October 24, 2014 | 1596 users online

Makeup Brushes - Bare Escentuals - Kabuki Brush

rated 2.6(443 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.6
  • 28% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 11/19/2009 4:03:00 PM More reviews by bfennell

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

The Kabuki brush was a great disappointment. Although the fullness provided good coverage of product, I found it scratchy and it immediately shed. After the 3rd washing the bristles came out of the base. It was minimally held together with cheap adhesive. I have a seven year old Bobbi Brown brush that has held up better than this brush which I owned for less than 3 months. I regret that I purchased it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 11/14/2009 1:38:00 AM More reviews by angelixia07

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

OMG this along with some other older BE brushes are some of the worst brushes out there. I bought this when I was very young, just starting out with makeup. It is literally the scratchiest, worst kabuki brush ever! And they had the audacity to sell these at the $20-30 price range. And then the fact that I bought it but back then I didn't know better. Now the only thing I would use it for is maybe scrubbing dishes, even then the sponge works better.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/31/2009 10:37:00 PM More reviews by thedogatemyname

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

ICK!!! This is the worst brush I've ever used. It's harsh, scratchy, and sheds like crazy. I'm afraid that I go out looking like I have tons of facial hair because this brush sheds so badly. I have to check and then recheck to make sure all of it is gone. I don't like anything about this brush and would never purchase again. Your better off buying a brillo pad. This is harsh on my sensitive skin!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/22/2009 6:26:00 PM More reviews by littlefreco9

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a HORRIBLE brush! I really hate it! - It is very very rough and scratchy - when I use it I always feel ike I am scratching my face! This brush is twenty something dollars - which is a total rip off considering how rough it is. For those of you who even begin to think this is soft - try Everyday Minerals Flat Top Brush and you will wonder what in the world you were thinking. The Everyday Minerlas Brush is also WAY cheaper - $10! for awesome quality! and maybe even cheaper if you buy a kit.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/22/2009 5:14:00 PM More reviews by cookayhaikoo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This is one of the brushes I got with my get started kit. I have had it for about two years. At first I really liked it, but over time it seems to have gotten scratchy. After I wash it, it is fine though. The only other thing I have to complain about is the small handle. To grip it is very odd for me, I am a handle girl! I recently tried the kabuki with the long handle and LOVE IT. It it also shorter and very dense so it works very well for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 10/13/2009 9:20:00 PM More reviews by VictrixObsequens

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Blue

This brush is not dense enough for me. It doesn't give me as nice of a coverage as I would like. It's a little scratchy but I don't mind that so much. Just it's lack of density.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/4/2009 12:51:00 AM More reviews by trana

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

This a poorly made brush. It is scratchy and does not apply the product evenly. This was a very disappointing purchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/20/2009 6:00:00 AM More reviews by hbwf87

Age: Unknown Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

So, my response to this product is "no"
It hurts my face
I got it free with a starter kit about 4 years ago
It does work if you just want a light dusting of a powder or of MMU, but it hurts to buff with this brush. and it's too big to designate for blush.
So "no", just "no"!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/20/2009 5:42:00 AM More reviews by ahraffarha

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This is a scratchy brush. At first it seems to be very soft but after a wash or two it gets terribly pokey! It hurts to buff your face in with this brush and it sheds like no other.


I mean really, the shedding and breakage is terrible.


Do not buy this brush.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/28/2009 7:53:00 AM More reviews by Buerre

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a fairly soft brush, doesn't scratch, but isn't as silky as M.A.C. brushes tend to feel. It also does not provide a full coverage for me because the bristles are not dense enough. The coverage is decent, but I often have to do two layers with this brush, where a denser brush would accomplish in one.


In my opinion, buy this as a starter brush, then move on to a softer & denser kabuki or buffer brush.

Is this review helpful? Yes No