October 22, 2014 | 1365 users online

Liquid - NARS - Sheer Glow Foundation

rated 3.7(1350 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 63% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.9
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 3/29/2011 2:50:00 PM More reviews by lorraine07

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have a normal type skin & I like the finish of this sheer glow foundation. However, I broke out after a week of using it. In addition, it did not last all day.
Not for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/29/2011 1:47:00 PM More reviews by shlgh

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My favorite liquid foundation EVER! I've gone through a lot of foundations to try to find the best coverage for my acne scars, doesn't turn orange, doesn't feel heavy on my skin, and lasts all day. I used MAC religiously for years, but hated that it would turn orange and didn't last long. I was scared to try another foundation because my skin was already comfortable with MAC and my skin is very sensitive so I didn't want my face to breakout. I heard a lot of good things about this, and I'm glad I tried it. My face doesn't feel or look cakey, the coverage is great, and the color is a perfect match. I'm between the shades Barcelona and Syracuse, so I buy both and mix it. Very expensive, but to me- it's worth it. I always have a hard time finding a perfect match ;P I'm an NC40 or NC42, so I usually mixed those colors when I was using MAC. The only downside to this is that it doesn't have a pump. You figure with the high cost of the foundation, it would come with a pump ;p lol but no biggie.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/28/2011 6:22:00 PM More reviews by DuchessofGrapes

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Other, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I am so very surprised by this foundation. I got it free from work, and wasn't too keen on it. But hey, it was free. I might as well get some use out of it. I put it on as the rep in my area had told me, with fingers after shaking. I was immediately pleased with the way it melted into my skin, and the tone was perfect in my bathroom light (Siberia). I'm very pale with golden blue undertones, so many foundations turn out very pink on me and are a completely different color than my neck. Even my go to foundation (Cover FX Cream) is a bit too warm. With the yellow base in the Sheer Glow, it blended perfectly on me. Throughout the day, it did fade a bit, but I wore it for 14 hours and still had a significant amount left. Way more than enough to keep me covered without touching it up. I have drier, sensitive skin, so my skin absorbs a lot of foundations, but my chin is oily (only the chin, not the t-zone), and foundations tend to separate there. Not with Sheer Glow. It is definitely my new go-to foundation. I know that some people complain about the bottle, but I find that it's easier than using a pump. If I have a foundation in a pump, I don't always remember to shake it, and you HAVE to shake Sheer Glow. Also, I always use too much. The only complaint that I have about Sheer Glow is that Siberia is a TOUCH too dark for me in sunlight. However, it's water-based, so I just mix in a bit of my MAC Face and Body Foundation in White in, and it's the most perfect match I've ever gotten. I definitely plan on buying this when I run out of the bottle I have. This is one of those products that, when used correctly, is worth the hype.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/28/2011 2:19:00 PM More reviews by EmilyyGrace

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

In love, obsessed. I have super dry skin and this just looks flawless and when set with my MUFE HD powder, looks so natural. Since I got my Sigma F80 brush a few weeks ago people have been stopping me to tell me my skin looks flawless. (Which is SO false, my skin is actually rather bad) so I know NARS did something right with this. Love, holy grail :) I mix it with a TINY bit of revlon colorstay to neutralize the yellow in the shade I bought and to make it last a bit longer, and it doesn't budge all day or night. Only downside is no pump, STINKS, but you can buy one for $6 at Bergdorfs.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/27/2011 9:48:00 AM More reviews by maggieb0523

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This foundation is perfect. Buildable coverage . . . can go on sheer as a tinted moisturizer or applied in layers for fuller coverage. I put it on with my finders - dab a dot on the forehead, nose, cheeks and chin and then blend in, as the NARS rep recommended. This foundation stays fresh and true all day. No finishing powder needed. I apply around 6:30 a.m. and occasionally need to use blotting paper around 3:00. It does not feel heavy on my skin - light as air and pretty, pretty, pretty. I wish that it came with a pump - but thats the ony change I would make.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/27/2011 12:05:00 AM More reviews by lieske

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This and MUFE face and body are my favorite two foundations. It does exactly what it advertises--gives my skin a sheer glow. This is medium to full coverage to me, and it lasts all day. Even though I have oily skin this is better than the matte version.
UPDATE: It doesn't work well in the summer unfortunately. It seperates from my skin and has a powdery finish which does not look good on my combo skin. I'll wait till winter again and see if it fares well again or perhaps 1) my bottle is getting old or 2) it's just not working on me anymore

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/26/2011 6:43:00 PM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I purchased this foundation after reading the rave reviews here. I was really pleased with this foundation. I have oily skin so I run the other way when I hear the word glow, I found this controlled my oil better than the sheer matte. For reference, im NC30-35 in mac and I use stromboli in Nars. The foundation does not come with a pump so I had to order one from Barney's New York. I probably won't repurchase for a while because this is not my everyday foundation, I use it more for going out because the staying power is not great. BTW I use a mineral loose powder to set this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/26/2011 4:26:00 PM More reviews by chinablaq

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Dark, Cool Hair: Black, Relaxed, Other Eyes: Brown

Great foundation. Its not my usual go to, but when I do wear it I love it!. I have this shade in Macao, and im an Mac NC50 for reference. I went a shade lighter than my New Guinea shade because it does oxidize causing it to darken once on my oily skin. I love the finish it gives as well. Unlike any other foundation I have. Even though its on the pricier side of all my foundations, I would repurchase whenever I was run out....which I don't think will be anytime soon. A little goes a long way!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/26/2011 3:26:00 PM More reviews by FauxChic

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I really LOVE this foundation, I recently purchased it and it's definitely different to my usual MAC Studio Fix Fluid, it's creamy and blends effortlessly!, I am an NC45 and I purchased this on a whim in the shade MACAO and it's perfect for me now but I know in the winter it will be quite dark so I'm between Cadiz and Macao, definitely one of the best investments, it doesn't feel heavy on my dry skin and it looks natural!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/25/2011 11:20:00 PM More reviews by MsLove

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Other, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

An excellent daily foundation if you want your skin to look even toned, warm and soft all day. If I don't wear a primer with this, it lasts all day, and I don't break out. I had a hard time to deciding whether to purchase the full size bottle of the Sheer Glow or Sheer Matte. I ended up deciding on the Sheer Matte because my skin tends to be more oily than dry. However, if the option for teh Sheer Matte weren't there, I would have gotten this one. Great color match, and a beautiful finish. It doesnt cake through the day, and you can build it to a heavier finish if you let it dry in between.


I prefer application with fingers or a sponge. You dont need that much. And I really dont need a pump either.

I just got home from a 13 hour day and didnt touch up. Normally my foundation would be GONE. Not the case. Still looked good, only problem areas were my eyes smuding (Laura Mercier eye liner) but I give a pass since it was a long day at the office. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No