November 23, 2014 | 1930 users online

Liquid - MAC - Pro Longwear Foundation

rated 3.8(888 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/12/2010 4:03:00 PM More reviews by SG444

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I waited a few weeks to review this foundation because I wanted to allow enough time to see how my skin agrees with it. I've had absolutely no problems at all with this foundation as far as breakouts or dryness. My skin texture seems to have actually improved after using this foundation and is smoother and just looks healthier even after I've removed it for the day. That's never happened before with other products.
.
Like many other reviewers, I'd also been using Estee Lauder Double Wear for years but Pro Longwear is my new favorite. I agree with the person below who said the color selection for this foundation is a little odd. They tend to lean toward being very yellow or red toned but my complexion is more neutral. After trying three different shades, I settled on NW20 which is actually a very close match without being too red or pink. It's even a better match than my old Double Wear shade I'd been using in Dusk. With Double Wear, my skin always started to look like I was wearing foundation at the end of the day, but this foundation remains bright, natural and glowy even after a long day at work. The color stays true all day and never oxidizes.
.
I use foundation only on my t-zone to even out texture, tone and smooth pores. This works perfectly for that and leaves a very natural appearance. Not cakey or mask-like at all. I apply sparingly with my fingers, blending a very small area at a time since it dries quickly. Some have complained about how fast this sets, but I think it's one of the greatest qualities about this foundation. I never have a problem as long as I keep the application light and blend quickly over small areas at a time, adding more where I need better coverage.
.
I have combo skin that can get dry and oily at the same time, and in the same places. I need to be sure I moisturize well before applying. This is the first foundation I've tried that I don't need to set with powder, which adds to the natural look I prefer. All in all, I love this foundation and will buy again when I run out.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/12/2010 12:27:00 PM More reviews by kbugg

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I really like this foundation and only have a sample, but that sample has lasted a week and I still have enough left to get another week's use before making the commitment to purchase.


I love that it covers nicely and evens out my skintone while looking natural. It does feel a bit heavy in the hot, humid weather, but at least my oily skin is kept in check. I am somewhat dry on my cheeks and this makeup doesn't aggrevate that. I'm hoping this will still be a perferred foundation in the winter months when my skin will be dry, that is the only thing holding me back from purchasing.


The colors are a little odd, very yellow or pink. I got matched with NW20 which is a nice neutral, just a hint of pink, but blends into my skintone nicely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/12/2010 11:02:00 AM More reviews by hautePJones

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Normally I find MAC foundations make me break out and are never quite the right color match, but Pro Longwear has done a decent job. For reference I am an NC50 and this runs a very tiny smidge yellow on me, but not a noticeable difference. I definitely don't get the matte coverage everyone else talks about because I still get rather oily (even with MSF and Blot Powder on top). I probably would buy this again if I can't find a better match.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/11/2010 7:32:00 PM More reviews by chiodokeller

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

.UPDATE: I am still using my MAC NW 25, but now I add some facial moisturizer with SPF 15 (I am using Cetaphil or Eucerin). I mix equal parts, and then apply to my face with a moist foam sponge. This works wonderfully on me. I am now a happy camper! I will continue to purchase MAC Pro Longwear.

I bought this in NW 25. When the MAC consultant tried it on my in the store I kind of thought that it might be a tiny bit on the light side. I purchased it anyway. After using it for a few days I still think it is a little light for my skin. I bought a Cover girl darker liquid foundation and mixed in a little with the MAC foundation. Now it looks much better. I spent $29.50 for the MAC foundation and another $9 for the Cover Girl. That's alot of money to spend, in total, for just foundation. I usually like MAC products, and I will continue to use MAC, but I was wrong to not speak up when I thought that the color was off.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/11/2010 11:14:00 AM More reviews by saviisneat

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have very oily skin that breaks out easily. I have to be very careful what products I apply. I've tried almost every foundation out there. I decided to give this a try.

Pros- Very Matte. Controls my crazy oily face from 6am - Midnight. Good medium coverage to even out my pinky/red skintone. Feels like I'm wearing a tiny bit of make up. No cake face. Wide range of colors.

Cons- Hard to control the pump to get just the right amount. Dries ridiculously fast so you have to work quick in small areas. Best to use a damp sponge. However, because it dries fast I don't need a setting powder.

These run a tiny bit darker than most of the other foundations. So try and test it out before buying.

Overall I love it. The only part that would be a turn off is the fast drying time. But for me, it's fine because I don't like using powders or setting my foundations.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/11/2010 9:09:00 AM More reviews by patoots30

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Been using this foundation for over a week now and it certainly took a lot of trial and errors for me to find the right application. Prior to this I switch between Revlon CS and EL DWL. My face is combination but in both foundations, I put on a BB cream to act as both moisturizer and primer. I tried the same thing when I first tried on Mac Pro longwear but it felt heavy and greasy. I tried it without anything at all but it made it look mask-like and dry. I tried putting moisturizer first (Clinique dramatically different) but I found that the foundation didnt last that long and also made my face looked and felt oily. The winner is using Loreal true match primer. It had the right moisture and allowed the foundation to stay put all day.
I've also tried putting this on using a 187 brush, a beauty blender and finally, the tool that did the best work, my fingers (take note that I've never used my fingers to apply any of the millions of foundations I've ever tried). Even for finishing powder, I can't seem to use the same stuff I really love. Nars loose powder made it look dry while Revlon photoready powder made it look too dewy and it put a whitish cast. Finally the best powder that did the trick and actually enhanced the foundation is body shop's all in one face base :)
Once you get this foundation right for you, then it truly is the best. All the reviews here are true and I eventually found that 'sheen' people were raving about. Be careful with other products you use it with as it really does make a difference. It took a lot of effort (trial and error) just to make this foundation work for me but it definitely is worth it :)

(I use Buff in Revlon CS, and Intensity 3 in DWL)

EDIT: I'm loving this foundation for a really natural look. It's perfect for everyday but I think I'll go back to DWL or CS on nights out. It can be dewy or matte depending on the products you use it with. It looks great with Loreal primer as mentioned above but I also get excellent luminous skin using Shu Uemura Instant glow. I get a matte (with slight sheen) look (this is my favorite) when used with Dr. Jart BB cream. It stays super long and still looks very fresh at the end of day. I tried it again with Nars loose powder and it doesnt look cakey anymore. This is great foundation but I'm not sure if its the best out there. I definitely recommend to people with fairly good skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 10/11/2010 4:23:00 AM More reviews by Asti1234

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I soooo wanted to love this. The concealer is amazing but the foundation just wasn't for me. It made my skin look dull/flat. The thing is, I have normal/dry skin so I need some luminousity to wake my face up and this foundation didn't give me that. I would imagine pro longwear would be fantastic for people with oily skins, as it is matte and lasts all day, the staying power is AMAZING. It really does stand the test of time so points given there. The colour range is fab as always with MAC, it may run a little light IMO. I'm NC30 in studio sculpt and NC35 in pro longwear. The pump on the bottle is an added bonus- (I'm used to buying a pump for my studio fix fluid which is annoying.) I'm gutted it doesn't suit me but I like the staying power of studio fix fluid so if I want a mac foundation that will stand the test of time and not dull my complexion I will stick to that. Love the concealer though. Xxx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/11/2010 3:00:00 AM More reviews by theodoradb

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

That's my first foundation from MAC, I've heard bad things about other foundations in their line but this one seemed to be getting good reviews as a whole, and I thought I'd give it a try. I'm very satisfied with it so far, as I really needed a foundation that would stay on for hours as I have a Tzone that can get quite oily/shiny after a few hours and I would be a bit self conscious about it while at work.

Well, problem solved. I do not need to worry about a shiny T zone anymore since it keeps a matte finish for hours. The coverage is very good as well and NC35 was a good colour match for me.

I've had it for a week now, and haven't noticed any break outs so far, so I consider it quite safe for my skin in this respect. Surprisingly enough, I haven't dabbled with different application methods (sth I'd normally like to do). I have only used my fingers so far and didn't have any application problems, it goes on smoothly specially if I use MAC prep and prime 50 over my moisturiser.

To sum up I'm very satisfied so far and yes I would repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/10/2010 6:07:00 PM More reviews by aimeeb212

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I have no idea why I let myself get sucked into buying this foundation. I swore I would NEVER buy another foundation from MAC ages ago, but I just read so many glowing reviews and I'm a total foundation junkie. I've always been matched to NW20 in MAC &it has always ended up looking pinky orange and very fake. The SA matched me as NC25 this time &in the store it looked great. I thought I was onto something good! I applied it w/the 187 &was disappointed to see it looked very similar to my beloved Revlon CS. I guess I was expecting something magical and once again it never happened. This is not a bad foundation by any means. It covered well &I didn't have any difficulty blending, BUT when I checked my foundation in natural light, I looked ORANGE AGAIN. MAC's color range just does not suit my neutral undertones. In my opinion, it gives very full coverage like Revlon CS and that isn't something I want for everyday wear. My Revlon CS is a waaaaaaaaaay better color match and it has better oil control. Why spend the extra $$$? I can't comment on clogged pores b/c it only took 1 full day for me to realize it doesn't get better than Revlon CS for me when I want full coverage.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/10/2010 3:56:00 PM More reviews by kalii12

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Highly pigmentend and stays on. First you apply the color (lipstick) and wait a minute and then put on the clear gloss to add shine. That way the lipsticks get set and the brush does not get dirty. You only need to apply it once. Great price, it's worth it. The packaging is great. Though my gloss part of bottle broke. The brush is smooth and applies the product smoothely. It does not crack on the lips or make the lips feel dry. The color on the bottle is the color you get on the lips. I only have one pro longwear. The Spf is a good part. Apply extremely extemely smoothly. I would buy this again. Usually I would say the price of Mac is expensive, even the eyeshadow for 16.00 dollars. But this is worth 25.00.

Is this review helpful? Yes No