin, brightening it up! Great!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 6/25/2005 9:49:00 PM More reviews by JLB2005

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I got this in 2004. I liked it for quite a while and I used a very light touch on the cheekbones and sometimes around the eyes (lids, tear duct). In general, however, I find it far too harshly sparkly for me (I'm 40 yrs old). I much prefer Laura Mercier - Illuminating Powder (mine is the Pink Quad) as it is more subtle and easier to use. Like many others - my Shimmerbrick broke, which made me very angry. I travel alot and appreciate a sturdy product!

EDIT over two years later....I put the powdered mess into a ziplock and use it all the time as eyeshadow and/or highlighter at the tear ducts. Use it all the time now, and quite like it. Is a great bronze-y neutral for my olive skin. Still, it's too expensive and fragile for something that I dot in the corners of my eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/16/2005 1:52:00 PM More reviews by lisa2000

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

In general, I like this Beige Shimmerbrick. It does look very nice when first applied, however, I find that as the day goes on (maybe 2-3 hours) I look a bit shiny ! I feel that the product does not stay true and breaks down after a little bit of time. Applying the Shimmerbrick on top does not solve the problem, I must apply a regular pressed powder and then the Shimmer brick in order to attain the initial look.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/12/2005 4:21:00 PM More reviews by GypsyMoth

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Amazing product! I use it as a highlighter and it far surpasses anything I've ever tried. Manages to give just the right amount of radiance and can be used with as little or as much makeup as you want - it always manages to look good. Make sure to use a good quality brush, with appropriate sizing for what you plan to do with it (i.e. blush, highlighter, all over shimmer - whatever) as it will drastically impact the ease and outcome of application.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/4/2005 5:33:00 PM More reviews by ocmommy

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I am really loving this product! I have the Beige, Rose and Bronze, but use them for different looks. I'll review them all here for comparison.


The Beige is perfect for giving me a soft focus glow without adding any color. It's perfect with all blushes, lipsticks, etc. The shimmer is not glittery, or noticeable at all. Subtle and lovely.


The Rose is beautiful as a blush. On my very pale skin, the pink shows up too much and ends up making me look glowy and sunburned. :P I use this just on my cheekbones and the effect is a delicate pink blush with the hint of shimmer.


The Bronze is stunning and probably my favorite right now. This I can get away with using a bit more liberally as it just works as a bronzer would. If I want to add more color on my cheeks, NARS Taos blush goes exceptionally well. This also works great as eyeshadow.


I had, and subsequently returned the Pink. It is light like the Beige, but gives a silvery cast to the skin. I was looking for more of the warm, candle light effect. The Beige accomplishes this perfectly.


I really suggest getting the brush to go with the Shimmer Brick. None of my other brushes gave me the same effortless application and buffed finish. continued >>

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No