November 20, 2014 | 1742 users online

Moisturizers - Philosophy - Hope in a Jar - for all skin types



image 0image 1

rated 2.8(1674 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.8
  • 39% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 10/16/2013 1:01:00 PM More reviews by Mililili

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This is my HG. But I do have watery eyes after applied this cream. And the product went bad or less effective very quickly after opened, probably less than 2 month.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/15/2013 6:08:00 PM More reviews by Gailmakeup

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I didn't like this at all, only provided about 15 minutes of moisture then dried my skin worse than before I applied it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/14/2013 5:19:00 PM More reviews by RachelRexxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've been using this product for about a month now. I have mostly "normal" skin, not too dry, not too oily. I've been experiencing some eczema along my chin area and I'm somewhat acne-prone. I use it as my morning moisturizer and typically this works pretty well for me. I haven't broken out as much, and my skin feels sufficiently hydrated until I wash it again. The only real downside for me is the smell. I, myself, don't mind the smell (I like it, it's nothing special)...but my boyfriend hates it. He actually asked me to stop wearing it around him. All in all, I believe it's worth trying (or Sam

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/11/2013 1:06:00 AM More reviews by darklausal23

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Got this in a kit (otherwise I would have returned it) having oily skin leaves my skin moisturized without feeling greasy or heavy but the smell of this cream is terrible, the smell decreases as you wear it on your face but never completely goes away...skip it unless you can deal with stinky-ness. I was determined to use it at night before I go to sleep (to use it up) but I can't...ewww

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 10/10/2013 11:21:00 PM More reviews by Karidinka

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

In case you're thinking of purchasing this cream and reading these reviews while wondering if some are exaggerated, I have news for you - they're not exaggerated at all. This cream is terrible. It smells strongly of hair dye and does not moisturize AT ALL. I seldom return beauty products to the store, but I did return this one. Ew.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/4/2013 10:53:00 PM More reviews by 98724avs

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

I was on vacation not too long ago and my friend had this moisturizer. She kept talking about how great it was so I decided to try hers out a few times. I used it under my makeup and everything was fine--I don't remember any horrible smell and mixed with my foundation it had a nice finish. About an hour later, my face and neck started itching like crazy. I just thought maybe it was irritated or something. The next day I used the moisturizer like before, and again, my face and neck were itching so bad. That moisturizer was the only thing new I was using and I soon realized that it was the source of my problem. And let me just say that I can put pretty much anything on my face and I will not have a reaction to it. This moisturizer is the only product I have EVER used that caused such a reaction. I don't know what it is, but there is something in there that my body just doesn't like. I'm really glad the price made me hesitant to purchase the moisturizer before I tried it because I would have been very disappointed!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/3/2013 9:20:00 PM More reviews by AmeliaBbeautiful84

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have acne prone skin that is very sensitive. While I was pregnant recently I asked in the store about moisturizer to use and the sales lady said I should use this other kind until I have the baby. So post baby I purchased this one. Not crazy about it. I feel like its sticky and clogs my pores. I prefer the other one they have. The Take A Deep Breath is better for sensitive acne prone skin

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/26/2013 3:45:00 PM More reviews by bbdream

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

VERY DETAILED REVIEW: I love Philosophy. I think it is an amazing brand and I own and use many of their products. However, I take judge each product on its own merits, not the companies, so this review is completely unbiased. First off, a little about me, I am a 19 year old boy with acne prone skin, oily-combination. I also have dry patches on my nose, cheeks, and any blemish areas I may have at any given time. The product comes in a cute little plastic jar, and I personally don't mind the packaging. I am not worried about contaminating the product because I always wash my hands before retrieving some of the product. The moisturizer is white and creamy, with a sort of whipped texture, however there are no bubbles in the product and it is quite dense. A little goes a long way, and my 1oz jar lasted about 3 months with everyday use. It applies very nicely- I have heard someone describe it as spreading water over your face, and I would have to agree. Using the proper amount, I found that after some massaging Into my skin, it was quickly absorbed. The skin on your face feels to plump and become hydrated, however on a deeper level and not very superficial. When I apply the moisturizer, it did not help my flakiness or aid to smooth my skin at all. To the touch, your skin has an odd finish- if you run your fingers over your face, you have some dragging and pulling of your skin. I found that my face seemed to plump and feel healthy, but it did not at all help the way my face looked with foundations, BB creams, and tinted moisturizers because of the lack if help to smooth my dry sections. Also, I noticed that even with using a matte finished foundation and setting it with a translucent powder, this moisturizer is NOT made for oily skin. I was extremely oily on my nose and chin within four hours, and I dot have extremely oily skin naturally. The absolute worst thing about this moisturizer is the smell. If you are familiar with some of the smells of philosophy's products, unless they are labeled to smell like a certain fragrance, such as vanilla birthday cake or citrus, the skin care products smell natural, clean and not overpowering. Hope In A Jar is certainly a natural smell, not a chemically smell. However, it smells quite sour and off putting. If a face soap smells bad or even a mask, I can usually get over it because the smell is washed off of your face. With this moisturizer, the smell lingers for a good hour and a half after you put it on. In the jar, it smells alright, not gross but nothing extraordinary. The problem is when you put it on your skin. I kid you not- my skin smelled like wet dog. Wet dog. And I alternated my cleansers, thinking that might have been the problem. It wasn't, it was Hope in A Jar. I even applied the moisturizer in different ways, hoping to suppress the smell, and that was to no avail. Thankfully, you are the only one who has to endure the smell of it- it's not a smell that is strong enough to diffuse while it's on your face and drift to someone else's unfortunate nostrils. I regret buying this product- It was quite expensive and it was not for me. I could only see this being of any use to to someone with already great skin, not needing to suppress oil or hydrate dry patches. The only effect this moisturizer had on my skin was leaving my skin feeling refreshed, although that is a characteristic that is found in most moisturizers. Because of my love for philosophy, I sampled out Take A Deep Breath, a gel moisturizer fit for oily to combo skin, and I have fallen in love with it. I recommend trying that one out over Hope in a Jar, regardless of your skin type, because it actually does something and doesn't make me oily. Unfortunately, these moisturizers are expensive, so if you have a Sephora near you, sample sample sample! $40 is too much to spend on a whim.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 9/19/2013 9:26:00 PM More reviews by MyBeehive

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I got a freebie of a deluxe mini size of this and was excited to use the small jar at the gym, thinking it'd be regular and basic moisturizer, well unsealed the jar tonight and used and oh my god the smell!! Cannot get past it. Lilyjules, below, said hair dye at the salon and that's exactly what I get too, it's so bad and lingers for a long time. My jar isn't old, I got it fresh and sealed so that's not it but euu, will not be testing this again for the results as the smell is really that off putting to me, and I'm not sensitive to scent usually. I thought the hair dryers at the gym had like fried my hair or something, but no, it was this, pass.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/18/2013 8:12:00 AM More reviews by Natashaaxo

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I saw this product and was absolutely in love with the packaging because it had a little quote on it. It was on sale but was still quite expensive for the amount it came in. I was so excited to use this moisturizer but unfortunately it didn't do too much. Even my regular cheap moisturizer does more! It also made my eyes sting even though I didn't put it that close to my eyes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No