August 1, 2014 | 1024 users online

Eye Shadow - MAC - Matte - Espresso

rated 4.5(184 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 87% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 6/17/2010 4:07:00 PM More reviews by Lisalisa29

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

This is my favorite eyeshadow from MAC. I use it along with MAC fluidline in the color dip down for liner and I get awesome smokey eyes. If they ever discontinue this color, I'll be so mad!!! Been using it for years! It stays on forever, goes on like a dream....the best color brown for me in a matte finish. I get the most compliments on my eyes when I use this shade and I own a lot of eyeshadows. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/8/2010 10:41:00 AM More reviews by Hothead

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

if you like chocolate ES, matte and perfect, this is the shade for you.

it works beautifully as a contour color, an eyebrow color, a lower lid definer, or a total lid color for a dark chocolate smokey eye.

it is a classic... it is a must for most women who want a brown eye shadow with life since it is not muddy, red or too dark.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/8/2010 10:00:00 AM More reviews by Jasminexxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This is my favourite eyeshadow by MAC. I bought 4 eyeshadows plus a 4 palette which cost me about 45 so that was quite expensive but it seems to be worth it.

Espresso is a nice chocolatey matte colour, I use this to create a smokey brown eye. I also use it on my eyebrows after finding that Kim Kardashian does the same. I always find eyeshadows are worth putting the money in for, because cheaper eyeshadows often shimmer or are transparent. Others have said this has poor colour but I disagree, it goes on perfectly for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/5/2010 11:25:00 PM More reviews by NIENEL

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is such a versatile eyeshadow. I use this eyeshadow to fill in my eyebrows. I have black hair and this eyeshadow looks perfect for my eyebrows. It makes my eyebrows look very natural and definitely does not look harsh.


This eyeshadow is also great as a crease color. For my "smokey" eye, I use this eyeshadow in my crease. It isn't as dark as a black but gives a nice smoked out look. You can also wear this color on it's own for all over the lid.


I would personally purchase this product over and over again. For an eyeshadow that is so versatile, I've had my shadow for over a year!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/28/2010 12:58:00 PM More reviews by mrsleonidas

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Perfect brown with...... no red or orange undertones.


A lot of browns tend to look a little black, when they do not have any red or orange tones in them.


But.......not this one! Yay


It really is a true cool brown! Perfect!


Perfect for the crease.


Perfect for my eye brows! It gives a natural brown look.


H.G. Status!!!! For sure! Yay!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/8/2010 3:29:00 PM More reviews by island_honey

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This looks great on my NC40 skintone. I love to place this in my crease or on the lid. It blends easily and has good staying power. If I ever was out of brow powder-this can be used for it. I use Espresso in almost all of my eye looks. I love this color and will repurchase it in the future.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/3/2010 12:44:00 PM More reviews by RJJ

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Wonderful crease colour! really nice deep brown! it's a matte and really pigmented!
Great for creating a neutral smokey eye!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/21/2010 2:45:00 PM More reviews by kmaness930

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I purchased this and bronze together, wasn't smart, they're the same color, except bronze is a shimmer. I like bronze better, but if you a matte person, this one is for you. It's a great crease color.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/20/2010 2:23:00 AM More reviews by sammiesp93

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this color! It's my favorite brown color from MAC, I use it for the crease alot though. It's great for smoky eyes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/13/2010 1:43:00 PM More reviews by careypiper

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This was my second MAC e/s and I just wasn't impressed. I purchased this in the refill pan it's a neutral black/brown in a matte finish, not a muted golden brown like MAC description.


I've read review where they've mentioned that the top layer had to be scraped off before they were happy with it. For me it should work just as I purchase it and this just didn't work. Chalky, not blend-able and to dark (harsh) for a natural look.


For reference I'm a NW/NC 25 or Light-Medium with Neutral/Beige Undertone

Is this review helpful? Yes No