January 30, 2015 | 1110 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Satin Lipstick - MAC Red

rated 4.4(134 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 83% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 3/22/2010 10:03:00 PM More reviews by jewelryvixen305

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Wellll I had never worn anything on my full thick lips that wasn't neutral and after doing a photo shoot and seeing how great I looked in colored lips, I decided to step all the way out of the box and I love how red looks on Ri Ri. Once the MUA put this on me I was sold. I wore it to fund raiser and got lots of compliments.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/16/2010 9:41:00 AM More reviews by PhanieRajh

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Staple bright red lipstick (NC44). Wear it with neutral eyes and tons of mascara/lashes. Gets lots of compliments!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/11/2010 10:35:00 PM More reviews by blubutterfly04

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I was scared to try this, my red staple was dubbonet. Not anymore, I love MAC REd, its so sexy!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/9/2010 2:17:00 PM More reviews by bilsy213

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This does not look good on me at all. I am an NC30 and this made me look really pale. Maybe I am not into that bold red lip. This is definitely the type of lipstick that you need to try on before you buy it. I will stick with MAC Lady Bug instead.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/24/2010 5:12:00 PM More reviews by Hellcandy

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my absolute HG red. I am a NC25 and I think this red is just a little bit more vibrant than Russian Red. It glides on wonderfully, lasts an age, and doesn't have that drying effect that Russian Red can often have.
Mac Red is a very bold red and will definitely get you noticed :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/14/2010 9:12:00 PM More reviews by shanstuff

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is a great, hot, creamy, blue-based red that is my go-to for those days when I really feel like standing out from the crowd. It is hydrating and lasting, and doesn't bleed. I've loved it from day one. It's perfect for fair, cool-toned skin. Pair it with a light neutral eye and long black lashes and you have a look to die for!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/20/2009 11:16:00 AM More reviews by Thrizyl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I should have known better than to get this colour.


I am new to makeup and now getting the hang of my skin undertone and what works with me and what does not.


This lipstick just does not look great at all on my NW43 skin. I did however pay $120TTD for it so I will be incorporating it with an couple other colours to make it work.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/11/2009 9:54:00 AM More reviews by kiwipapaya

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Hot red that I love =)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/7/2009 11:33:00 PM More reviews by missvox2

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

Out of all the MAC red lippies, I keep on going back to this one. This is a very classy matte/satin red. Its pigmented and works for me. No hint of pink, fuschia or orange.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/5/2009 11:02:00 AM More reviews by sisip123

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was looking for a bright red lipstick with a yellow undertone and thats what i told the girl at the MAC counter. she suggested this, which clearly has a blue undertone but i was not aware of it. I swatched it only partially on my lip because i was choosing form a couple of shades and thought this one looked quite bright so i purchased: but alas! when i went home and did my whole lip, the blue undertones complete clash with my yellow base skin. I'm an asian NC20 and this lipstick looks crazy bright and not in a good way. However, the quality and colour payoff of the product is great. its creamy, stays on very well but the colour just does not suit me. I am aware that blue base reds can work for some girls with yellow skintones but it just does not seem to work for me. so the lesson is: try the lipstick on all of your mouth at the counter! dont just swipe on a little you wont get the full effect. For me, this is too bright and too blue-ish on me to be a "classic red". I'm still searching..

Is this review helpful? Yes No