October 22, 2014 | 2084 users online

Liquid - MAC - Pro Longwear Foundation

rated 3.8(884 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 10/11/2010 11:14:00 AM More reviews by saviisneat

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have very oily skin that breaks out easily. I have to be very careful what products I apply. I've tried almost every foundation out there. I decided to give this a try.

Pros- Very Matte. Controls my crazy oily face from 6am - Midnight. Good medium coverage to even out my pinky/red skintone. Feels like I'm wearing a tiny bit of make up. No cake face. Wide range of colors.

Cons- Hard to control the pump to get just the right amount. Dries ridiculously fast so you have to work quick in small areas. Best to use a damp sponge. However, because it dries fast I don't need a setting powder.

These run a tiny bit darker than most of the other foundations. So try and test it out before buying.

Overall I love it. The only part that would be a turn off is the fast drying time. But for me, it's fine because I don't like using powders or setting my foundations.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/11/2010 9:09:00 AM More reviews by patoots30

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Been using this foundation for over a week now and it certainly took a lot of trial and errors for me to find the right application. Prior to this I switch between Revlon CS and EL DWL. My face is combination but in both foundations, I put on a BB cream to act as both moisturizer and primer. I tried the same thing when I first tried on Mac Pro longwear but it felt heavy and greasy. I tried it without anything at all but it made it look mask-like and dry. I tried putting moisturizer first (Clinique dramatically different) but I found that the foundation didnt last that long and also made my face looked and felt oily. The winner is using Loreal true match primer. It had the right moisture and allowed the foundation to stay put all day.
I've also tried putting this on using a 187 brush, a beauty blender and finally, the tool that did the best work, my fingers (take note that I've never used my fingers to apply any of the millions of foundations I've ever tried). Even for finishing powder, I can't seem to use the same stuff I really love. Nars loose powder made it look dry while Revlon photoready powder made it look too dewy and it put a whitish cast. Finally the best powder that did the trick and actually enhanced the foundation is body shop's all in one face base :)
Once you get this foundation right for you, then it truly is the best. All the reviews here are true and I eventually found that 'sheen' people were raving about. Be careful with other products you use it with as it really does make a difference. It took a lot of effort (trial and error) just to make this foundation work for me but it definitely is worth it :)

(I use Buff in Revlon CS, and Intensity 3 in DWL)

EDIT: I'm loving this foundation for a really natural look. It's perfect for everyday but I think I'll go back to DWL or CS on nights out. It can be dewy or matte depending on the products you use it with. It looks great with Loreal primer as mentioned above but I also get excellent luminous skin using Shu Uemura Instant glow. I get a matte (with slight sheen) look (this is my favorite) when used with Dr. Jart BB cream. It stays super long and still looks very fresh at the end of day. I tried it again with Nars loose powder and it doesnt look cakey anymore. This is great foundation but I'm not sure if its the best out there. I definitely recommend to people with fairly good skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 10/11/2010 4:23:00 AM More reviews by Asti1234

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I soooo wanted to love this. The concealer is amazing but the foundation just wasn't for me. It made my skin look dull/flat. The thing is, I have normal/dry skin so I need some luminousity to wake my face up and this foundation didn't give me that. I would imagine pro longwear would be fantastic for people with oily skins, as it is matte and lasts all day, the staying power is AMAZING. It really does stand the test of time so points given there. The colour range is fab as always with MAC, it may run a little light IMO. I'm NC30 in studio sculpt and NC35 in pro longwear. The pump on the bottle is an added bonus- (I'm used to buying a pump for my studio fix fluid which is annoying.) I'm gutted it doesn't suit me but I like the staying power of studio fix fluid so if I want a mac foundation that will stand the test of time and not dull my complexion I will stick to that. Love the concealer though. Xxx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/11/2010 3:00:00 AM More reviews by theodoradb

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

That's my first foundation from MAC, I've heard bad things about other foundations in their line but this one seemed to be getting good reviews as a whole, and I thought I'd give it a try. I'm very satisfied with it so far, as I really needed a foundation that would stay on for hours as I have a Tzone that can get quite oily/shiny after a few hours and I would be a bit self conscious about it while at work.

Well, problem solved. I do not need to worry about a shiny T zone anymore since it keeps a matte finish for hours. The coverage is very good as well and NC35 was a good colour match for me.

I've had it for a week now, and haven't noticed any break outs so far, so I consider it quite safe for my skin in this respect. Surprisingly enough, I haven't dabbled with different application methods (sth I'd normally like to do). I have only used my fingers so far and didn't have any application problems, it goes on smoothly specially if I use MAC prep and prime 50 over my moisturiser.

To sum up I'm very satisfied so far and yes I would repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/10/2010 6:07:00 PM More reviews by aimeeb212

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I have no idea why I let myself get sucked into buying this foundation. I swore I would NEVER buy another foundation from MAC ages ago, but I just read so many glowing reviews and I'm a total foundation junkie. I've always been matched to NW20 in MAC &it has always ended up looking pinky orange and very fake. The SA matched me as NC25 this time &in the store it looked great. I thought I was onto something good! I applied it w/the 187 &was disappointed to see it looked very similar to my beloved Revlon CS. I guess I was expecting something magical and once again it never happened. This is not a bad foundation by any means. It covered well &I didn't have any difficulty blending, BUT when I checked my foundation in natural light, I looked ORANGE AGAIN. MAC's color range just does not suit my neutral undertones. In my opinion, it gives very full coverage like Revlon CS and that isn't something I want for everyday wear. My Revlon CS is a waaaaaaaaaay better color match and it has better oil control. Why spend the extra $$$? I can't comment on clogged pores b/c it only took 1 full day for me to realize it doesn't get better than Revlon CS for me when I want full coverage.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/10/2010 3:56:00 PM More reviews by kalii12

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Highly pigmentend and stays on. First you apply the color (lipstick) and wait a minute and then put on the clear gloss to add shine. That way the lipsticks get set and the brush does not get dirty. You only need to apply it once. Great price, it's worth it. The packaging is great. Though my gloss part of bottle broke. The brush is smooth and applies the product smoothely. It does not crack on the lips or make the lips feel dry. The color on the bottle is the color you get on the lips. I only have one pro longwear. The Spf is a good part. Apply extremely extemely smoothly. I would buy this again. Usually I would say the price of Mac is expensive, even the eyeshadow for 16.00 dollars. But this is worth 25.00.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/10/2010 2:40:00 PM More reviews by LadyJay43

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this product. Everyone tells me how beautiful my "skin" is.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/9/2010 11:02:00 PM More reviews by PrincessTrizzy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I wouldn't consider this item my HG foundation but I do like it a lot. I reach for it more than my Revlon PhotoReady. NC35 matches me perfectly since to me, it runs a little bit lighter and i'm NC32. The pump is great and hygenic but i need about a pump and a half to fully cover my face and neck in one layer. I consider this about medium coverage because you can still see any pimples. It doesn't smell. I wish it didn't dry so fast because sometimes i'm not done blending it in and it's already "stained" on my face. Nothing fix+ on my brush can't fix. I normally use a 187 for liquid which i love but with this product i think i'll start using my 188 because it takes more work to blend in. Overall good product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/9/2010 7:58:00 PM More reviews by krysrinkle

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

Lasts at least 8 hrs on my super oily skin! Can't even believe how great this foundation is! I didn't blot once and I usually blot 5 or more times (my skin is evil) I used this over laura mercier primer (wich usually dosent help) so its gotta be that great of a foundation! And...I put it all over my skin even over my lids with no lid primer (ran out) and I have no greese crease! I'm really suprised! Great product,

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/9/2010 6:24:00 PM More reviews by rivera25

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I got a sample of this and have been using it for the past few days. Usually an nw15 in MAC is the closest match (at a guess i would say i was between an nc/nw10-15) but for some reason there is no nw15 in this foundation. The SA said nc15 would work ok on me- i thought it would be a bit too yellow when i first saw it. Once it was on my skin it blended into my colouring quite well (a tad too dark but blended out it looked ok). I have quite oily skin but this kept me shine free for a long time; I only needed to touch up with some powder towards the end of the day. Overall a good foundation from MAC (not usually a fan of their foundations) the only fault is not having an nw15!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No