October 25, 2014 | 1610 users online

Other - MAC - Back-2-MAC Recycling Program



image 0

rated 4.7(211 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.7
  • 97% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.5
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 12/21/2010 8:01:00 PM More reviews by emivnc

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I think this is a fantastic program. I have heard all kinds of feedback about it being inconsistent, etc., and I agree that it would be great if they had a list of exactly which products were and weren't eligible for B2M on their website (maybe as a little recycling icon on the page of each product that is eligible) and in the store. But even if all they accepted were eyeshadow containers or lipstick tubes it is still a wonderful program. That they offer recycling at all is a wonderful thing given the amount cosmetic containers that get thrown out, but that they also give the added incentive of providing free product - any free product - is just a bonus in my opinion. I am a huge fan and advocate and love being able to gather up my empties and get a treat every month or two!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/16/2010 12:20:00 PM More reviews by Phanatical28

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

B2M is a fantastic program with great incentives for any heavy MAC user and makeup lover. I do not find it to be inconsistent at all. If you return 6 empties of ANY PRIMARY PACKAGING, ie a wipe pack, foundation bottle, lipstick, you can receive one of three different choices - a lipstick with the exception of Viva Glam, as all proceeds from those go to charity so they won't forfeit charitable donations to give it to you for free, an eye shadow, OR a lipglass. If you B2M at a counter, not a freestanding store, you can only choose a lipstick. Products don't even have to be empty! I absolutely hated a moisturizer I tried, and B2M'd the half-used container with no issues. So far, with every counter/store I've B2M'd with across the country, the policies have been very consistent.

I've been told they're going to stop accepting depotted shadow containers (meaning the plastic container missing the metal pan w/ shadow in it, that has been removed and placed into a palette), but as I have not recycled one in quite some time, I am unsure as to where that stands. Keep in mind you CAN B2M Viva Glam products, just anywhere I've ever recycled at has told me you cannot get them in return. Also, they do accept specially packaged products to recycle, but they are another product you cannot get in return, just like you can't use a Pro Card discount on them.

It makes me feel better about not just tossing my old containers to go to the landfill, and in return for recycling, I get another product I want to try, or is a staple! Wonderful idea that I wished more companies used.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/17/2010 7:09:00 PM More reviews by lorrainelovesmakeup

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Other, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

No consistency at ALL

I've taken in a few items and received a lipstick, however rules are always changing on what they take back.
I went and they said they dont take?/ limited edition containers (ok..cant recycle or what?!) Then slimshine was a no-no. Then pro-longwear. So basically they wont take anything limited edition or discontinued...its just annoying that they are attempting to recycle, but dont want to recylce. They should just put an empty bin to place your empties- and/ or loose all the excessive packaging

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/27/2010 9:30:00 PM More reviews by VioletBick

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Great program not complaining but just sharing my opinion. I took a lippie off because there is NO consistency at all. For example, I went today to a pro store to pick up a free lustre gloss that I always get when I earn a freebie and was stopped hard. Everytime I go it's a whole new policy - sometimes you can get a Viva glam, plush or lustre glass, but today it was ONLY a lipglass (besides the usual e/s & lipstick) and was told that it was NOT a new policy. Always changes depending on who is working. Not a huge deal because it's a great program but would just appreciate a consistent company policy.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/12/2010 5:30:00 PM More reviews by CarlaN

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Count me among the many who love this program!

I'm disabled, and it's very difficult for me to go to the mall or a store, so when I do a Back To MAC transaction, it must be via mail.

I've all but stopped doing this, because 1)It's a hassle, 2)It costs about as much to ship my empties to MAC as it would to just order the durn lipstick, and 3)I can't see the lipsticks in person, so that makes choosing a bit difficult.

HOWEVER, I have a couple of friends whom I've "converted" to MAC, so I just pass along my MAC containers to them, and they can take them to the store or counter.

Everybody wins: I get rid of some clutter,my friends get a nice treat, and MAC gets some business!

The only "catch," and it's a minor one, is that I have to remember not to throw out any MAC products once I'm through with them!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/12/2010 2:36:00 PM More reviews by marippe

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

who doesn't love b2m!?! amazing <3

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/12/2010 2:33:00 PM More reviews by pf3855

Age: 44-55 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I LOVE B2MAC!! It's a fabulous concept that I wish other cosmetics companies would do. It's a win-win for everyone!! I've gotten so many lipsticks I might not otherwise have bought, some have turned to be favorites, some not so much, but I just B2MAC the ones I'm not so crazy about!! I get about 2 lipsticks/eyeshadows/glosses a month by using this program and I can't say enough good things about it. I keep a MAC plastic bag in my bathroom hanging on the back of the door and as I empty an item I throw it in the bag!! Love this!! I feel guilty when buying other brands of cosmetics knowing I can't recycle the container.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/12/2010 2:30:00 PM More reviews by thejuicy

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

What else is there to say about this fantastic program? instead of throwing away your used containers you get to trade them in for a lipstick/shadow/gloss of your choice. I have gotten many many things thanks to this program, hope they never stop ! yayy MAC :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/12/2010 2:16:00 PM More reviews by Asti1234

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Fantastic concept. I just wish that all stores/counters had the same policies as everywhere seems to be different. Some stores accept depotted eyehadows (luckily mine does) and some don't. My store won't let me choose LE lipsticks as my B2M item which annoys me but then again it is free so who am I to complain? Apart from these minor things I think it is an excellent way of recycling and also trying out new lipsticks that you might not normally wear. Xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/12/2010 1:54:00 PM More reviews by Giannina

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Love this program, I've gotten 3 free lipsticks so far :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No