The Body Shop Coconut Lip Butter

3.1

110 reviews

47% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS



on 10/30/2004 12:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The Body Shop lip butters are highly emollient and smell yummy ( I have coconut, mango and grapeseed) and deposit no color on your lips (well, sort of - the grapeseed leaves a whitish cast). They mosturize and add a subtle gloss, but don't last long at all. They don't taste good either, and can gunk up in the pot with too much temperature variance. When I used this regularly I found I became quite addicted to re-applying. I wouldn't repurchase since I actually prefer (eek) Bonnie Bell. There, I said it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 9/15/2004 10:19:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Iīm a big fan of the coconut bodybutter, so I was very anxious to try this lipbutter. Personally I found this lipbalm a little bit to greasy, especially under lipstick or gloss. It does moisturize, but only if you re-apply every few hours. You really need to use this balm sparingly, or -if you use to much- rub it in really well, otherwise it leaves a white residue on your lips. I wasnīt a big fan of the jar either, because itīs almost impossible to get any stuff out if you have long nails like I do. The smell and taste are delicious though. I donīt think I will repurchase this again, because there are a million other lipbalms that are a lot better, cheaper and easier to use...


on 9/15/2004 10:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Iīm a big fan of the coconut bodybutter, so I was very anxious to try this lipbutter. Personally I found this lipbalm a little bit to greasy, especially under lipstick or gloss. It does moisturize, but only if you re-apply every few hours. You really need to use this balm sparingly, or -if you use to much- rub it in really well, otherwise it leaves a white residue on your lips. I wasnīt a big fan of the jar either, because itīs almost impossible to get any stuff out if you have long nails like I do. The smell and taste are delicious though. I donīt think I will repurchase this again, because there are a million other lipbalms that are a lot better, cheaper and easier to use...


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The Coconut Lip Butter cost eight dollars, and smells nothing like the coconut body butter. I also noticed my lips started peeling after use, and left a white tint on my lips after applying.

The lip butter is very sensitive to heat, so if it's hot out I'll put it in the fridge for about twenty minutes or so, so that it won't melt.

I don't think I'll buy this again.


on 8/16/2004 4:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this because the concept of lip butters is just so cute, plus it has a luscious coconut smell. At first I liked it because it goes on slippery-smooth, but after repeated uses, I don't think it's actually very moisturizing. (My mom and my sister tried it too, and they both thought it was drying.) My old standby cherry Chapstick is definitely more moisturizing and more emollient, that's for sure. I don't think I would repurchase this, but it's a pleasant product to try.


on 8/11/2004 7:17:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love the smell, but did nothing for moisturizing. It actually dried my lips and they start peeling every time I put it on.


on 7/9/2004 3:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

At first I thought this stuff was way too oily. But then I started applying it nightly before bed - voila! My lips actually becam silkier and the rough skin that usually accumulates around my lipline vanished. Eureka! This can feel kind of thin and oily so I usually layer it on top of l/s during the day to improve wear. The coconut scent is light but to me it didn't smell artificial at all. The Papaya scent is also nice.


on 6/12/2004 2:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I love the bodyshop body butters, and I love the smell of coconut, so I was excited to try this. What can I say, eh, it's ok. The scent is definitely yummy, but my lips sometimes feel a little strange when this is on, almost irritated. It's a little waxy, almost seems to dry up rather than absorp. Won't repurchase.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I thought the smell was great and yummy in the beginning. After a few weeks of using it, I am getting really sick of the smell. I have to take breaks from using it so that the smell doesn't make me sick.

It is pretty mositurizing and the taste & texture of it isn't too bad.


on 4/17/2004 6:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I gave this a 4, because I usually HATE coconut, but I really like this stuff. It's smooth, and it smells a bit like sunscreen. :)

The drawback is that I usually don't like balms in a pot, and if you aren't careful, this turns your lips a tiny bit white.

Otherwise, it's great. Although, the Shea smells kind of similar, and deposits no color. But, I think I actually like Coconut best.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
Baby Lips Lip Balm
1532 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
Prep + Prime Lip
178 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
Beeswax Lip Balm
3610 Reviews

Top Rated Lip Treatments



Top Rated The Body Shop Products

Back to Top