December 19, 2014 | 1580 users online

Liquid - Chanel - Vitalumiere Aqua Ultra-Light Skin Perfecting Makeup SPF 15

rated 3.9(815 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 69% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 3/19/2011 9:41:00 AM More reviews by ratzz

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

It had so high expectations for this foundation. And boy, did it look fabulous on my skin! BUT after wearing it for just a few hours, my skin became swollen, red, and warm like I had a fever... I think I am allergic to the perfume in this foundation.
Never, ever going to buy a Chanel foundation again!!!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/19/2011 4:00:00 AM More reviews by rebelprince

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

For what it's worth, I like Chanel skin care products but I had never ventured into their foundations, but today I was sort of encouraged to try the new Vitalumiere Aqua, so I was given a few sample sachets and I decided that I would give it a try.

So far, it has lasted 8 hours on me with no signs of separating or oxidizing. The color that was chosen for me was B20 (Beige - Tendre). I find it to be slightly yellow, but not very yellow, so those with a strong pull towards yellow undertones might be slightly disappointed, but for most skins, the shade range is quite versatile.

The foundation does have fragrance in it, but that's of little consequence to me. Obviously, if you have fragrance sensitivity, you're not seeking Chanel in any form or fashion. I felt like this didn't deserve to have any points taken off for that because it's well known that Chanel has fragrance in their products.

So after eight hours, I can say that the finish is something like a luminous finish, without being shiny or having sparkles. It looks fresh after eight hours as well, which is really quite fascinating. It doesn't look greasy or heavy and it has a beautifully light texture. I can't feel any foundation on my face like I do with some of my other foundations. I even ran my fingers over my face just now (clean fingers) and I don't really feel the texture of the foundation. It's absolutely lovely.

Chanel has created a winner with this foundation. I'll probably be switching once I finish my sample sachets.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/14/2011 3:43:00 PM More reviews by c2yoshi

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I have been hearing things here and there about this foundation and I decided to try it out last time I was perusing the mall. I have oily skin and I didn't find that this foundation dried me out nor made me more oily. It is a light-weight foundation akin to MAC F&B, except oil-free. I like the fact that it comes in a plastic bottle which makes it less bulky and slightly cheaper ($45 in the US).

The only complaint I have is that the shade I chose (B20 Beige-Tendre) is a little too pink for my taste. I'm a C30 in MAC, 021 Linen in Dior, so my skin is pretty yellow. If you have strong yellow undertones, you may not find a perfect match with this foundation line. Other than that, I think this foundation is great for anyone looking to buy a light oil-free foundation that looks natural. It's definitely worth trying or at least getting a sample.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/14/2011 1:50:00 PM More reviews by Ravey

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I was interested in this foundation when I read that the lovely Chanel models in one of the runway shows sometime last year were using it- their skin looked amazing, and so the seed was planted in my brain. I have been using Laura Mercier's oil free tinted moisturizer for a long time- My skin is combo, prone to light breakouts if i'm not super careful, but generally clear. I just like to have something to even everything out. I expected to love Vitalumiere Aqua, and was mostly right.

The formula is lovely- very silky and light. I can't feel it on my skin at all. The finish is the most natural of any foundation I have ever used- if applied properly, it is undetectable on skin. It seems to last quite a while (I set it with Urban decay's setting spray and a light dusting of powder on my t-zone/nose/chin) Though I'm not sure how it would hold up in the warmer weather, as it's been cold lately. It covers very well for how lightweight it is, but is definitely not full coverage. I'd say it was a good solid medium coverage. I also really love the bottle- it's compact, but still holds the usual amount of product, and is a hygienic squeeze bottle that doesn't leak. My only qualm is the price (yeesh) but I'd say it is entirely worth it. so overall I am very pleased with this product. note- It hasn't broke me out yet, but I'll update this if it does.

Updated from a 4 to a 5- I love this product more and more every day.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/13/2011 6:16:00 AM More reviews by Mop000

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other Eyes: Blue

For the life of me I can't understand HOW people like this foundation! It is so drying. It goes on smoothly and then you can watch your face shrivel up. One of the main ingredients is straight alcohol - what is that all about?! As I read in a review for the latest Clarins foundation: "alcohol in foundation seems to be a disturbing new trend, i.e., DiorSkin Nude Liquid, Teint Miracle, Vitalumiere Aqua, and now Skin Illusion." It's so true - I tried that Dior one and it did exactly the same to my skin - then I noticed it had alcohol as the 3rd ingredient.

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/12/2011 12:24:00 PM More reviews by Natalya121

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Nice foundation, not a HG product for me but still very nice. I have oily skin all over and usually like a very matte or slight satin finish foundation. I have been trying this foundation everyday for I guess nearly a month and I find that the colour isn't quite right for my skin but nonetheless the texture is amazing, it is very watery and smooth to apply. It has actually improved my skins softness (more so than using Estee Lauder night repair every night!) so I am very pleased with that. It lasts a good amount of time. I have tried with and without a primer and there isn't any difference in the amount of time it lasts so you can save a bit of money on that front as the foundation is so expensive. It does for me stay matte for most of the day which I have been quite suprised about. I used it with and without powder and I actually feel that it looks better without powder for the first few hours, then I add powder later on when I do notice the shine coming through. Overall I am quite impressed with this foundation and would buy again if they sort the colours out. I am a porcelain skin type and the colours just dont work for me. If you have dry skin, this will be great for you as applying over moisturiser will really make this foundation glow and it will definitely keep you hydrated.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 3/10/2011 1:54:00 PM More reviews by CharismaSL

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

I like this foundation for everyday use. My HG foundation Tient Innocence in #10 is discontinued and this is the next best thing to it. However I do still love my TI :( in this foundation I have to mix two colors together BR10 and B20 to get a good match but it is still too pink for my NC20 skintone. It doesn't provide the luminosity that TI provides. It stays on all day and stays true to color. I will not repurchase though because I prefer foundations that will give me that luminosity and not having to spend $100 to get close to my shade and still have pinky undertones. Am trying Stila Illuminating Liquid foundation in 10 watts and I prefer that to this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/10/2011 2:18:00 AM More reviews by audrinaa4

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This foundation is great. I have been using for 2 weeks now and it is amaziing. I have been using it for my everyday routine and it is great!!!
At my chanel store they said that it was a sheer coverage, though i notice it does more than sheer for me. And no, I am not applying a lot of product onto to my face. Im letting it be a natural finish..... and it does an awesome job!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/9/2011 3:40:00 PM More reviews by abfabjeanius

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I wasn't really shopping for a foundation, but decided to check out this one. For reference, I have combination skin with a very oily t-zone, and a couple of acne marks/discolored spots. My skintone is light golden-beige, so I typically am a level 20 in Chanel, although with the regular Vitalumiere, I use 10-Limpide, so go figure. In MAC terms, I am about NC20'ish.

I got this in the color B10. Originally, the SA had used B20 on me, but I felt that it was a tad too dark, so I think that like the regular Vitalumiere, this shade range runs a bit darker, too.

I shake the container well and then apply with my fingertips. The texture is very, very lightweight... as the name implies, like water. You can barely feel it on your face, so be sure not to overapply, as the SA did on me. (She used more than a half-dollar's worth, and applied it with a brush, which left it streaky-looking.) I think you need a dime to nickel-sized amount for the entire face, and that would give ample coverage.

The coverage is light-to-medium. I still needed concealer on my undereye circles, as well as any scars/discolorations on my face. The finish is satin - not as luminous as original Vitalumiere.

For someone oily such as myself, I had an oily nose by lunchtime. It does, however, stay on quite well on the face and doesn't melt into weird patches or separate. I also did not experience any breakouts or anything like that. It does have a strong fresh, flowery scent, but the fragrance goes away within 30 minutes.

Overall, I am quite pleased with this, and am happy to add it to my foundation arsenal. continued >>

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/9/2011 5:57:00 AM More reviews by RachelRuby

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

From a girl who struggles with oily combi skin-

MY NEW REGIME

1) Clinique anti-blemish 3 step system

2) Smashbox primer LIGHT

and third, and finally

My beautiful satin soft Chanel Vitaluminere Aqua in B50.

I was hooked on Clinique super fit but needed something less thick and more luminous. This fits the bill. Its worth very single penny and im absolutely hooked.

It smells gorgeous

Its light but covers every blemish

It doesnt sit in wrinkles and fine lines

It makes my skin look flawless


Cant recommend enough!! Girls who suffer with oily/combi skin stick to the aqua as apposed to the original vitaluminere!!

<3 GO AND BUY xxx

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No